We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!”
Review of Villa Almoezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Almoezia
Ranked #20 of 117 Taormina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have just returned from the most fabulous trip to Sicily. My boyfriend and I backpacked from Catania to Palermo staying in a few towns along the way.

Villa Almoezia was by far our favoraite. I mean whats not to like? Big private room, stunning views of the coast, a swimming pool (this is acutally a hard thing to find in Sicily), homemade cakes and jams for breakfast. Most importantly the couple who runs it actually care about you, they even shuttled us to the train station when we left. Now thats dedication!

They only thing I say beware of is the access of this place to people who are not so steady on their feet as you do need to use the steps to get in and out of town...it can get quite strenuous after some vino locale and a belly full of pasta!

Anyway this place is great and if you can stay there do it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place is like heaven with a breathtaking view and a charming garden with fruit trees. There is a wonderful swimming pool from where you can see the sea and the Calabrian coast.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, well adorned and very quiet. You can walk to the center of Taormina in only 10/15 min.
Sebastiano and his wife are enchanting. They lend us a lot of maps and books about Taormina and give us good advice to visit the region.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The owners are very friendly and more than helpful telling us what to see around town, how to get around, etc. We only stayed one night as we only had a few days in Sicily but they even recommended an itinerary for us the rest of our trip and it worked out great. They even wrapped up some food for us to take with us. Would definitely recommend. The only downside for some might be its a little bit of a hike from the center of town where all the activity and the beach is, but we didn't mind this it was nice and quite on the top of the hill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregFarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I agree with many other guests that visiting Sebastiano at his bed and breakfast is like visiting a relative that you have been corresponding with for years. In addition, his wife Rita makes the best breakfast cakes in Sicilia. They are unfailingly fresh and moist and they make a very good breakfast along with a freshly made cappucino. All of the guests benefit from a huge sunporch that is the perfect place for a couple of hours of sunning. Across the street is a stunnng view of Etna (the rooms also have a view, but they look in the opposite direction from Etna and Taormina). The pathway down to Taormina is steep but it is a delightful way to get to the town---we used the pathway in both directions, but you can take a bus back until 7:30 pm if you wish. The place presents a majestic location, but we noticed that some aspects of it were unfinished...not in a way that would bother us. There are many stairs and much walking at this place. Internet is available only in the public area. The shower was small and hot water only lasted a few minutes. The mattress was firm, but not uncomfortable. As with many quiet locations in Italy, you can hear dogs barking all night. If you drive, keep driving until you begin to go down slightly---it is a long way up there. The street you are looking for (Via M. Rocca) intersects Leonardo Da Vinci at a sharp angle, we had to turn around to make it up to the b and b.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a quiet location. All rooms have access to the sun porch and the breakfast room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank equus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

As two couples we rented the lower double rooms; they have their own porch and their own terrace. The innkeeper Sebastiano is a most animated and friendly person, a native of Taormina, helped us immensely to have a nice stay. In the early spring his manicured gardens are a delight with beautiful stone paths leading through the grape vines. These terraces overlook an astounding view of the valley behind Taormina, the town itself, and the ocean all the way to Calabria. Tremendous. He's building a four foot deep warm bath for soaks at the end of the terrace with the best view; should be done later in 2013.

The B&B is around 200 feet from the top of the stairs leading down into the town which other reviewers have discussed. A pleasant walk up if you're fit, or take a taxi or bus up. We liked the B&B's because it's out of the bustle and noise of the tourist zone. Our rooms were not wheel-chair accessible; stone steps to them.

The rooms are comfortable, well-appointed with small bathrooms, AC-heater. Definitely nicer than the present 3 star rating. The breakfast is typical Sicilian: fruit, yoghurt, fresh cakes, fresh OJ, various coffees. Quite pleasant.

All four of us wouldn't hesitate to return here. A true value B&B.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Drjonnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The owner, Sebastiano, was kind enough to meet us at the bus station on our arrival and give us a lift, which was very useful as Villa Almoezia is quite a way up in the hills above Taormina. He was very friendly and welcoming, and gave us a map and plenty of information on what to do around the town. (He also lent us a book from which I learned that “Almoezia” was the name given to Taormina in honour of the Caliph al-Moezz following the Arab capture of the town in 902.)

The location is great; it's about a 10 minute walk down the steps to the town. It takes slightly longer back up but is still comfortably manageable if you have a basic level of fitness. There are also buses but we didn't use them. The view from the bedroom window was the same as that from the terrace and was quite spectacular.

The room itself was comfortable, and decorated in a rustic style with various ornaments. There was airco but I didn't spot a controller for it and it wasn't needed as it stayed cool during the day. One thing worth noting – no toiletries apart from soap were supplied so remember to take your own shampoo and shower gel! The breakfast was nice, consisting of bread, cakes, and even some apricot and prune jams that Sebastiano had made himself.

In all, it's a charming little place with lots of character and a great host.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirMiles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Average B&B, rooms were nice, breakfast was okay however could use some improvement with at least fresh bread vs. only cakes, owner was friendly and helpful. Please ensure you have written directions to the place and not just rely on GPS coordinates as those were very helpful. You may want to take the bus or drive the car to parking near the town and walk to the town, it is a long walk uphill to the B&B

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#16 of 87 in Taormina
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
B&B Villa Valentina Taormina
0.6 mi away
Villa Zagara Garden
Villa Zagara Garden
#48 of 117 in Taormina
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B La Terrazza sul Mare
B&B La Terrazza sul Mare
#13 of 117 in Taormina
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Almoezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Almoezia

Address: Via Roma 12, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range: $104 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Almoezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Almoezia Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing