We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Da Concettina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Da Concettina
Ranked #1 of 119 Taormina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We loved staying in this apartment looking out on the big blue sea. We stayed in April when the summer season had not quite begun and there were dinghies parked on the pavements. Mount Etna was always in the background smoking. Fufu and Pinuccio were very kind and welcoming. They run a cafe on the ground floor so were always available for helpful advice about where to go and how to get there. We loved exploring the mountain top towns and ancient ruins. Sicily is stunningly beautiful and the people very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear reviewer,
we thank you for your excellent review, you really gave us a great support!
We have been delighted to meet you and your companion and the case gave us the possibility to make you stay at the top floor where the view from the balcony is the best that we can offer.
An unexpected surprise for you as we had a cancellation from other guests.
We are so glad that your experience in this area has been a success, especially because you have felt the warmth of the local citizens and enjoyed all the interesting sights that it offers.
We really hope tha one day you'll come back and stay longer.
Thank you for all...
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    122
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
224
453
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a great week and the apartment was very clean and comfortable. Fufu was very welcoming and helpful and we would recommend highly as great location just by the beach and close to shops and lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear reviewer,
thank you very much for adding your comments on Tripadvisor.
It's been a pleasure to read that you had a fantastic stay and that all around the accommodations you have found good restaurants and local shops.
It's been really nice to chat with you from time to time and be able to share with you some new improvements that we have realized just while you were here. Standing on your opinion we have done a good work, we hope that many other guests will approve.
We really hope that one day you'll come back to visit us and enjoy our warm weather.
Thank you for your stay.
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking to explore Sicily and enjoy looking after yourself in the best location possible and away from the madding crowd then you need to be booking in Fufu and Pinuccio's excellent apartments in Mazzeo. Escaping from the tourist effect of Taormina itself with a quiet, stunning beach, good restaurants, fantastic local fruitsellers and easy access to the town and the autostrada which is the gateway to the rest of Sicily.
Fufu communicates in excellent English and Pinuccio makes sure we make an effort to speak italian, a must in a foreign country and both cannot do enough to make sure you have a fantastic stay.
In summary if you want to do Sicily ( and you should) then this is the apartment you should be staying in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Owner at Da Concettina, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear reviewers,
we have been really pleased in reading your comments on Tripadvisor, you made an excellent review and we are sure that everyone will be impressed by the lines written.
For us it's been nice to look after you, since the 1st time that we met you we have felt a particular feeling in chatting with you, a positive one! Indeed your sense of humour was great, every day that we saw you your faces looked happy, maybe the Sicilian sun was having a good effect on you.
You have mentioned in the title of the review a "Sicilian paradise", we definitely agree. This is the best place in the area where you can spend relaxing holidays even though close to the crowded Taormina city centre.
You can enjoy all the sights and then get away and stay in peace close to the sea, the only noise is the sound of the waves!
We hope that one day you'll come back to visit us, here the door is open for people like you.
Best wishes from Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights in October 2012 at this lovely B&B and we truly enjoyed it. The location was excellent for us: right on the beach, close to some good eateries, good bus connection up to Taormina city, if one wants to have a stroll through some shopping streets. In fact, during our stay we visited Taormina city once, enjoyed it, but in the evening were oh sooo glad to come back to quiet and relaxing Mazzeo :o) We very much liked the authentic feel of the B&B neighborhood, with elderly locals sitting outside of their houses in the evening, veggi-sellers bringing their goods to narrow streets in the morning, etc.

The beach itself is somewhat stony (not the soft sandy beach like those around Syracuse), but it’s still nice and not crowded, especially at the end of the season, and the water quality is excellent. The location of Taormina in general is excellent for many short half-day or one-day trips, be it to Etna, to the Waterfalls, etc.

The B&B apartment that we stayed in included everything that we needed, was very clean, comfortable and decorated with much love. And, of course, not to forget very friendly and helpful hosts Fufu and Pinuccio, who always have great tips for sightseeing trips, dinner locations and are just lovely people to chat with. All in all, we enjoyed our stay in B&B Da Concettina Very much and will be definitely coming again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polina_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear friends,
we have been extremely pleased in reading your detailed review, all the lines written made us feel very proud!
You gave us an uncountable support and we are sure that many travellers will consider us for a stay in Taormina thank to you!
We are happy that the location of our Residence made you feel in a familiar ambient, where you were able to breath the local life, looking at the neighbourg's habits, tasting Sicilian food and enjoying the relaxing life in Mazzeo.
Our beach is made of little pebble most of the time of the year but sometimes it changes aspect, depending on the waves. Indeed during these days we are having a sandy beach, different from the Syracuse beach anyway.
What we can say about our beach is that we simply like it, we don't have to worry about sand into shoes or attached to our towel, if windy we won't find it into our ears. And last but not least walking on it you can get a foot massage...very effective!
Now back to your review: our apartments have been built, furnished and decorated based upon our taste and trying to find the right solution to make guests feel very comfortable, for a memorable stay. Now that all is set what we have to do is simply to please the guests and offer our Sicilian hospitality!
We really hope to see you again, we won't forget your kindness and your cordiality.
Best wishes.
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a really successful holiday staying in these apartments. Everything was as described, clean and comfortable. The journey into Tourmina was easy by bus or car.
Fufu was most welcoming and helpful. We would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AW111242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear reviewer,
thank you for adding your comments on Tripadvisor, we are very pleased that you have found our apartment as described!
It's been a pleasure to meet you in October, you have been very kind to us and so respectful of the accommodation rented.
We hope that very soon you'll come back to visit us, Sicily has a rich heritage that deserves to be visited.
Greeting from Mazzeo.
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed with Pinuccio and Fufu in September 2012, I booked based on the location - being on the beach front and close to the venue of a wedding we were to attend, and we had no complaints whatsoever. Our accommodation was upgraded as a thank you after my Dad and his partner decided to book into the same B&B and the ample space provided was perfect for us as a base in Taormina. Whilst the city of Taormina is very beautiful and easily accessible from Da Concettina we preferred to stay at the small bar downstairs from the apartment where we could chat with our hosts, prices were much more reasonable and the locals and other regular visitors were a pleasure to mix with - and here we have to mention the wonderful Domenic who spent a long time telling us where to eat the best pasta alla vongole and all about his home in Turin and travels around the world. We had a marvellous few days staying here, and should we return to Taormina in the future we'll be certain to book here again!

Lucinda and William, Kent, England

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucindaP_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear friends,
first of all we want to thank you for the exellent review written, we couldn't have wished a better one and we are sure that many travellers will be impressed by your lines!
Then we would like to point out that we have been very pleased in accommodating you in our structure for many reasons. Since the first contacts by email we have felt like we were in touch with friends instead of future guests, a friendly approach we would say. We were so thrilled to meet you and at the end we must admit that our impressions were true: a charming couple from England showing us affection whenever we met during your stay....
So thank you also for your positive attitude and making our job fun and easy!
About the local visitors and especially our friend Domenico we just can say that Italians have a warm heart and they are very friendly, so no wonder if they try to make their best in giving good advices or recommending places that they like.
We hope that your visit hasn't been the only one and that soon you'll be able to leave and come here in our sunny land.
When possible take into account that "Da Concettina" is your "home".
Best wishes from Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in Oct 2012 and I must admit it was a surprise, a very welcome surprise, I had not done my homework and thought it was closer to Taormina but in fact was it turned out to be the best location. Our first floor room had a lovely balcony overlooking the beach, I could run every morning and not be bothered by crowds and a regular bus service meant a trip to Taormina was easy. Our hosts were charming and very helpful. I would recommend Da Concettina looking for a peaceful village atmosphere with beautiful sunrises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari-anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear reviewer,
thank you very much for adding your comments on us as promised when you left our B&B!
We have been very pleased in reading that you liked the location where we are, even though when you booked you were thinking to stay in Taormina city centre.
Sometimes it happens that travellers don't pay attention to the exact position and they think that they have booked into the centre. Luckily once here they realize that this is the best place to stay.
Just the nearness of the sea and its wonderful sunrise is the main positive aspect, then the peaceful atmosphere that you have mentioned. We could add many other elements to point out how our small village can be a good choice but we don't want to be boring.
Going back to our owner's response, we would like to let you know that we have been pleased in having you here with us, we liked your company and the chats with you.
Thank you very much for helping us with your comments and a HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
Fufu and Pinuccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
806 reviews
1.6 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 88 in Taormina
502 reviews
4.3 mi away
B&B Sicily in Love
B&B Sicily in Love
#6 of 119 in Taormina
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Concettina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Concettina

Property: Da Concettina
Address: Via Alcide de Gasperi 11, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Da Concettina" welcomes its guests in the splendid scenery of the Bay of Taormina, which lies between Capo Sant'Alessio and Capo Mazzaro. The elegant Suites, that the owner Pinuccio has organized and furnished with taste and elegance, have a balcony, some with sea view in front and some with a lateral sea view. All the bedrooms have double bed with new high-quality matress and pillows (bought in March 2011) to assure to our guests a good sleeping quality. They have private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Heating and air conditioning are individual. Each Suite has also a spacious area with Tv Sat Lcd and sofa-bed, that allows to accommodate other 2 people. There are also mini-bar, washing-machine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Da Concettina Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing