We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!’”
Review of Spizzuliamu

Spizzuliamu
Ranked #101 of 843 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Strolling around beautiful Ortigia I came across this lovely place! I saw the ‘Trip Advisor’ recommended sign and thought I would give it a try!
Delicious food at reasonable prices! The house wine is also very good! So much so I had dinner there for the rest of my three night stay!
The staff are pleasant and work extremely hard!
The only thing I was not happy with .... on my last night, I was sat on an outside table alone, a 70 year old lady enjoying my meal and watching the passers by, chatting to fellow diners, having a wonderful evening!
People were queuing for tables!
A waitress presented me with the my bill and made it very clear that she wanted me to leave as soon as possible for other waiting customers.
The family on the next table to me commented as to how rude she was to me!
I hadn’t finished my wine and she did not offer me the opportunity to order ‘dolce ‘ from the menu!
Hence my reason for not giving an ‘excellent rating’.
Fortunately it was my last night as because of her rudeness I would not have patronised them again!!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 79JenniferH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 754 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

We ate here on our first night in Syracuse having got off a plane starving and late at night.

We had the Parmagiana to start which was good and made us feel better. For mains I had the swordfish with trofie, a local pasta type, which was tasty and filling. My girlfriend had the gnocchi with seafood which she rated as one of her favourite dishes of the holiday in the end.

We returned for a quick meal before leaving syracuse at lunch. I had the pistachio pesto with cream which was good. She had the salad which was quite average so I'd recommend sticking to the pasta.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank jb50065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

Decided to pick a restaurant on general feel and did we make a good choice. Managed to get a table in the street down a small alley. Great atmosphere and a good vibe. Wife had mushroom risotto and I had pasta with anchovies, breadcrumbs etc. Thoroughly enjoyed my meal but wife’s risotto was slightly salty to her taste. Wine at €5 for half a carafe and value for money food made for a great evening. Would happily return.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank boydm321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

Very beautiful restaurant. Very good food and a very nice house white wine.
Friendly and good service.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank PSt-Dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

The food was delicious. The staff is very kind and helpful. The waiting time between the courses was average. Had a pleasant time.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank molnardaniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spizzuliamu also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Spizzuliamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing