We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Views”
Review of Panoramic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panoramic Hotel
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Although this hotel is not located in Taormina proper, it has arguably a much better view, and getting to Taormina is quick, cheap, fun, and doesn't require a car, taxi or bus - simply walk five minutes to the cable car, pay a couple of euros and next thing you know, you are there.

The hotel offers views (from every room, I think) of a very picturesque bay that cannot be seen from anywhere in Taormina. The bay contains an island, beaches, and boat excursions.

The hotel itself was very clean, in very good repair, and the staff was very professional. There is a bar on the fourth floor, and a pool on the fifth. On our ten day trip to Sicily, this was probably the most memorable hotel we stayed in.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a balcony with a superb view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

it was my second time visiting Taormina, i decided to take my mother for her birthday and also for mothers day. the first time that i went i stayed at the Panoramic hotel and was beyond happy with every service that they provide, the views and the staff. therefor i deiced to stay there again returning with my mother. i would recommend this hotel it anyone that would like to visit Taormina everything about it is great. if you are looking for a hotel with the whole package hotel Panoramic is definitely the way to go!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in the Panoramic Hotel from April 16th to 23rd. The hotel was good, very clean, the staff were all really helpful. I forgot my ipod charger and the reception staff charged it for me. Gabriele and Andreas were really nice in the bar and looked after us very well particularly the morning coffees and the strawberries in cherry liquer. The rooftop terrace is beautiful, the views are stunning and there is waiter service which is a real treat. The drinks and lunch time food in the bar are good value. There were no current tour/trip leaflets at reception only ones from 2013 and no bus timetables. We found Taormina expensive and with bad weather a week was too long. We did not bring weather appropriate clothing and there were only designer boutiques in Taormina so buying warmer clothes was not an option. Our own fault but something to consider if you intend to travel at Easter, bring a brolly. All of the restaurants in Taormina charge a cover charge which can be €2.50 per person before you have ordered any food. We found La Zamara and ate in the orange garden which was great - try the meatballs. The cable car was an experience, it was actually closed on the morning we came home because of the wind but opened later. The beach at the Isola Bella is nice but for the couple of hours we sat there on the one sunny day we had we were constantly badgered by the same people offering massages and selling trinkets and they were very persistent. It was much more relaxing to stay on the rooftop terrace.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and the views were great and not so much noise from traffic as the road i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiz0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The views from the rooms and the bar/breakfast terrace and pool are amazing and worth choosing this hotel for alone. Other good points: very clean throughout, friendly attentive staff, very convenient garage if you have a hire care as parking not easy in the area, close to the cable car for trips up to Taormina town, great breakfast with loads of delicious choices, comfy beds. Downsides: can be noisy so avoid if you are a light sleeper, otherwise take ear plugs. Its on a busy road, railway line close and tiled floors mean noise from upstairs if you have inconsiderate neighbours in stilettos! We thought we'd have an "enormous" bathroom after reading some of the reviews but 206 was tiny, and management didn't follow up our request to move (which was to be fair also based also on other niggles which were fixed). There is no nice bar area which is a shame as we'd have spent more time on the terrace enjoying the view if there had been. We were also disappointed with the choice of restaurants in Isola Bella so spent each evening going up and down to the town on the cable car which was a €6 round trip each. All in all a very pleasant hotel which is good value given the location/ view.

Room Tip: Room 206 has a small bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jettyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We came back on Friday after 6 nights at the Panoramic hotel. The room was a good size, was decorated with modern clean lines, was light and the chambermaid did an excellent job. We didn't notice any noise when the balcony door was shut - and it was only sounds of everyday life when we sat outside. The feel of the hotel was relaxed, the food was lovely (both at breakfast and the bar snacks. The pool and the terrace were stylishly simple places to spend time whilst enjoying the beautiful view of the isola bella.
However, it was the staff that really made the place...from the welcoming and helpful reception staff to the attentive and friendly staff at breakfast/in the bar - we couldn't have wished for a higher level of service. Special mention for Gabriele - who as well as being patient with my attempts at Italian, looked after us really well.
As for location - really easy to walk round the corner to the cable car - which is also a pick up point for excursions to Aetna, Siracusa etc.(hotel will make up a breakfast box for early trips which had enough for lunch as well!) Try Da Giovanni's opposite the hotel - we ended up going a few times.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the front - can imagine all are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McpMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at the Panoramic hotel for a week at the end of April (23rd-30th) and we were not disappointed! We stayed on the third floor with a fantastic view of Isola Bella. The room we stayed in was a good size and very clean. There is only 23 rooms, so the hotel is quite quiet apart from the noise from the street (as soon as you close the balcony doors, we couldn't hear a thing). The breakfast was wonderful...there was a lot of different choices. The hotel is in a great location; it is a couple of minutes walk from the cable car. It is 3 Euros each way; if you're staying for a week then I'd advise to get the week pass for 30 Euros. We were there for a week and used it 20 times! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The swimming pool was quite cold, but once you got used to it it was lovely. I can imagine in the summer months, it would be the right temperature. The bottle of prosecco we got when booking our room was a great extra, especially when we enjoyed it by the pool.
If you're looking for a hotel to stay in Taormina, I would definitely book the Panoramic Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katykt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Thank you to the staff at panoramic hotel. The service was truly top notch! They were always very attentive. We just came from the Four Seasons in Milan, and the service that we got at PH was just as good. Of course PH didn't have as many staff members, but they always found a way to make us feel warm and welcomed.

The rooms have a fantastic view of Isola Bella. It was so beautiful. We enjoyed staying near isola Bella much more than in the city of Taormina. Taormina is much too crowded. It felt like a tourist trap. The rooms are not big, but very comfortable. They have a fantastic morning breakfast with complimentary cappuccinos. I'm a bed snob, and the beds at PH are comfortable. You will not regret booking a room at the Panoramic Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible. There is a lot of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,893 reviews
0.2 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
676 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panoramic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panoramic Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 196/B | Loc Isola Bella, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $180 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Panoramic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panoramic Hotel in Taormina in Sicily certainly lives up to its promising name. The breakfast out on the balcony with the breathtaking view alone is worth the trip to Sicily.The rooftop terrace with the swimming pool at the romantic beach hotel in Taormina offers guests an even broader view of the truly dreamlike surroundings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panoramic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panoramic Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing