We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed November 2, 2012

There are some great things about this hotel: (1) its location overlooking Isola Bella, (2) its proximity to the "funivia" that connects the beachfront to Taormina itself, and (3) the excellent breakfast offerings. There are a few things that aren't so good: (1) the small size of the rooms and (2) the somewhat down-at-the-heels furnishings. You pay your money; you take your choice.

We also had an issue with management regarding the duration of our stay. When we wanted to cut it short by a day, with four days notice, rather than obligatory five, we were advised that we'd have to pay a penalty that exceeded the nightly rate for the room! A more client-friendly owner/manager would have been more accommodating; guests aren't likely to have a very good time when they perceive that management is more focused on revenue that hospitality. Under these circumstances, we bit the bullet and stayed the additional day.

Absent these negative factors, this could be a much better place. Just beware of them and plan accordingly. Also note that there's plenty of on-street parking--at least there was when we were there in October. You should be able to avoid the hotel's hefty additional charges for parking.

Room Tip: There's some traffic noise on Via Nazionale, though it trails off at night. The higher you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our holiday in this hotel. The location is very close to Taormina centre by cable-car. The view of the beach from our room was breathtaking especially during sunrise. The staff was very polite and extremely nice especially Dario. He was very kind and helpful and was always ready to answer all our queries. Mario is really friendly and prepared very good breakfast. On one occasion we had to leave very early in the morning because we had to take the excursion to Etna. He managed to fix us a very quick and good breakfast before 7.30am! I can never forget the freshly baked cookies and cakes. The room is very clean and we had a wonderful terrace overlooking the picturesque beach. We were there during the month of October, which, in my opinion, was the best time of year as it was very peaceful. Our only regret is that we didn't manage to go on Isola Bella because the sea was a bit rough and it was impossible to walk on the other side. Otherwise I would definitely go again and I highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to spend a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We love the Mendolia beach when in Taormina. Not only the sea is beautiful but Angelo's food at the restaurant is amazing ! All the fresh marinated fish is superb, as well as the pasta dishes he makes.
Here below a photo taken out of a memorable lunch this summer !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loidina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The staff are really helpful and friendly, the view is fantastic, the service is excellent, the hotel is clean and it is 5 mins walk from the cable car that takes you to the upper part of taormina and from the beach! It was a perfect romantic getaway from the daily routine! Would suggest it to anyone for a romantic, family and friends' holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaronBaldacchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staying at the Mendolia Beach Hotel was thoroughly enjoyable. The location was perfect right opposite the beach and just a couple of minutes walk to the cable car. The only problem with the beach was the stones so it wasn't easy to get in and out of the sea. Sunbeds were provided along with beach towels. All rooms in the hotel had an amazing view of the beach and the wonderfully prepared breakfast was served by Mario on the terrace each morning. Mario could speak very good English as he had lived in London for a long time. He was so friendly and made everbody feel so welcome. His Cappuccino's were simply the best! It was really nice to be so close to the cablecar to pop up to Taormina town of an evening. It was a much larger town than we thought and there was so many restaurants to choose from for a meal. I would recommend staying in this hotel, we couldn't fault it the rooms were kept spotless and the breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: No problem as there were only 10 and they all had the same view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Mendolia Beach hotel for 6 nights and were completely satisfied! Clean, frindly, nice helpful staff, perfect location for the beach and only 2 min walk from the cablecar to Taormina (3 min each way - price 3 euro each way), fantastic brakfast - lots of cake! But also fruit, ham, cheese, saussage, juice - and perfect cappucino! We stayed at the 2 floor in a standard doubleroom with a perfect seaview and a little balcon to sit on.
We would highly recommend this - and about the noise from the street? - just the italian sound of summer!!! When you close the door you hear absolutely nothing!! We hope to come back some day....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanneAbildtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My son and I stayed there for 2 nights. Unfortunately he was driving and got muscle spasms in his neck. The night before we arrived we spent 8 hrs. in Mesinna at a emergency room. We arrived at the hotel at 1:30 in the morning. We were more than welcome.

We got up the next morning and couldn't believe the wonderful view. It was only a short walk on
the seaside highway to the funicular up to the spectacular town. We had to get his muscle relaxers for his neck and after that we were pretty much done with sightseeing.

I will definitely be back with my sister who is retiring.

The breakfast was fantastic out on the balcony, and we also had a balcony where I sat and had my wine and watched the beautiful sea and sunset. No restaurant but plenty on the beach and
in the town itself.

The rooms are a little outdated but the beds were comfortable and that's all that counts.

It also has a lift.

You can't get any better than that.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all the rooms face the ocean but ours did and it was great. The noise on the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cinciti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#40 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
412 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isola Bella
Hotel Isola Bella
#49 of 87 in Taormina
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#44 of 87 in Taormina
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#11 of 87 in Taormina
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendolia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendolia Beach Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 198, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $80 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendolia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mendolia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendolia Beach Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing