We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Unpretenious Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Il Baccanale

Trattoria Il Baccanale
Ranked #107 of 257 Restaurants in Taormina
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Friendly Unpretenious Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We dined here three times during our two week stay in Taormina and found the food and friendly staff kept us coming back.

Elena, who originates from Cuba was very welcoming and always had a big smile on her face, a really lovely lady. She recommended a white wine - Regalilia which we found to be just what was required to accompany their delicious chicken dish. The portions were very generous and a complimentary bruscetta was delicious and ample for a starter. They also do lovely little baked potatoes in foil to accompany chicken, veal or beef.

The restaurant is located just off the taxi station on the Corso Umberto where a lower road slopes down to the right. Keep walking down the road past La Botte restaurant and Baccanale is the next restaurant down from there.

We found our dining experiences good and would consider visiting again when next in Taormina.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SauvignonBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    108
    71
    39
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The black mussels in tomato sauce are the best we have ever tried... An absolute must. On a quieter street, friendly service and passable inglesie!

The free cherry almond liqueur to finish was a nice touch. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiMark69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dishonest”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Food is not that much, just average for Sicily standards. When we tried to pay in different credit cards, they invented a story that once a receipt is issued, allegedly by law, only one credit card is allowed to be used for payment. They transferred the problem of dividing the bills to us, as they said that "the problem is solved if you pay to your colleague in effective". I don't know which cost or tax they are trying to evade by inventing this, but it was a dishonest attitude, followed by a rude way of transferring the problem they created to us. What made it even more dishonest was the fact that, previously, we have alerted them that some items we have consumed were missing in the bill. Absurd...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JSilva_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good choice for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very typical Italian restaurant. Good food at a reasonable price. The location of the restaurant is perfect - just off the busy Corso Umberto - so you do not need to walk far after your midday walk and shopping.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
287 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere off the crowded streets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you want to relax a bit and find a restaurant off the beaten track, this is a good choice. We stopped for lunch and were seated outdoors. Being in the backstreets you will not get the scenic view so famous in Taormina, but places like this is less crowded. The street was not busy, but the unavoidable scooters disturbed some of the quietness. The menu is fairly varied and we had no problems finding something light with a tomato salad to go with it. The service was fast and the waiter very friendly. We can recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Torger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Il Baccanale also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Trattoria Il Baccanale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing