We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has it all”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We really like this hotel. The Room was very Spacious with terraces. Breakfast very good I loved the ricotta and Nutella for breakfast though I wasn’t impressed with the coffee. The Hotel has parking for 3-4 cars so if lucky you can find parking in front the hotel and we were lucky twice. The staff is very professional, they speak very good English. The views of this Hotel are stunning. We would definitely stay in this hotel again… again and again.

Room Tip: We had a Triple room for the price of Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malteser_Wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

Entering the lobby was like stepping back into the 1950s. The decor and the furniture have clearly seen better days. Our room was similarly dated and a bit tatty e.g. the paint on the metal casement windows was peeling off. However, apart from the shower being too small (and I'm not large), it was comfortable enough. We had a balcony that overlooked the slightly-shabby garden,
However, the staff were all very helpful, the breakfasts were good and the terrace lovely. What's more, there was free wifi with decent bandwidth.
Location is good - a few steps above Corso Umberto, with plenty of good restaurants nearby.
We stayed at The Continental as part of a small multi-centre Headwater Holidays group so can't comment on value for this specific hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

i stayed at the hotel with my wife and another couple, the view from the roof is excellent , rooms are clean , and most of all the staff are great and helpfull . i recomand to stay at the continental hotel because it is good value for your money.

Room Tip: rooms that have the garden view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davzam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have delayed writing this review because of possible renovations upcoming to the hotel in the future. I have stayed at this hotel twice, the first time as part of a group tour of Sicily in 2008 and more recently in May 2010 (please excuse the fact that I had to select a different month and year from the "when did you travel" option). The service of the staff is excellent, very friendly and personal, particularly the whole Di Pasquale family. They go out of their way to make the stay very relaxing. Even though it is an older, basic hotel, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The view from the very large balcony is nothing short of breathtaking - the sea and town of Naxos, Mt.Etna, the town and Corso Umberto below, and the mountain and a mountaintop town above. The included breakfast is more than adequate (the blood orange juice is yummy). Compared to other more exclusive hotels in this expensive tourist town, I would return to stay at the Hotel Continental any time I visit Taormina. All I need is a comfortable bed, a place to relax, and a staff that caters to my every need.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We visited this hotel just after Easter 2012 and had a very enjoyable week. Our room was clean with comfortable beds, good clothes storage and plenty of room for the two of us. The bathroom was a good size and newly fitted with a shower over the bath which worked very well. We had a small balcony with a table and two chairs, with a view of the town and the bay .. The staff were very friendly and helpful particularly the young lady receptionist. who helped arrange trips and printed out bus timetables for us. If you have an early start she will arrange a small breakfast in the bar [ coffee and croissants]. There was an excellent choice at the main breakfast buffet and good coffee.. The hotel is very near to the centre of Taormina , through the garden and down some steps to the main pedestrian street with lots of restaurants. My friend and I were very pleased with this hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel is quite avarage but it somehow the best one can get in such an expensive location at a convenient price.
My room was furnished with very old stuff; the bathroom was tiny, unconfortable with a little shower that fitted me just because I'm a S-size! The most annoying thing was the shower tent which glued to my body every time I took a shower!
Despite all that I had a balcony with a view on the Etna volcano...but it was from the wide common terrace that the view was absolutely stunning!
The staff was friendly and helpful.
They had an exceptional shuttle service to 2 beaches: € 8-10 journey-back + longchair and umbrella on the beach!
The location is charming: by a few stairs you are in Corso Umberto, the very heart of Taormina. Anyway a taxi or private car is required to reach the hotel if travelling with heavy luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElianaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We recently visited Taormina which is an amazing place on top of a hill overlooking the sea and Etna. As such, it is supposed to be probably the poshest place in Sicily. Hotel Continental was the most economic option, yet it was exactly what we were looking for. It is true that it is a basic hotel, with mediocre rooms and no real decoration or character. Yet it has an amazing terrace where you can also have breakfast and a very very helpful personnel. osomeone who wants to experience a posh lifestyle, the Exelsior palace in Taormina would definitely be better, yet for us who wouls rather stay in a basic hotel in Taormina vs a better one in Catania or Messina, it was an ideal option, To note that parking in Taormina is forbidden everywhere for non-residents and you have to allow for an extra ~10Euros for overnight parking in a big parking lot. The hotel has no parking, yet they give you a stamped token that you stayed in the hotel whihc entitels you to 40% dicount on the parking

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atouba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#15 of 87 in Taormina
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Dionisio I nr. 2/A, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $73 - $1,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality, courtesy and willingness to satisfy our clients’ requests are the strong point of the hotel. Whoever chooses Hotel Continental chooses tradition, tranquillity and the certainty of receiving first-class individual treatment.This warm and welcoming hotel is situated in the heart of the town, just a few steps from the hotel you will find the main street Corso Umberto and the Duomo square. Those who love Taormina can easily reach their favourite shop, restaurant or pub by using the hotel’s practical garden gate exit.There is a splendid view to be enjoyed of the bay of Naxos and Etna from the solarium terrace which will leave you bewitched.Bedrooms have bath or shower, telephone, mini-fridge, electronic safe, centralised air-conditioning, TV with satellite channels, hairdryer. Most have private balconies or small terraces.Internet point in the lobby and WIFI connection free of charges in the lounge-bar and terrace.From May to September, there is a shuttle-bus (to pay on spot) service to the beach, which connects the hotel to the main bathing lidos on the seashore."Porta Catania Park" is a multi storey car park close to the hotel only 300 meters from the property.Extra charge fee requested to be paid on spot.We accept major credit cards, including the Japanese circuit JCB cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing