We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked the Mendolia Beach for my 50th birthday & we couldn't have had a nicer stay. The suite we had was lovely with a massive terrace where we sat & drank our Prosecco every evening whilst looking out on to the beautiful Isola Bella. The hotel is on a fairly main road, but that didn't bother us, is perfectly situated for the beach which is literally over the road & down the steps & the views are stunning. You can reach Taormina via the cable car which goes every 15 minutes until midnight or up the steps by the hotel if you're feeling athletic. The hotel generously gave me a cake & a bottle of Prosecco on my birthday which was much appreciated & a lovely touch. At breakfast you are spoilt for choice with cakes & pastries & you are served by Mario, the lovely chatty waiter & Dario on reception is more than helpful with local knowledge. All in all we had a lovely stay & won't hesitate to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CH153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Mendolia Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

We chose this hotel at it is conveniently located next to the Isolla Bella beach and the views are amazing. Its not a luxurious hotel but the views override everything else. The hotel staff were very helpful as to where to go and when to go. Also its worth mentioning that the hotel has a large space on the beach exclusively for its guests with sunbeds etc (free of charge). Also a bar/restaurant is located on the beach which also belongs to the hotel. Try the aubergine & mozzarella panini from the beach restaurant, its absolutely delicious.

The room was equipped with everything needed (flat screen tv, mini bar, coffee/tea facilities) and it had a nice balcony overlooking the beach. Also the breakfast was delicious with so many choices. The cable car to the old town is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel and costs 6 euros.

The staff and especially Giacomo was very helpful and his advice with restaurants was spot on.

Overall a pleasant experience and highly recommended for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank akis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is, to my opinion, the best located hotel in Taormina, meters from the beach where you can actually swim and dive, right infront of isola bela, terrace with amazing views and meters away from the cablecord to the old town.

The hotel is tidy, clean, functional and modern. Rooms have a good size and own terrace with breath taking views.

Last but definitely not least, the service, the people working in Mendolia beach hotel are brilliant, happy, helpful, service oriented people that work hard to make your stay superb. The breakfast is brilliant and the man serving it too, he was extremely nice, helpful and spreading his good energy between the guests. The guys in the reception were also very very helpful and polite. I am extremely happy with my choice and will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agustina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The view from the hotel is exactly what is presented in the photo's. We spend many hours on our balcony, looking at the beach, teh sea and the island. Restaurants are accros the street and very good. Room is a bit small, but bathroom is great, clean with a superb shower, bed is comfortable. The choice at breakfast was enormous And good cappuchino. Beach beds are free if you want to swim. And a short walk to the cable car to bring you to the ancient greek theatre. The staf is very friendly, only downsiteis the streetnoice. But close your window and put on the airco, and you sleep well.

Room Tip: All rooms are teh same
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzyLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I recently stayed at the Mendolia beach during a four day trip to Sicily with my partener. We booked for one night but stayed 2( the hotel was fully booked on the Friday night or we would have stayed 3 nights. the rooms have the most fantastic view and the staff were each extremely pleasent and helpful. Breakfast couldn't be faulted with plenty of variety on offer. The beach is but a stone's throw accross the road and down some steps.
It is a swimmers paradise for all levels. We would love to return to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gleec0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed the Mendolia Beach Hotel, which is located right across the marvelous Isola Bella Bay, especially because we were driving. Instead of dealing with the difficult driving up in Taormina, staying here we were able to find the hotel easily by coming in the coastal road, which is two-way. If you reserve, for about 12€ a day you can park in a covered garage only a short walk away. Good value! Also, where the garage is you’ll also find the funivia to take you up to Taormina proper. (Off season, take into account that the cable car stops working earlier in the evening.) The Mendolia is located right on the beach road, and you can take the steps down to the beach, which is beautiful. Entrance to the Beach Club (food, drinks, loungers) is included with the room, or you can sit in the free sections of the beach. You can swim there, too. We got a room facing the ocean, and the views were amazing. The breakfast room also faces the ocean – if you have a sweet tooth, the assortment of cakes is wonderful; if you don’t, you’ll still be OK. The man in charge of the breakfast was a delight. The bedroom itself is standard and beachy, but with all the amenities. The bedroom's balcony is really big and usable. There are several restaurants either just across the street or in easy walking distance. Stayed there 2 nights; wish our trip had been long enough to stay one or two more.

Room Tip: Definitely, get an ocean view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel that is a short cable car ride away from Taormina. It was a terrific stay. The hotel is a short walk across the street and down the stairs to a lovely beach. The hotel has a restaurant and beach club right on the beach, where hotel guests get umbrellas, towels, and lounge chairs for free. So enjoyable ! Our suite was really huge. We had two bedrooms, the first had two twin beds, a master bedroom with comfortable double bed and a large terrace off the bedroom. The bathroom was small but adequate. We also had this second, GIANT upstairs terrace, we could have thrown a party for 30 up on our terrace that overlooked the sea. The daily breakfast served up the best we had experienced during our two week stay in Italy and Sicily. The ricotta pie is to die for, seriously. This is a great hotel choice and provides a wonderful beach location to those with cars, those who wish to take day trips to neighboring areas like the amazing Armerina, or those who can only tolerate the crowds of Taormina for short periods of time! Taormina is certainly beautiful, but we visited during the International Film Festival (and of course, we had no clue this was happening until we arrived in town). We would definitely stay at the Mendolia Beach Hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drdmromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#39 of 87 in Taormina
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isola Bella
Hotel Isola Bella
#49 of 87 in Taormina
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#44 of 87 in Taormina
592 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendolia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendolia Beach Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 198, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $88 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendolia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mendolia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendolia Beach Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing