We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and comfortable stay in Taormina”
Review of El Jebel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Jebel Hotel
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We arrived towards the end of August with our 2 kids and even though it was busy, I believe we missed the masses.
The hotel seems quite new and it is tastefully decorated with large comfortable rooms. The 2 kids had their own bedroom adjacent to ours which formed a private "suite".
The service is attentive and effecient and the staff were very friendly. Again, like other hotels in Italy during our travels, our kids seemed to be the focus of the service, which made our lives a bit easier.
Access to the beach is a little more of an effort, but at least we had the attractions of the Taormina streets and restaurants near the hotel, which made the trip to the beach a pleasant enough outing.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was great. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant once and I must say that it was different food to what we had enjoyed elsewhere in Taormina, but very good none the less.
Overall I can certainly say that we would come back if we were to visit Taormina again

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 3rd floor. There is a restaurant on the roof and the moving of tables and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeonBotes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 515 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely rooms with a fantastic bathroom and great bath. Nice view from the roof terrace and good central location. Great wifi and full choice of SKY channels. Breakfast was good but service was a bit hit and miss. On one morning when it was busy my wife waited nearly an hour for an omelette! Very expensive stay for what it was and there is no swimming pool which is disastrous in the heat if you have a young family. There is also no gym which is surprising for a five star hotel. Overall though a nice hotel if you want to treat yourself and don't have children and aren't elderly as there is a very steep set of steps to get up to the hotel from the main street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalTraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visited the El Jebel a few times during our stay just for the food alone. We dined at the best restaurants in Sicily (all in top 10) both this time and previous visits and this was the best of the lot- the best food, the best service, the best views, the best ambience, the best privacy the list goes on... Definitely go and visit this one- just off the main street- IDEAL!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chilli35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in the El Jebel when attending a friends wedding. The hotel is tucked away in a quiet spot just off the main street. The scene as we climbed the steps was certainly an impressive start to our stay. We recieved a warm welcome and were offered the chance to relax in the bar before heading to our room. We were lucky enough to have a room on the Baroque themed second floor with a wonderful sea view.

The staff were helpful, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. They were ready to assist with any queries and enquiries about local amenities or excursions. The service they offered at the wedding was exemplary, as was the quality of the food at the wedding reception which was held on the roof terrace with its scintillating views.

Breakfast was always a pleasure with a wide range of cakes, pastries, juices and hot options ( if it's not on the menu just ask!).

In summary the hotel and staff made the experience of attending a friends wedding totally unforgettable and left us with an urge to return and enjoy their hospitality again.

Thank you.

Gary and Michele

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent four lovely nights at El Jebel recently. The room was gorgeous, spacious, and had a lovely view. Staff were very accommodating. Free wi-fi and breakfast included in our super-saver rate. Breakfast is served in the restaurant. A decent selection, and you're able to order a few specialty plates as well.

But. The bed. It is much too firm for my tastes. I had a difficult time sleeping on it. (I seem to have this issue with European hotels...all hard beds!)

I appreciated all the small touches by the hotel - amenities kit in the bathroom included a razor, shave cream, and toothbrush kit! However, there was no bath soap, only bubble bath, and no conditioner. I would recommend including conditioner. Nice nightly turn-down service with a small treat!

The service to the beach was convenient, but the beach itself wasn't fantastic - it smelled funny. We enjoyed the seawater pool at the beach club a lot, though.

Four stars because of the bed, and as another reviewer commented, lack of facilities (ie, pool). The roof bar has lovely views. Hotel is in a great location, right off the Corso Umberto.

I would definitely return to El Jebel, but I'd perhaps bring my own mattress!

Room Tip: Decor on the 2nd floor is my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Pedestrian access only and thirty or forty steep stone steps is not the most hospitable welcome. Certainly not majored on by the hotel brochure or our travel company. Rooms are well presented and spacious but let us not forget they are among the most expensive in Taormina so they should be good. But what they absolutely fail to understand is that five star is more than a flashy room. There are just no other facilities here. No relaxing lounge, no pool, no spa, no beach. It's your room or nothing. Very claustrophobic when there's a heatwave and wandering the streets is not an option. The beach club offer is terrible. An over populated narrow strip of gravel shingle and a pool area full of screaming local kids. Not something that a five star hotel should be associated with in any way. Yet another Taormina disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlanandCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Sir,

Having read your reviews about our hotel and other places in Taormina it is impossible not to point out how you don’t belong to the millions of lovers of our beautiful town. The exception proves the rule! We noticed all your reviews are not positive and we respect your opinion but we all look back on the marvelous words written by 99% of the other guest!

For what concerns your “negative” points about our hotel:

We agree as you said that our rooms are well presented and spacious and we thank you for understanding this but we do not agree and we cannot understand your claustrophobic feelings!

We remind you that we have a beautiful roof terrace. During the day there is the possibility to sun bathe comfortably lying down on the provided deck chairs and under umbrellas. During the evening in our roof terrace we serve dinner, there is a lovely atmosphere, given by the romantic candle light and the panoramic view over Taormina Centre, the sea of Naxos, the Volcano Etna and old village of Castelmola. We believe is one of the most spectacular view and place in town and we, AGAIN, cannot understand how you couldn’t see all of this.

Being El Jebel a historical palace in the heart of centre of Taormina, only pedestrian district, we have a special agreement with the "Porta Catania Parking" (guarded parking lot 24 hours per day, 300 mt from our hotel), as soon as You get there, just call our hotel: our staff will be ready to pick You up from there any time you need (Arrival - Luggage transportation - Departure).

About our private service to the magnificent seashore of Letojanni:
thanks to the special agreement with the Paradise Beach we offer to our guest: transfer service round trip, towels, sun beds, umbrellas, private cabins, internet Wi-Fi free of charge, swimming pool.

Dear tripadvisor's readers, finally we have to say that rarely someone do not fall in love with our outstanding town of Taormina, the exception proves the rule!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at El Jebel in may for 7 nights. The location is excellent, just in the middle of the town. We had a room on the second floor (dedicated to the Sicilian Baroque). The room was amazing - hight ceilings, large, full of light with views of see, Mt. Etna and the Cathedral. The bed was a dream with crisp and impeccable linen. The bathroom was large by any standards, all in marble with elegant english fittings, and a large and comfortable bathtub.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff make the experience even better! The roof terrace is a dream to chill out, with great views of Etna and good cocktails. The restaurant Ciampoli is also very good with a excellent wine selection very honestly priced.
The staff -in the hotel and in the restaurant - was friendly, welcoming and very helpful. They did our stay very peasant indeed!
All in all we had great time at ElJebel. Great hotel in a very good location, excellent staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
918 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jebel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jebel Hotel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $261 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Jebel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your El Jebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jebel Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing