We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Rupilio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Rupilio
Ranked #103 of 112 Taormina B&B and Inns
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    8
    13
    76
See reviews for
10
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I had booked 2 nights at this B & B - quite honestly I could not have stayed an hour. Some confusion when we arrived as we were offered a room with shared bathroom and we had booked a double room with private bathroom. The rooms offered were of very poor quality - website very misleading! We told the owners unfortunately we couldn't accept the accommodation as it was not suitable, we think they understood. Continental Hotel just up the hill with allocated parking came to the rescue. We were surprised that accommodation of this poor quality in this rather beautiful location is on offer to the traveller.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Staff did not speak english at all and tried to have a forced conversation into italian but we could not really understand anything. Breakfast is poor as well. Literally a cappuccino with counted bisciuts. Homemade cake was nice.
Shared bathroom was shameful: old, not very clean and to be shared among 3 bedrooms at least.
The only highlight are its very central position, within walking distance from Porta Catania car parking. This is the place to stay max 1 night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a week long here.
Note that Taormina is expensive it's a tiny "Paris-Venice" concerning the price and a busy tourism-magnet.
But this B&B is a nice one. Important to know it's not the tidiest but compared to the town's expensive accomodation prices it's a nice price. The family that owns the house where there are these 4-5 rooms to rent is a sweet REAL out-of-the-movies sicilian family with two 30 something sons a real Mamma and a Papa who's sitting at the living room of their flat at the same sofa all day with the windowshutters closed and he is obviously the head of the family. The Mamma is very nice and helpful, the two brothers are funny and helpful. The Father helped us immediately when we asked a day before we wanted to modify the checkout time so wencan leave rather a day earlier he talked to the guys at the bookingcompany and didnt ask no modification fee. The friendliest hosts ever.
The breakfast is on the rooftop balcony facing the Etna and the sea, the breakfast itself is very few and not so delicate though.
Altgether it's on the best spot of the town and the hostfamily compensates for every little con on the pros vs. cons list.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumukliboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taormina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

No parking! Staff does not speak a word in English. Customers supposed to understand their Italian. Cappucino for breakfast was likely made from Nescafe instant coffee. Rooms are terrible: old furniture, towels were like rags for washing the floor. Some people might say, that we got what we paid for, but it isn't so true, as other b&B in Sicily for the same price were much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Absolutely terrible!!!! Worst place I have ever stayed at. Please just take my word for it and not stay! Bedding and towels awful, bathroom floods into corridor (if there happens to be some hot water), not security, keys fit all rooms. Dirty, uncomfortable, Man made me feel yuck, terrible!!!!

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitabellMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We booked Casa Rupilio in last minute due to the volcanic ash that our schedule was delayed for a week. It's very cheap, only EU39 for a private room on the ground floor. The room is a bit small but clean and basic. The owner always has a smile on her face. And we had dinner in the B&B that night with uni spaghetti, deep fried squid, vegetables, bread, wine, coffee, cookies... very yummy, which is much cheaper than the restaurants in Taormina worth for it. It is good to stay if you are just visiting Taormina for 1-2 days but not for long vocation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parastoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Danuzza
B&B Danuzza
#89 of 112 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taormina Bed and Beercraft
Taormina Bed and Beercraft
#49 of 112 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Malandrina Apartments & Suites
0.0 mi away
B&B Dionisio
B&B Dionisio
#8 of 112 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rupilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rupilio

Property: Casa Rupilio
Address: Via C. S. Rupilio 2, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Rupilio 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The casarupilio b and b is a cosy bed and breakfast in Taormina the beautiful Sicilian city that faces the Mediterranean Sea famous for its ancient Greek Theatre and for being just a short drive away from Europe'S largest active volcano Mount Etna.This great b and b in Taormina offers budget accommodation,ideal for leisure tourists looking for inexpensive accommodation in Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Casa Rupilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rupilio Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing