We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate in luxury and customer service.”
Review of El Jebel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Jebel Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is an extraordinary hotel. Located in the heart of Taormina, Hotel el Jebel is a gem. Superior staff and elegant, comfortable rooms. I brought a group of 10 individuals as part of a culinary tour. Everyone was delighted. We even had a cooking class in their fabulous restaurant? Very we'll done.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank gallocasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 516 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Spent Wednesday - Sunday at the hotel, which was small but impeccable. The front desk was very helpful in restaurant suggestions, as well as coordinating a couple day trips for me to take in Sicily. The room are very comfortable, with fantastic views over Taormina and the sea. They have a fantastic breakfast that was included in my room fee, with eggs made to order and a variety of breads, cakes, biscuits, and cereals. There is a very nice rooftop with one of the best views over the city and mount etna, a view that many other locations would not have given it's central position in the town. The rooftop was quiet when I was there (don't expect a pool or bar or lounge chairs) but then again I was there in the off-season when it was still a bit chilly outside. Definitely recommend El Jebel as a great hotel in the middle of Taormina.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Spent 4 nights in February 2014. Great location right off Corso Umberto. Helpful staff. They helped me track down my lost bag in Catania. Great room and beautiful dinning room and terrace. Great breakfast. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Excellent luxury hotel with only 10 rooms. Staff is very friendly and dedicated. The hotel is in Taormina Ciampoli castle in front of the Duomo, a church of the XIII century. The scenery is stunning: oceanfront view and Etna volcano with its lava at night . The rooms are large and comfortable, elegant and spacious bathroom. The chef of the restaurant offers stunning food, delicate and exquisite.
If you go by car you should park in the public parking in Taormina located about three blocks from the hotel and you must call the hotel to go get your bags

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We just got back from a three night stay at El Jebel and it was fantastic! We had to come out of season as we were planning our wedding for September in Taormina,but you would never have guessed as the staff and service was fantastic! The hotel is perfectly located on the main street in Taormina with a short walk down to the local shops, churches and restaurants! The hotel is modern with a Moroccan theme, and only has 12 rooms so has that very personal boutique feel. Breakfast is a buffet but you can order eggs etc off the menu and the dinner was delicious!! The rooms are clean and spacious-my only small negative is the Bed-it was like sleeping on concrete! Room service was always very quick and efficient!
We will definitely be recommending this hotel to our guests to stay in September!! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephmck1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at Taormina for a single night, booking in advance at El-Jebel. The hotel is beautiful from the inside. We stayed in a room which had a nice Sicilian-Baroquian style with a great care to details.

On arrival, the staff requested for me and my life-partner's passports. Noticing that she had her birthday that day, they treated us with a free aperitifs to our room. A really nice gesture.

All in all, the day we spent at El-Jebel was one of the best days of our trip.

It is highly recommended to all visitors in Taormina.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ophir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a fabulous small boutique hotel in Taormina. It is set back a bit from the street, so while you are right in the heart of things, you don't feel swept up witht the crowd. The room and bathroom was quite large and nicely decorated. Free WIFI and amazing breakfasts were also great. The rooftop terrace has a lovely view of the city and Mt. Etna (which made it very interesting to watch as it was erupting one night.)
The staff is very nice and friendly. A big thank you to Evelyne who worked in the breakfast room, she is an absolute gem and an asset to any company. She went out of her way to make sure that everything was wonderful.
I wouldvery highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFoodCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Grand Hotel San Pietro
#39 of 87 in Taormina
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jebel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jebel Hotel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $303 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Jebel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Jebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jebel Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing