We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!”
Review of El Jebel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Jebel Hotel
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

When we arrived, we were surprised to get a free upgrade. The suite we got was amazing!
Spacious and beautiful. The bathroom was lovely.
We were on the 3.rd floor and had great view over the sea/city/Etna. The hotel is in the center, and perfect located. You can walk to anything, but still it's quiet when you're in your room.
We had dinner at the roof-top terrace two nights, and the food and service were great.
I need gluten free food, and there was no problems at all during breakfast or dinner (didn't have lunch at the hotel).
The hotel is as perfect as everyone is writing here. We had high expectations, and all of them were forfilled - and more to.
The staff, rooms, restaraurant, roof-top terrace - everything was perfekt!

Room Tip: We had room on the 3.rd floor, and had an amazing view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CecilieNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for El Jebel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 507 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I got married there last summer and loved every minute of our stay. We basically booked out the whole hotel for a week and all the staff, especially Antonio, were unbelievably helpful and accomodating.

The big day itself was magical, helped by the wonderful setting, beautiful hotel and amazing staff who became our friends in the end. Would recommend this hotel 110%.

We all wanted to do different activities and see different sights and the staff were more than happy to help organise any trips for us.

We checked out 6 different hotels before we decided on Hotel El Jebel and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barneystinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a delightful visit to Taormina. The hotel and the staff at the hotel really made our stay special - very welcoming and service oriented. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The views are fantastic. Centrally located just off the Corso Umberto for easy access to the sights, dining and shopping. Excellent breakfast. Be sure to have a drink on the roof terrace or stay for a meal, you won't be disappointed! Can't wait to visit again! All the staff were fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atastegiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ended our stay in Sicily with two nights at el Jebel. From the moment you walk through their door, you can feel the care given to every detail. Our room was decorated in a Moroccan motif. It was truly spectacular and as comfortable as it was beautiful. The staff was exceptional and we were especially thrilled with Evelyne, our server at breakfast; as she was always happy to help us with our Italian. The hotel is a true gem, and I recommend it to all who travel to this wonderful hilltop city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

At the end of a family tour of Sicily we had the pleasure of spending five nights at the El Jebel. It was the perfect end to an amazing trip. The hotel is a great blend of an historical building with all of the modern touches. The location, the rooms, the breakfast and the restaurant are all superior. The views from the rooftop terrace are amazing, don't miss having dinner or drinks up there.
However, what really makes this hotel is the staff! The entire front desk staff, lead by Antonio, are incredible. They go out of their way to welcome you and are very knowledgeable of Taormina and the surrounding areas. I have traveled a lot in Italy and they are the best I have ever encountered. But it doesn't stop there. Everyone from the housekeepers, the breakfast/restaurant staff and the bartenders are top notch. They all treat you like family. After a long day of touring this beautiful area, we looked forward to returning to our "home away from home."
I would highly recommend this hotel....it earns all five of its stars!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just spent three nights at the el Jebel, and it is as close to perfection as we have ever found. The staff was gracious, professional, and always helpful. From restaurant suggestions to ongoing lessons in the Italian language, they were always a pleasure. The rooms are large and comfortable, as are the beds. The breakfast is the best you will find. And although we never tried the restaurant (despite some gentle encouragement by the concierge), we ran into a couple leaving as we returned from dinner the last night we were there. They proclaimed the restaurant to be the best in Taormina. Based on our experience with the rest of the property, I'm sure their assessment is accurate. Highly, highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Biggerunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went here after our wedding in malta, kind of like a honeymoon but with 15 other family members. We were the only ones in our group staying at el jebel and while we were happy everybody came to taormina it was nice to be able to have somewhere to relax after our big days. The staff were amazing and made us feel more like family then guests. Our room was always being cleaned whenever we left, even after a siesta we would go out and come back to a clean room. Breakfast was really nice and we also had dinner in the restaurant one night, on the rooftop, a seafood degustation! It was amazing! Would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clares_peaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jebel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jebel Hotel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $280 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Jebel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your El Jebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jebel Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing