We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful view great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mendolia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Msida, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our holiday in this hotel. The location is very close to Taormina centre by cable-car. The view of the beach from our room was breathtaking especially during sunrise. The staff was very polite and extremely nice especially Dario. He was very kind and helpful and was always ready to answer all our queries. Mario is really friendly and prepared very good breakfast. On one occasion we had to leave very early in the morning because we had to take the excursion to Etna. He managed to fix us a very quick and good breakfast before 7.30am! I can never forget the freshly baked cookies and cakes. The room is very clean and we had a wonderful terrace overlooking the picturesque beach. We were there during the month of October, which, in my opinion, was the best time of year as it was very peaceful. Our only regret is that we didn't manage to go on Isola Bella because the sea was a bit rough and it was impossible to walk on the other side. Otherwise I would definitely go again and I highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to spend a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    67
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
86
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We love the Mendolia beach when in Taormina. Not only the sea is beautiful but Angelo's food at the restaurant is amazing ! All the fresh marinated fish is superb, as well as the pasta dishes he makes.
Here below a photo taken out of a memorable lunch this summer !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loidina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qormi, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The staff are really helpful and friendly, the view is fantastic, the service is excellent, the hotel is clean and it is 5 mins walk from the cable car that takes you to the upper part of taormina and from the beach! It was a perfect romantic getaway from the daily routine! Would suggest it to anyone for a romantic, family and friends' holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronBaldacchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staying at the Mendolia Beach Hotel was thoroughly enjoyable. The location was perfect right opposite the beach and just a couple of minutes walk to the cable car. The only problem with the beach was the stones so it wasn't easy to get in and out of the sea. Sunbeds were provided along with beach towels. All rooms in the hotel had an amazing view of the beach and the wonderfully prepared breakfast was served by Mario on the terrace each morning. Mario could speak very good English as he had lived in London for a long time. He was so friendly and made everbody feel so welcome. His Cappuccino's were simply the best! It was really nice to be so close to the cablecar to pop up to Taormina town of an evening. It was a much larger town than we thought and there was so many restaurants to choose from for a meal. I would recommend staying in this hotel, we couldn't fault it the rooms were kept spotless and the breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: No problem as there were only 10 and they all had the same view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Mendolia Beach hotel for 6 nights and were completely satisfied! Clean, frindly, nice helpful staff, perfect location for the beach and only 2 min walk from the cablecar to Taormina (3 min each way - price 3 euro each way), fantastic brakfast - lots of cake! But also fruit, ham, cheese, saussage, juice - and perfect cappucino! We stayed at the 2 floor in a standard doubleroom with a perfect seaview and a little balcon to sit on.
We would highly recommend this - and about the noise from the street? - just the italian sound of summer!!! When you close the door you hear absolutely nothing!! We hope to come back some day....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanneAbildtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

My son and I stayed there for 2 nights. Unfortunately he was driving and got muscle spasms in his neck. The night before we arrived we spent 8 hrs. in Mesinna at a emergency room. We arrived at the hotel at 1:30 in the morning. We were more than welcome.

We got up the next morning and couldn't believe the wonderful view. It was only a short walk on
the seaside highway to the funicular up to the spectacular town. We had to get his muscle relaxers for his neck and after that we were pretty much done with sightseeing.

I will definitely be back with my sister who is retiring.

The breakfast was fantastic out on the balcony, and we also had a balcony where I sat and had my wine and watched the beautiful sea and sunset. No restaurant but plenty on the beach and
in the town itself.

The rooms are a little outdated but the beds were comfortable and that's all that counts.

It also has a lift.

You can't get any better than that.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all the rooms face the ocean but ours did and it was great. The noise on the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinciti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is perfect and the view is really beautiful. We stayed there for plenty of days and we did enjoy all of them. The breakfast is really good. It is a medium buffet that has everything. Like in other comments, "Mario" was the best breakfast host we have ever met. The hotel provide access to the beach with free sunbeds and sun-umbrella. The hotel is near to the beach and near to the main road. Despite of the fact that many comments complaining about the noise, it depends from where are you coming from. We are coming from another Mediterranean country and we are used to this kind of noise. Actually we prefer this type of noise because we feel more alive being surrounded by other people instead of being isolated. The hotel is also near to the lift that goes to the city center of Taormina (has many shops, restaurants, bars etc). As far as we know, Taormina has the best nightlife in Sicily.

One disadvantage of the place is that the sea is full with small rocks and it is not so suitable for kids or people like me that love sand beaches.We do not recommend, in general, Taormina for people that love sand beaches.

We recommend this hotel for all kind of tourists (Solo, friends, couples, family etc). It is perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms have great view. All of them have the sea as a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptsougk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#32 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#20 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#50 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendolia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendolia Beach Hotel

Property: Mendolia Beach Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 198, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendolia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mendolia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendolia Beach Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing