We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in a 5 day stay in Taormina!”
Review of Osteria Da Rita

Osteria Da Rita
Ranked #22 of 263 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Borrisokane, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best food in a 5 day stay in Taormina!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We wandered down a little back street on the day we arrived desperately hungry a 3pm but everywhere was shut but this gem was open! Friendly staff, cute setting and great food! We are not big fish or seafood eaters and struggled food wise in Taormina and over our 5 day stay our meal in this little restaurant was the best meal we had. Loved it. Simple, but VERY tasty!

Helpful?
Thank Jellybabycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    205
    55
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
giovanna10028
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food we had in Italy.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We traveled in Tuscany and Sicily for two weeks and had many delicious meals but this was by far the best. This is a family run trattoria in the center of town. The classic bruschetta was fabulous with ultra ripe tomatoes and perfect seasoning. We had the mussels in a tomato and garlic broth and my friend had swordfish with capers and olives. Friendly and accommodating service and very reasonable prices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank giovanna10028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Just OK...”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Nice location, great atmosphere, good portions and slightly cheaper than other places.

However I must have been there on an off night because they had next to nothing left in the kitchen so menu was very restricted. Delicious bruschetta but not much else available.

The service was patchy. It took so long for us to get the bill that my wife just went back to the hotel, then when the bill arrived they wouldn't accept credit or debt cards. I then had to call my wife, get her to come back and give me some cash! Was not impressed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 888Hello888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent pizzas”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really enjoyed this simple but very good restaurant, and had great pizza. Try the Etna pizza, which was the best we've had. Very friendly and reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAJGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The bruschetta here was the best I have ever had. My wife is lactose intolerant and the waitress was very accommodating and made a special dish just for her. The pizza was also amazing and they provided a delicious shot of limoncello with the check to top it all off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GdenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Da Rita also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Osteria Da Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing