We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location and good food”

Pizzeria Villa Zuccaro
Ranked #13 of 263 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and good food”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Set in a lovely garden with views over old Taormina, this restaurant boasts a refined menu, a selection of wines, very good service and a romantic atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    524
    144
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent spot, quiet dining in the upper part of town”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Beautiful villa type setting, outdoor patio on a terrace, overlooking quiet square.
Pizza restaurant with huge selection of pies. Good value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank olesh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, dissapointing service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Villa Zuccaro is without doubt in a lovely setting, and you can eat outdoors, or in a huge conservatory area. We did not book but were seated straight away. Others arriving later, were sat in a pleasant waiting area until a table became available. Our starters arrived quite quickly, and the delay before our pizzas arrived was not unreasonable, but after that the whole system fell apart. Our plates were cleared by a passing table clearer (not a waiter), and we wanted to order dessert, so eventually caught the eye of a waiter, who seemed totally confused about whether or not we had had our main courses, and totally uninterested in our request for dessert menu. Eventually the lady (who turns out to be the owners american wife) took our dessert request and after some more delay the dessert arrived. The Owner's wife is also in charge of seating people, and seems to have to combine the seating planning with the dessert ordering for every single table of this very large restaurant. When we wanted the bill we had to go inside and ask for it, as this seems to be no-one's job. The owner apologised for the delay saying that they were short staffed, and as it was such a nice setting, and the pizza's were good, we decided to give them another try in our second week. Exactly the same happened. The owner did recognise us, and asked his (english speaking) wife to speak to my husband. We explained that both times the service system had led to confusion amongst the staff and long delays, but she just said that they found the system satisfactory and saw no reason to change it. To have one member of staff dealing with the whole restaurants dessert and seating needs just does not work in busy periods. We also saw people in the waiting area getting quite cross if they were not seated before later waiting arrivals. Lastly the loo seat in the ladies was cracked!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smidgecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Atmospheric alfresco dining”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed out meal here- which was a chance find.

Having wandered around central
Taormina looking for a restaurant off the beaten track we stumbled accross this lovely looking restaurant behind corso umberto.

We had a lovely meal but the main draw was the setting and gardens, candle lit tables and ambience.

Service was a little slow, as with most restaurants in Taormina.

We'd be back again if there weren't so many other restaurants to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littledonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ordered two pizzas - one was very good - the other not as much”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

as the title says, my pizza was probably one of the best i've had in taormina (don't remember the name but it had tomato paste, pistacchio paste, mozzarella and parma ham) but my wife's pizza had too much tomato paste for our liking and the taste of anchovies was overpowering.

Nonetheless this is still a very good pizzeria, offering a very vast selection of pizzas. We also had a cheese and cold cuts platter which was nice if not slightly overpriced for the selection given. Even the wines were a bit overpriced if you don't opt for the house wine.

The place got very busy as the night went on, but the large amount of waiting staff meant that the service was respectable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Villa Zuccaro also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Pizzeria Villa Zuccaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing