We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”
Review of Residence Schuler

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taormina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residence Schuler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had decided to holiday in Sicily and after many hours of trawling through websites and issuing emails I stumbled accross Residence Schuler... firstly I was impressed with how quickly Claudio replied. We had planned to stay in Taormina for 4 nights before heading to the South of the island. Claudio was able to rent us Apartment C.

The Apartment is tricky to locate but if you follow the detailed directions which Claudio provides then you should be fine (just prepare yourself for some narrow streets, very sharp turns and steep climbs)... If you think you have made a mistake you can always call Claudio and he will come and help but we managed it without any trouble.

The apartment was excellent and provided everything you would need for a fantastic stay in Taormina. The Kitchen was great, and the master bedroom had a wonderful view first thing in the morning

As testiment to how good this was...We stayed in a variety of places whilst on Sicily and we both agreed this is the place we would go back to, the location, the views, the town of Taormina were all simply excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Residence Schuler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in Apartment D in August. It was very well equipped with everything you could need - it also has 2 bathrooms which was unexpected - also the showers are very large for Sicily! The balcony is spectacular, looking out towards the sea and towards Etna. Claudio is very helpful and unobtrusive - he gave us a great introduction to Taormina and organised a beach trip for us to a very nice private beach. The supermarket is very handy and the steps are not as bad as everyone says! Location is very central while being quiet. Wifi was available in the front rooms which was fine. Would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Large terrace overlooking the Ionian Sea and Mt Etna. Super clean well organized vacation apartment. 10 minute walk to the center of Taormina, 3 minutes from a supermarket. Our gracious host, Claudio even met us on his scooter to escort us the property. This was a wonderful stop for us in the middle of a busy travel schedule. This apartment had everything you would want or need placed exactly where you would want it, kitchen tools, laundry facilities, outdoor dining table, sun chairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathychiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just got married in Taormina and needed somewhere for my family and friends to stay. I picked Residence Schuler as it is close to the Corso Umberto and has separate apartments, which ment the different family's could stay in their own apartments yet we were all in the same building.
Claudio is more than helpful and a gentleman.
All of the apartments are brilliant with breathtaking views.
One night we had music and food in the bigger apartment type C, it was perfect.
There is a supermarket just down the road. The walk up can be steep for some people however everywhere you go in Taormina can be steep so there is no avoiding this unless you stay right on the Corso Umberto.
If I was having a family holiday here again I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachwalker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Walk from your spacious apartment on to your private terrace and there lies the Ionian Sea below, turn your face to the right and Mt Etna towers above. All around range the well-manicured gardens of the proprietor, Claudio Schuler, whose grandfather built the residence as the family villa in the early 20th century as well as founding the Schuler Hotel. Such a pleasant prospect might, in making one less forlorn, prove enough for many a seasoned traveler - Christain or pagan - in most vacation lodgings; just being in one of the ancient beauty spots of Sicily - Taormina. But, there is much more on offer. The interior of the apartment we had, Apt. B, was as comfortable as being at home, each with our own bedroom, double closet space in the companionway between, a roomy bath, and a very large living-dining- kitchen area, one with excellent counter areas for meal preparation. Immediately off the terrace, was a small washing machine room. Wifi in the living room and on the terrace was good, Skype connection included. Your host Claudio is a true gentleman who will answer all travel related questions and, living on the property, will quickly address any issue. The location is residential and as such is quiet. It is but a short walk and down to enter on a street of several restaurants and a very good small supermarkert. From there it is one block more to the entry way to the old part of the city with the Greco Roman amphitheater at the furthest end.

One last note: In counterpoint to another's negative evaluation of the host's deportment in "the hospitality stakes": My companion and I found Claudio to be a wonderful host, friendly and open to conversation if given an invitation. The guest has to take the initiative and demonstrate an openness to a further social contract, but should never be surprised - let alone feel rebuffed - if a host demurs. Besides attending to other pressing business, proprietors of guest houses must and should maintain a professional distance from the client, but when issued a suitable sociable invitation, most, I have found, respond. Claudio, in our experience, was no exception; he is a truly engaging and affable gentleman, and one who was scrupulously respectful of our privacy. We spent eight days here, and Claudio's residence is the first place I will consider for lodging if I should return to Taormina. I doubt I could locate a finer prospect or a finer host!

Room Tip: Apartment B if you are a couple, or if simply friends. There are two bedrooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Apartment E was a perfect spot for two couples for a week in Taormina. The property is spotless, kitchen well equipped, balcony small but with lovely views. Senor Schuler even supplied a hair dryer which I requested in advance! The building is difficult to find, and he also rescued us our first evening when we were unable to locate it in the dark. He came on his motorbike and had us follow him in our car. He was also available for other questions as they arose, but was unobtrusive otherwise. The building is close to a Supermercato, and the Corso Umberto, but you must be fit, as the steps and sloping road can be challenging to climb. The beds and pillows were not the most comfortable of our trip, but the air conditioning was a definite plus. From Taaormina we took a tour of Syracuse and Noto, a bus ride up to Castelmola, the cable car down to the beach, and Senor Schuler arranged a bus trip to another beach (quite rocky, though) where lounge chairs and umbrellas were provided. We'd recommend Residence Schuler to anyone planning a stay in Taormina.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank JoandNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We always book family run properties, whether they are hotels or apartment type rentals. The reason is that we have found the hospitality, care and attention offered across the world by family run establishments to be great. We stayed in apt. A. The apartment was nice, the terrace great and the views spectacular. It had everything we needed except for a hairdryer and a kettle, but that wasn’t really a big problem. The owner Claudio met us when we arrived and talked us through the facilities and keys. He waived the charge for the Air Con which was much appreciated. He talked us through a map of the town explaining where the bus and cable car locations where.
We had a couple of occasions to ring him for help (Air Con and oven operation) and he came and sorted them for us. We did try to strike up a conversation a couple of times but it was evident that he really wasn’t interested. We have no complaints about the apartment facilities or price but we found Claudio to be sadly lacking in the hospitality stakes, more like a caretaker than a host of a property. We felt he had absolutely no interest is us as his guests. On our last day we explained that we would be leaving early around 8am the next morning for the airport and would leave the keys in the apt. He said he would see us that evening to say goodbye. We never saw his again. What a difference to Leo, our host the week before in Castellammare Del Golfo who actually got up a 6am (unprompted) to say thank you for choosing his apt. and wished us Bon Voyage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annmarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#9 of 87 in Taormina
1,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#27 of 87 in Taormina
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#25 of 87 in Taormina
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Schuler

Address: Via Otto Geleng 34, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Taormina
Price Range: $111 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Schuler is an apartment house with garden and open view to the sea and Mount Etna, located on a small hill in a residential area in Taormina, only 4 minutes walking distance from central Corso Umberto (pedestrian area of Taormina) and 3 minutes only from the supermarket and the nearest restaurants. Five spacious apartments for two up to seven persons, fully furnished, with independent entrance, central heating, air conditioning, bathrooms with bathtub or shower, kitchen, large living room, terrace with flowers or garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing