We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good dinner..”
Review of La Tavernetta

La Tavernetta
Ranked #84 of 263 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good dinner..”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

..after we waited a little bit for a table and a little more to break the ice with the staff, initially a bit cold. At 95 ear I guess it's on the average for a good dinner in Taormina. Staff was very flexible to handle some other difficult customers that were there upon recommendations form friends. Overall I suggest the place and I will come back when I have a chance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    93
    31
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb location service and food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Good advice and not pushy to up sell more expensive options. Situated on steps so no passing traffic. Good decor and clean. Tables linen clean and fresh. All round a good find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“High class dining”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Not the cheapest restaurant but the quality of the food and the service far excelled the price. Nice location.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great fish, relaxing location”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

La Tavernetta was recommended by the hotel receptionist and we were glad we checked it out. From the Via Teatro Greco go down some steps on your right hand side and you will find it's tables on the sidewalk away from the busy Corso Umberto. We ordered some pecorino cheese with orange slices as appetizer which was enough to share. I had the pumpkin gnocchi which was light and tasty. My wife had the roasted sea bass with spinach which was the best of our stay in Sicily. Very fresh and tasty. Pistachio semifreddo for dessert, prosecco. We spent about 90 euros plus tip, so we felt it was a reasonable price for the quality. You may want to skip dessert and go for Roberto's cannoli a few meters away. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Rbferre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed ...”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our expectations of this restaurant were high, as the menu looked delicious and the setting was lovely with candles sparkling which created a lovely ambience.
The wine selection was good, and we give full marks for the red and white wines we chose.
However, the food seemed to let us down, we started with the lobster tagliatelle, which was OK, but the main course of lamb with rosemary was poorly cooked, and really quite tough and in a dreadful salty gravy that tasted like a stock cube! so so disappointing.... we may have found them on an 'off' night... I do hope so

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavernetta also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to La Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing