We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, practical choice for visiting Taormina”
Review of Da Concettina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Da Concettina
Ranked #1 of 117 Taormina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was practical for us to stay here just outside of Taormina, though if you can stretch to it, I think staying in Taormina itself might be a better choice. That said, there is a decent bus service that will run you up the hill. The beach at Mazzeo is nice and was pleasantly quiet whilst we were there. There's also a good choice of restaurants nearby. We also used this as a base for visiting Etna. Fufu and Pinuccio are very friendly and happy to talk, Fufu also had helpful info ready for us when we arrived like a bus timetable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Owner at Da Concettina, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear reviewer,
thank you for adding your opinion on Tripadvisor!
First of all we would like to express a little thought about our owner's responses.
This is an instrument that we have on hand and it should be used by the properties' owners to have the last word, a way to reply to the reviewers, especially if a review isn't that good or negative.
As for us, we like replying to all our reviewers, we don't wait the occasion of a negative review for finding a way to justify soemthing that was wrong.
We reply to all of them, we find the time even if too tight (especially in high season), giving to everyone a personalized reply, not simply a sentence.
This is the final thank for us, a way to express our gratitude to all of them!
Now...speaking about your review, reading the 1st part of your review you have mentioned that staying at Taormina centre might be better.
This depends on what the travellers are looking for.
There are people that like you have chosen to stay for a short time in Taormina, so probably the city centre could be a better choice, however if you like the croud and a lively place during the evening.
Others, whether if it is a short or long stay, prefer a relaxing place where they don't have to worry about a parking place (and for free!) and feel the Sicilian atmosphere. This is Mazzeo, a small location part of Taormina, quiet and easy to stay. And whenever you feel the urge to spend some hours into Taormina there are buses on hand, taxies and private parkings, so it's easy to go up.
About the rest of the lines of the review, we are glad that you appreciated our hospitality and the area.
For us it's been nice to meet you, we liked chatting with you and we won't forget how kind and cheerful you have been whenever we met.
You probably won't come here again, but perharps if it happens be aware that Fufu and Pinuccio are on hand if you might need anything.
Best wishes from Mazzeo.
Fufu and Pinuccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 930 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

The apartment was large, very nice and very good value for money. Having a washing machine was fantastic after hand washing for weeks. This was much better staying here at the beach than staying up at Taormina (which was only a short/cheap bus ride up the hill). Also makes you feel like a bit of a local, whereas Taormina is very touristy.
Kristina could not have been more friendly or more helpful. She even found me a great (and cheap) tailor a few doors down from my apartment. She also organised a breakfast for me the night before when I had to leave early one morning for Etna.
I highly recommend.
Tip: if coming by train get off at Letojanni station, walk to the waterfront, turn right and walk until you see the yellow awning of their cafe.
Taormina Tip: for a fantastic sunset, go to the Greek amphitheater in the last hour they are open (makes for great photos)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear reviewer,
thank you very much for adding your exellent review on our page, we really have appreciated that you haven't forgotten it!
For us it's been really nice to have you here with us, we must admit that being a young man travelling alone you are very well-mannered and respectful, you had great care of the accommodation given. Apart from this you also have been very kind and friendly, it's been very interesting chatting with you whenever we met during your stay.
Speaking about our hospitality...this is how we like running our business, we like being helpful and on hand for our guests, the right way to establish a positive relationship with everyone coming here!
As for the accommodation, it is equipped of all that guests might need during their holidays to make them feel very comfortable and our location is the perfect place to stay for those who like being part of the local citizens instead of being among tourists.
We really hope that sooner or later you'll come back to stay with us.
Best wishes.
Kristina and Pinuccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived after a long flight from Canada and it was perfect to arrive at a quiet beachfront property during off-season. The apartment was large, clean and faced the sea. Much better than staying in Taormina's centre. Kristina and Pinuccio are very friendly and helpful. With very few other tourists around, we enjoyed feeling welcome there. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_In_Comfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear reviewer,
we are here to thank you for your excellent review on us!
We are so glad that you liked the accommodation given, its view and also our quiet area where our guests really enjoy a relaxing holiday close to our fabulous beach.
We have been very impressed by your attitude and your kindness, these are good qualities that we appreciate when people book here, it makes us feel comfortable and friendly.
Anyway we must say that almost all our guests have these qualities and we are really satisfaied, especially because we have the chance to meet so much people from all over the world.
We really hope that one day you'll be able to come back to visit us, you have been wonderful guests and we won't forget you.
Best regards.
Kristina and Pinuccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent location, wonderful host – Fufu and Pinuccio, they were there anytime we needed
The apartment was exactly as within the site we picked up…good choice in term of everything! We hardly recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review on us!
We are really happy that you liked the apartment rented and it's location, we for one consider our area one of the best places to stay for enjoying relaxing holidays and if we think about all our efforts in making comfortable and pleasant our accommodatons, we are simply proud whenever we get such positive reviews!
In your specific case we liked looking after you, every time that we met you when you needed our help it was the right excuse to spend a little time together and chat.
We are sure that on day you'll be able to stay again with us and that friends of you will book here thank to your recommendations.
Best regads.
Fufu and Pinuccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had such a lovely stay at Da Concettina. We stayed in the apartment on the top floor facing the sea for two nights. The only way we could have been closer to the beach would have been to sleep on it.

It was so nice to visit Taormina's city center and come back to the beach afterwards. We were not there in high season so I'm sure the beach is much more crowded but it was simply perfect in October.

The apartment was spacious and clean. Breakfast was at the cafe on the ground floor steps from the sand. Kristina even gave us an itinerary for a day trip around the area. Honestly, I would stay here again in a second.

My only negative comment is my own fault. It's that we did not stay with Kristina and Pinuccio longer.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms face the sea. Not a bad view in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyc_travel_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Owner at Da Concettina, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

What a lovely surprise we had today in reading this review!!!
Thank you very much for your kind gesture, you have written excellent lines on us and that means a great support.
I and Pinuccio have been extremely delighted in welcoming you at our B&B, especially for the fact that you were travelling for a special occasion, your honeymoon. Luckily our nicer accommodation was free for the 2 nights and we have been able to offer it for an unforgettable stay, we believe that you won't forget the amazing view from the large window!
In reply to the final lines, when you mention that you wanted to stay longer, we would like to let you know that we for one wanted you to stay more as we really felt in good company with you, we liked our chats and also the "language lessons" both in English and Italian (and Sicilian too!).
We hope that in the future you'll be able to spend your anniversaries in Taormina, you already know where to stop and find good friends: "DA CONCETTINA" with Kristina and Pinuccio!
We wish you hapiness, health and money (to come back here!).
Your friends Kristina and Pinuccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We would like to thank Pinuccio and Fufu for making our stay at their residence so great. The place is very clean and both Pinuccio and Fufu gave their utmost and made us feel welcome and at home. They were very helpful in all our needs. I would recommend this place without hesitation. Will surely visit again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Owner at Da Concettina, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear friend,
you don't need to thank us for our hospitality and for having made your stay so special!!! It's our job and we try to do it in the best way because we like when people feel so go and as home!
If there is someone here who has the need to thank it's US, because you have choosen our B&B for your short trip in Sicily and last but not least you have written such a lovely review on us!
What we would like to mention is also the fact that you have made your choice thank to a common friend who came here the last year and the current year, so today we have the right excuse to thank him again!
We are sure that it won't be too long that you'll come back to visit us, we like having guests so cheerful and positive, apart from the fact that you are so energetic, children included!
We look forward to your next visit...
Your friends Fufu and Pinuccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a really wonderful stay in the very spacious one bedroom apartment. It was immaculately clean and had everything we needed. It was great to have a balcony and be so near to the sea. We enjoyed being in a quieter area rather than in the center of Taormina which seems very busy. Kristina and Pinnucio made us feel really welcome and were so kind to us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belindaklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piovrino, Proprietario at Da Concettina, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you very much for adding your excellent review on us on our Tripadvisor page, you have given to us a really good support!
We have been really delighted in meeting you as you have been so nice and kind to us!
What made us happier is the fact that common friends have recommended us to you and now it's been your turn to recommend us, who we are and what we offer to all those who will be connected to this website in search of an accommodation to stay.
We are sure that many travellers will believe you and probably we'll get new reservations thank to you.
Anyway you have made a good choice in booking here if you like a quiet and relaxing stay... Taormina city centre is definitely a charming place to visit but too much crowded and the majority of our guests are relieved when they come back home after visiting the city.
Here it's simply safe, quiet and you enjoy the beach and the sun only...you just wear your bathing suit and walk straight to the sea.
We really hope that next year you'll be back here to visit us.
Best wishes from Kristina, Pinuccio and Concettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
B&B Sicily in Love
B&B Sicily in Love
#9 of 117 in Taormina
163 reviews
4.7 mi away
B&B Villa Valentina Taormina
4 mi away
B&B Sole
B&B Sole
#20 of 117 in Taormina
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Concettina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Concettina

Address: Via Alcide de Gasperi 11, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range: $55 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Da Concettina" welcomes its guests in the splendid scenery of the Bay of Taormina, which lies between Capo Sant'Alessio and Capo Mazzaro. The elegant Suites, that the owner Pinuccio has organized and furnished with taste and elegance, have a balcony, some with sea view in front and some with a lateral sea view. All the bedrooms have double bed with new high-quality matress and pillows (bought in March 2011) to assure to our guests a good sleeping quality. They have private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Heating and air conditioning are individual. Each Suite has also a spacious area with Tv Sat Lcd and sofa-bed, that allows to accommodate other 2 people. There are also mini-bar, washing-machine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Da Concettina Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing