We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive Eatery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tavernetta

La Tavernetta
Ranked #73 of 258 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impressive Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place was certainly among the best of the restuarants that we visited during our stay in Taormina. The waiter was friendly, and particularly impressive (and clearly well versed) when conversing with my father over which wine would be most highly recommended. The food was lovely, and all in all it was a very satisfying experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    93
    31
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very expensive catch of the day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

After being welcomed in a very friendly manner by the waiter who advised us what to eat, we were very disappointed when we received the bill. It turned out to be that 'the a-catch of the day which was very very fresh and suprisingly tasteful' costed 32 euros for 1 person. For this price, my husband received an indeed very fresh tuna however only 4 (!) slices. This price is exuberant even for a place like Taormina. We had the impression the restaurant was taking advantage of the fact that these suggestions were not on the menu and hence tourists don't know the exact price. On the other hand I must say food was delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First night and perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

First night in Sicily and on the advice of the Monte Tauro Hotel receptionist we dined at La Tavernetta.
Arrived quite early for us but managed to get a table outside on the steps, No17.
Very entertaining view over the other tables!

The staff were all very pleasant and happily and with gusto explained the vagaries of the menu, which was not overwhelming. A good sign we felt not filling pages but rather being certain of the food on offer.
I had the Peppered Steamed Mussels to begin, these were served with very sturdy croutons of locally baked bread. The broth the mussels were served in was wonderfully garlicky and contained slivers of tomato. A delight!
My wife began with a wonderful dish of aubergine, grilled and served with cheese that was melted throughout the slices of aubergine.
Again this was delicious, to the degree that I as a normally non-aubergine lover am now fully converted!
My main course was a fillet steak 'Sicilian' style.
This mean't perfectly cooked rare, sliced and layers of aubergine layered into the sliced steak.
The whole thing was again beautifully garlicky, if that's an issue then you're probably in the wrong country.
Tracey's main was pasta with an almond, mint and basil pesto.
Again very very tasty.
The whole meal was accompanied by a bottle of 2011 Carusu red wine. At 13.5 % and travelling all the way from the slopes of Mount Etna it was a very pleasant companion.
We both agree this may have been one of the best meals we've ever had in a restaurant.
A good start to a holiday and a very good chance we'll be back there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TandABainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pasta with Tuna Ragu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our intrepid group of eight stumbled upon La Tavernetta late one evening. Without a reservation I inquired whether we might be accommodated. Within minutes three tables were pulled together, and we were seated for a delightful meal. Eliseo began our service and made sure we had good local Sicilian wine, and then Sr. Antonio took over--the beginning of a worthwhile culinary experience.

We were "rowdy Americans" but they rolled with it in Sicilian style, serving more wine and making sure we tried the specials...One of which was fresh pasta served with a tuna ragu. It was breathtaking. Excellent!

Terrific and accommodating service, wonderful food...Find your way to La Tavernetta in Taormina! Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quality food, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We found La Tavernetta by chance and decided to have lunch there. We were seated outside in the beautiful cobbled stone, stepped, street with the air full of the smell of blossom of the orange trees planted along the length of the street.
The choice of food on the menu was good and the quality excellent. Yes, it was a little more expensive than an average and, yes, the portions were not of the super sized variety! But if you want a relaxed meal, with quality food and wine then I recommend a visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavernetta also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to La Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing