We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool
The Lemon Tree Simeto Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
194 reviews
Swimming pool
The Lemon Tree
Simeto Dining Area
Terrace Simeto
Terrace sea view.JPG
Grapes.JPG
Sunrise at The Lemon Tree
The Pool.
The Terrace.
Etnea terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 194 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Barry G
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed November 30, 2011 for a stay in May 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the Lemon Tree for a relaxing week in May 2010 - and could not have enjoyed it more, as there only 8 apartments the pool was never too busy and Karen and Diego were more than happy to help at all times to ensure you made the most of the trip and time there. The apartment itself was clean and spacious and perfect for what you want in a holiday apartment. I can not recommend this place highly enough. Most of that is down to the hosts

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool & The Hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irishgirl...
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Apartments, couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed November 23, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

A group of us staying on one floor of the Lemon Tree Apartments and it was beautiful. The apartments were ample in size and had a home from home feel with everything you expect from a kettle and toaster to a dvd player.
Karen and Diego were fantastic, they told us where we could shop cheaply and good restaurants to go to, the taxi service that they ran ensured that we could all go out, enjoy a few drinks and get home safely. They couldn't have done more to help us! Thankyou so much! Hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hilltop location gave stunning views
Liked least: The road to the apartment is in serious need of repair
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrajong...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, great owners!”
Reviewed October 18, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The lemon tree is just beautiful (spotless, comfortable, views to die for and well equipped) but Karen & Diego (owners) are the real attractions.
They were so helpful! From the meet and greet at the train station, which extended to
Diego showing us the supermarket to do some shopping while he waited for us to follow him up the mountain (we were early).
When a tour guide wasn't available to take us to Mt Etna Diego offered to take us. Karen
was only too happy to drop us off and pick us up locally for a small fee and offer sicilian driving advice (which got a whole lot easier on mainland Italy!).
I wouldn't hesitate to return and stay longer, Sicily is amazing.
Thanks for the detailed map to the airport Deigo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the private terrace and the owners.
Liked least: Access road is at first a bit daunting but okay after that
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wufty
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed October 10, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here after a week on the other side of Sicilly. We had a great time at out first place so were a little nervous. We need not have worried. Karen and Diego were the best hosts. Our 13 year old daughter just loved the atmosphere around the pool and was sad when volley ball wasn't on!
Our apartment was well equipped, spotlessly clean and had great views. When the people next door left - Karen had the apartment next door cleaned and opened it up for us. This was unbelievably kind and we felt very spoilt.
The location is fantastic, the views are stunning but Taormina is very expensive - we preferred going to eat in Castelmola, or even staying in and enjoying the lemon tree (and Karen and Diego's delicious wine) There is also a great restaurant (not the best location as next to the motorway) but the food is excellent and the staff very friendly.
We ate once in Taormina - at Nino's on Diego's recommendation. It's the place to go for fish and although not cheap it was great food.
Don't miss out on Catania whilst you are here - it's well worth a day trip - Diego will give you tips on parking .
Karen and Diego deserve their fantastic reviews , they are the most helpful owners, they work so very hard to make your holiday as enjoyable as they can but without being intrusive. I wish them all the very best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Karen and Diego, the Goat Man, Volley Ball, home made wine
Liked least: Trip to Mount Etna overly priced and very disappointing.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie3096
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic - can't wait to go back”
Reviewed October 4, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had to change the dates of our holiday at the last minute and Karen & Diego amended our booking for us no problems at all. They offer a meet & greet service which is well worth it as the dirt track to the villa is very steep, winding and doesn't get picked up on sat nav. The room was v clean, with a traditional Sicilian feel but with a modern twist and the attention to detail with furnishings, soft touches and plants was lovely. Towels and bed linen were inclusive in the very reasonable price of the villa. We had the Limoncello room which offers breathtaking views from the balcony. Karen & Diego were great hosts and really made you feel welcome. They offered valuable local advice on places to visit, parking, good restaurants and even Italian driving habits!! I would highly recommend buying their home made wine and olive oil, delicious. We can't wait to go back and our only regret was that we didn't stay long enough. Thanks so much for the friendly and warm service you provide.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Karen & Diego
Liked least: could do with some scissors in the kitchen!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDoveco...
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great views plus outstanding service”
Reviewed September 29, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Lemon Tree has magnificent views of Taormina and Castlemola, which are across the valley, and of the sea below. We stayed in the Ulivo apartment which was spacious, had a large balcony and was fitted out with really useful kitchen items such a kettle and toaster that other places do not supply. The bed in our apartment was a bit too soft for our liking but would suit people who are not used to sleeping on hard mattresses.

Diego and Karen are perfect hosts and were always on hand to answer queries, book restaurants and provide a taxi service for people who preferred not to drive. We had a car which we found invaluable to explore the area, and Taormina is a good base for this.

Driving up to The Lemon Tree from the coast road is pretty adventurous, especially at night, but one quickly gets use to it. But the views are fantastic once one arrives.

We can recommend two restaurants in Taormina: Nino's which is very close to the top of the cable car, and L'Antique Ulivo which is on the road up to Taormina from the direction of The Lemon Tree.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The mattress
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainBo...
stoke
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well run, clean and modern accommodation in a wonderful position”
Reviewed September 26, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

The Lemon Tree straddles the hillside overlooking Taormina. Perfect position and great views.Well maintained, clean and practical throughout, the Lemon Tree represented great value for money and a high quality level
Special mention would be for the pool area and for the hard work and hospitality of Diego and Karen, the owners. Diego and Karen make life easy by offering local knowledge, meet and greet service, taxi service etc etc. All this is done in a helpful but non intrusive way.
When we were there, there was a wide range of nationalities at the appartments- which we liked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners attention to detail
Liked least: bumpy track/road access. Nothing too bad though
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing