We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Apartment which is not an Apartment”
Review of Da Concettina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Da Concettina
Ranked #1 of 115 Taormina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
malvern
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An Apartment which is not an Apartment”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We asked for a high room with a sea view. we were given the first floor over the bar which had two smallish rooms, one with a double bed and the other with a single bed, a double bed and a fridge. If we had told there were two bedrooms sleeping five with no other facilities, we would not have booked.
The bathroom was tiny.
The balcony was nice with a table and two chairs overlooking a shingle beach with lots of old plastic bottles scattered around and lots of nub ends. This was our experience of public Sicilian beaches in general during our two week holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank spencer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    123
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
229
463
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much.Very good and large appartment with a amazing wiev. Helpfull hostess and a funny idea with the small suveniergifts from the guests. Good restaurants in the village and possiblity to take bus to Taormina. Etna and other destinations is not so far away. We will be back again-.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poul Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for adding your excellent review after your holiday at our B&B.
I and Pinuccio have been really delighted in having you here, you have been very kind to us for the whole stay and we appreciated the fact that you took a lovely present typical of the place where you live...it'll make us remind you in the future!
We are glad that you liked the accommodation rented and its gorgeous view, one of the best in the area because of the nearness to the sea.
Our position is strategic not only for being at a few steps from the beach but also because all is on hand at a short reach: bus stop, restaurants, bars and so on....even if you need a doctor or a dentist during your holiday you can reach them easily!
We hope that very soon you'll be able to return here, we'll be glad to welcome you again.
Thank you for choosing us for your holiday once again.
Best wishes.
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderful vacation in Italy. One of the highlights was our visit to Taormina, Sicily. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Da Concettina B&B. It is located in Mazzeo across from the beach and a quick bus ride from Taormina proper. The bus stop is a few feet from the B&B. The location suited us perfectly since we were looking for some downtime, away from the tourist crowds to enjoy the beach and the locals. However, we were still able to do an excursion to Mt. Etna, walk between the coastal villages, and check out the shops and ruins of Taormina. The B&B is run by a friendly, wonderful and accommodating couple, Fufu and Pinuccio. who made our stay memorable. They steered us to some of the great, but reasonably priced, eating spots in the area. In addition to the B&B they also rent apartments. We rented one overlooking the beach, which comes with a kitchenette, AC, hairdryer, iron and a washing machine. We enjoyed the clean, comfortable accommodations and especially enjoyed going to sleep and awakening to the sound of waves lapping the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uscanukeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear friends,
thank you very much for the eccellent review, we have been pleased in reading all the compliments about us and the accommodation.
First of all we would like to say that we were looking forward to meeting you as while we were dealing with you during and after the reservation we felt that you were good people, it seemed like writing to our friends and we didn't know you yet.
Once that we met you in person we understood that we were right and it's was nice and interesting to chat with you whenever we met during your stay.
We are extremely pleased that your choice has been the right one, not only for the fact that you were able to relax far from the touristic crowd, but mostly because you liked the apartment rented and us...and last but not least the sound of the waves!
One thing that you forgot to mention in your review: the amazing view of the sunrise! Don't you remeber how beautiful it was waking up early and enjoying the sun coming up from the sea?
We hope that one day you'll be able to come back to Taormina...
Thank you very much for choosing us and for the affection showed us!
Your friends Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've just returned from a week in Sicily with my wife. Da Concettina & Fufu and Pinuccio were recommended to us by a good friend. He was absolutely right! We couldn't have had a better place to stay- right by the sea high up on the top floor of their seaside accommodation in a little fishing village below Taormina on the north east coast. Aside their gracious welcome, regular daily chats & strategic planning (they were both very helpful) what we really liked was the situation. The accommodation was spotless & cleaned daily but it was, literally, a stone's throw from the sea. At night we threw the balcony windows open (the place seemed very secure) & in bed we could hear the surf pounding on the shore which was restful & therapeutic- aside two exhilarating storms which occurred over the week which were mightily exciting! Nothing was too much trouble for either of our hosts. We had excellent daily breakfasts & they were both, invariably, cheerful and smiling & genuinely interested in helping us in our planning - whether it was, for example, how to get the bus into Taormina? what were the best things to view on a day trip to Syracuse? Recommendations for local restaurants &, not least, where to go to get our flight details printed on our last day before the eventual trip home!

I would highly recommend this accommodation & both Pinuccio & Fufu are delightful hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear friends,
thank you very much for adding this glowing review, we think that an owner's repsonse won't be enough to show you our gratitude for your excellent report!
First of all we want to take the change to thank again the two friends of you who recommended us for your holiday, without them we wouldn't have had the occasion to meet you!
Then we would like to say thank you for all the affection showed us during all your holiday!
Every day it's been a pleasure to stay with you and chat during the breakfast, we liked talking about oursleves and yourselves, finding out about what we do in our lives.
Then we must mention that we are happy that you had the chance to stay in one of the best accommodation that we can offer, as your friends wanted...Indeed it occured after the cancellation of other guests so we thought that you were the one who deserved it!
We agree that the sound and the smell of the sea have therapeutic effects, it's so regenerating and relaxing...and even when there is a rainy storm it's very exciting to assiste to a similar spectacle! It doesn't happen very often but sometimes our guests can enjoy it!
We really hope that one day you and the other friends will be able to come here together, it would be very nice.
We wish you all the best.
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I had booked da Concettia for three nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed for five nights.We had the apartment on the third floor and our view of the Med. was awesome, sunrise was amazing. The apartment was spotless and had every amenity that we needed. Fufu is a perfect hostess and looked after us very well

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djfitzgib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for adding your excellent comments on us!
We have been very pleased to meet you...even more than usual because your visit wasn't expected as you came here after good recommendations of other guests who stayed here some days before. They told you great things about us and at the end you booked here and even decided to stay longer than supposed.
We are so glad that you liked the view from the apartment and the sunrise that during that days was simply amazing due to the fact that days were sunny.
Thank you for the complients about how I looked after you but I just did my daily work, being helpful and professional is my duty.
We hope that one day you'll be able to come back to Sicily and visit us.
Best wishes.
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights with Pinoccio, Fufu and Concettina at the begining of September. The location is simply great!. You walk 30 meters and you are already in the sea. The beach at mazzeo is very quiet and with very little stones (much better in our opinion, than Isola Bella that has big stones and loads of people). At the same time the bus to Taormina is 10 metres from the cafe, runs every hour at 1 EUR per trip and takes about 15 minutes to get to Taourmina; so if you want to do touristy stuff, it is incredibly easy. Pinoccio and Fufu, are super nice and always keen to help. For example, they helped us booking a trip to Mount Etna and the company they suggested was great. Finally, the pistachio icecream in Letojani is the BEST I had in Italy.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are two building with apartments. One is just above the cafe and it has sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasthi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear friends,
thank you very much for adding your comments on us on Tripavisor!
We have been really pleased to meet you as you have been so nice and kind to us, when you got here it was like meeting 2 old friends...not 2 unknown guests!
We really appreciated your company, chatting with you has been very interesting...We like being in touch with people from different countries and finding out about them and their habits. With our job we have this chance almost every day, we feel so lucky!
We are glad that you liked our area, it's beach and everything... you even tasted the best icecream!
We for one know that our area is a jem: we have a quiet place to stay where everything is on hand, the sea is at a few steps and it's very clean. Holidaymakers pay to stay here and they always say us that we are so lucky!
We hope that very soon you'll come back to visit us...you already know that you are considered like friends.
Best regards.
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at da Concettina for five nights in mid-September, 2013 and had a great time. Our apartment was located on the third floor of the main yellow building where the cafe is housed. It had a large bedroom equipped with plenty of storage space, a double bed, and a single bed as well. The apartment had a small kitchen with a fridge, and stove (which we did not use), and a small washing machine (which proved to be very handy). There was also a pull-out couch, and a small flat panel TV with a satellite feed. By opening the large glass doors, we also had access to a small balcony with chairs and a small table, and a rack to dry clothes and beach towels on. It also afforded a nice view of the nearby beach, and provided a handy platform for those nice sun-rise pictures without having to get all dressed up! The apartment was air-conditioned, which was much appreciated as we found it a bit warm while we were there. The bus stop is just across the road from the apartment and offers an hourly service to Taormina for only €1 each way (don't bother trying to park up there, it is DEFINITELY not worth the aggravation). The bus takes about 15 to 20 minutes to reach Taormina, and leaves at the top of the hour. The apartment is also close to several great restaurants, as well as several wine shops, and a grocery store. In short, you will find everything you need right nearby.

Fufu and Pinucchio were great hosts - they quickly answered any e-mail inquiries we sent, and willingly provided great tips for restaurants, shopping and sightseeing in the local area. Fufu must come by the room every day as the garbage is always taken away, and light cleaning has been done on a daily basis (something we did not expect). Fufu even provided us with a bit of detergent for washing our clothes, as we didn't really want to buy a large quantity for only one load. Breakfast was served downstairs at the cafe, and even though we only had coffee and a croissant each day, she was quite willing to accommodate special requests, and we did see other guests with fruit and juices.

One comment I can make if you are coming by car - it might be a bit difficult to initially find the apartment (especially if you are not used to driving in Europe). We used a GPS unit that kept trying to take us down a ramp that was closed due to construction. It re-routed us to another road that took us to a very narrow tunnel, that we initially thought was only a pedestrian walkway. So we turned away and tried to find another route. The tunnel is in fact used by motor vehicles, but only one can pass at a time. Just have some patience - once you get down to the waterfront, look for a blue sign on the east side of the road, or a yellow sign on the apartment itself! I know you are going to enjoy your time at da Concettina!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank London_Ontario_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear reviewer,
thank you very much for your excellent review on us...once back home you had the thought to write some line about us, we really appreciate your kind gesture!
We have been extremely pleased in reading your detailed review, you have given a complete description of all the accommodation rented! Some travellers in search of a place to stay will find very useful what they will read.
Our accommodations are more or less as described, very large and equipped of all that guests might need, even the washing machine.
I and Pinuccio have been delighted to meet you and your wife, since when we met the 1st time we understood that you were nice and friendly guests, we liked chatting with you and giving useful advices on what to see, where to eat and where make some shopping! Nowadays most of the travellers already have an idea of the places that they intend to visit due to the Internet search but a local advice is always much better than what you can find online.
As for the emails sent each other prior to your arrival it is part of our job and an interesting way to get to know future guests.
The last lines related about how to find us are also a good tip but I and Pinuccio never forget to give detailed information on how to reach us...but sometimes people get lost! They forget to print directions or take the wrong road so at the end even if they are very close to us they can't find the right way to reach us!
We really hope that one day you'll be able to come back to Sicily and to stay with us.
All the best...
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
2.0 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#24 of 87 in Taormina
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,809 reviews
4.0 mi away
B&B Sole
B&B Sole
#23 of 115 in Taormina
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Concettina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Concettina

Property: Da Concettina
Address: Via Alcide de Gasperi 11, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Da Concettina" welcomes its guests in the splendid scenery of the Bay of Taormina, which lies between Capo Sant'Alessio and Capo Mazzaro. The elegant Suites, that the owner Pinuccio has organized and furnished with taste and elegance, have a balcony, some with sea view in front and some with a lateral sea view. All the bedrooms have double bed with new high-quality matress and pillows (bought in March 2011) to assure to our guests a good sleeping quality. They have private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Heating and air conditioning are individual. Each Suite has also a spacious area with Tv Sat Lcd and sofa-bed, that allows to accommodate other 2 people. There are also mini-bar, washing-machine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Da Concettina Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing