We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in May 2014”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in May. The hotel is situated in the most convenient place in Taormina. Firstly, it's very near the main street Corso Umberto. Secondly, it's quite high, so you get a breathtaking view to the town, sea and Etna from the terrace. It's a shame, that the weather for us was not so good, a bit rainy and cloudy, so I'm sure the view is even much more better when it's sunnier.
We have chosen the cheapest room with no view, but luckily got a room with a very small balcony and a view to a beautiful garden. It was nice. We also had the luck to find a free parking lot, although the hotel has only three of them. The room was ok, furniture not so new, but for the price we got, it was better then we expected. Although I would suggest to bring your own hairdryer, as I haven't seen such an old and strange one never before. It looked more like a vacuum cleaner.
Staff were very nice and welcoming. Breakfast also good, with much choice of fruit, berries, etc. Overall a nice stay at Taormina, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ieva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 582 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very friendly staff greeted us. Had a lovely room with balcony and view. Hotel is well situated and the views from the terrace are amazing. Would stay there again but only for a short time. The breakfast was adequate but not very imaginative. Would prefer a hotel with a pool in the summer time!! However my friends and I had a wonderful time and would like to thank the staff again for being very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have comfortable chairs and wonderful views although on our side we did not face the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Has a 60s to 70s feel to it and although a bit worn on the edges serves a traveller well. Beautifully located and centrally to the main drag through taormina. A large patio overlooking the town and mt Etna will keep you occupied for more than a glance. The breakfast was only run of the mill though. Still a winner even if only for the value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkadiusz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here 5 nights and we are very happy that we booked this hotel. The view on the terrace is amazing, and the room is very nice too. We had a great stay with no problems. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennwinslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is a little hard to find but it is in a great location. Walk don three flights and you are in the center of town. Rooms are above average. the breakfast room is quite nice and the service was slow but good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jklein50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had a very good short stay at this hotel. Room was clean, and bed big enough for baby to sleep in the middle comfortable. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is in the centre of Taormina and it does not have to many steps, so it was usually accessible with a pushchair. Parking in Taormina is bad, however there is a public carpark nearby which comes at a reasonable price considering the location. Will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zijadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The main advantage of the place is its location just a little outside the tourist crowds. Settled on the slopes of a hill, the terrace has just great views on Etna and relaxed chairs and beds to chill. Just some 20 steps from the base floor down you find yourself next to best restaurants in town.

The rooms are fine and comfortable for stay. City parking is 5min by foot, very handy.

Highly suggested!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Beatriise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#16 of 87 in Taormina
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Dionisio I nr. 2/A, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $75 - $1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality, courtesy and willingness to satisfy our clients’ requests are the strong point of the hotel. Whoever chooses Hotel Continental chooses tradition, tranquillity and the certainty of receiving first-class individual treatment.This warm and welcoming hotel is situated in the heart of the town, just a few steps from the hotel you will find the main street Corso Umberto and the Duomo square. Those who love Taormina can easily reach their favourite shop, restaurant or pub by using the hotel’s practical garden gate exit.There is a splendid view to be enjoyed of the bay of Naxos and Etna from the solarium terrace which will leave you bewitched.Bedrooms have bath or shower, telephone, mini-fridge, electronic safe, centralised air-conditioning, TV with satellite channels, hairdryer. Most have private balconies or small terraces.Internet point in the lobby and WIFI connection free of charges in the lounge-bar and terrace.From May to September, there is a shuttle-bus (to pay on spot) service to the beach, which connects the hotel to the main bathing lidos on the seashore."Porta Catania Park" is a multi storey car park close to the hotel only 300 meters from the property.Extra charge fee requested to be paid on spot.We accept major credit cards, including the Japanese circuit JCB cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing