We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guided tour ever!”
Review of Legendary Sicily

Legendary Sicily
Ranked #5 of 34 Tours in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Legendary Sicily offers daily tours to Mt Etna in Sicily. Etna Alcantara off road & Trekking is one of our most popular tour. We drive across several lava flow by 4wd jeep. A first trekking to visit the Bove Valley, one of the most important geological site of Mt Etna. We will visit a lava tube or lava cave originated by ancient lava flows. Our main Trekking along the rift of the eruption of 2002 which destroyed the sky station Piano Provenzana. The tour continues across the Linguaglossa Pinewood to reach the territory of Castiglione di Sicilia. Finally we visit the Alcantara Gorges with their fantastic columns of Basalt. Return to the Taormina. Other Tours are Pantalica Bronze Age Necropolis, Vendicari Flamingos Lakes, Cassibile Canyon River Trekking. Hors riding on Mt Etna. Diving and Snorkeling at Isola Bella (Taormina)
Barcelona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best guided tour ever!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family (2 adults + 2 children) spent a wonderful day with Eddy through the Etna mountain. We were in total three 4x4 with intercom between them, so that when we were moving Eddy explained every single detail in fluent English, French and German. He is really an expert on volcanoes and the Etna, explaining every single aspect with interesting facts, The lunch at the Etna mountain was in an excellent, but simple restaurant. Finally, walking inside the Alcantara Gorge freezing waters was actually the best way to end a trip on a day where the temperature was above 40ºC. Highly recommendable for all ages and nationalities.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Goiaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Taormina, never gets old!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I've been to Taormina, Sicily by myself, with family, friend and escorting tourist, but it never gets old. There is always something new to find and treasure, it’s also the place where my husband proposed, so it holds a very special place in my heart!
Visiting Sicily and not seeing Taormina is like visiting New York and not seeing the Statue of Liberty!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Agatag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertforshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mount Etna Tour”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I highly recommend this tour Eddie has put together a packed and interesting tour of Mount Etna and it surrounding environment. It was so captivating that from being picked up at 8.30 the first time I looked at my watch it showed 15.45! The weather wasn't great but Eddie attention to detailis such that he could provide waterproofs for those that took the risk that the sun would stay out!.

This tour was so much better thana similar vesuvius tour we did last year. The fact that Etna had only just finished an eruption in April certainly added to the thrills.

Good value for money.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morganboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Put this on your must do list”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We booked this trip purely on the back of other Trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Save yourself a family argument and just do this, you will not be disappointed!

Pros:

The host Eddy is a legend. (make sure you are with him, not an assistant). He knows everything there is to know about volcanos, is super keen to help and is totally attentive to his guests, despite doing this every day.

Pick up from your door in Taormina.

Unbelievable views and landscape which you would never find unaccompanied.

Good variation over the day; sights, caves, local lunch and light trekking.

Drop of at your door, not round the corner or down the road like other tours, Eddy really will do anything to offer the best service.

Decent value for a whole day trip.

Cons

The ancient land cruiser does the job, but is pretty rugged. Do not expect a business class option.

Overall, this is a great way to see Sicily's biggest wonder and we would recommend it thoroughly.

Lunch is at a local restaurant and good value. The trekking is light, trainers will suffice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JonandBecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Legendary tours - Mount Etna”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is the only tour to view Etna! I would highly recommend this tour to those who want to find out about mount Etna and its surroundings. Eddie provided with valuable and very interesting about Mount Etna and his passion for his work shines through. The tour is very personal with a low number of people attending each tour. I sampled one of the best ricotta dishes in a little restaurant retreat up in the mountains, and the trip to the beautiful Alcantara gorge after the climb up Etna is well worth the wait.
Our safety was paramount to Eddie during the tour, this is not only a tour up mount Etna, but also a chance to explore caves made by the lava, beautiful trekking along cool refreshing water gorges, great food, and great information.

Highly recommended! Keep up the great work Eddie!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legendary Sicily also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Legendary Sicily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing