We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total mismanagement.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Hotel - B&B Airone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aurora Hotel - B&B Airone
Ranked #72 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total mismanagement.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Beautiful location with rooms over-looking the sea.
However, rooms very spartan with broken bathroom fittings and mould all around shower.
Air conditioning and TV did not work. Two bedside lights broken.
When mentioned to receptionist, she just slung her handbag over her shoulder and said 'I'm off!' And disappeared for the night!
Nice breakfast area but we were given vouchers for cafe in square about 5 minute walk, to get breakfast - one pastry and one cup of coffee each.
This hotel could be a real gem - needs complete overhaul.
Advertised as 3-star and @ €110 per night?? (Expedia) More like a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    21
    20
    42
See reviews for
17
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last minute for just one night. We are not picky travellers so are very happy with the most basic of accommodations.

The building is grand and with some modernisation and care it could be a great basic B and B. As it stands, the bedrooms were dirty, particularly the bathroom and the walls are in serious need of a fresh coat of paint. At 65 euros we did not expect anything grand but cleanliness is surely the most important thing for accommodation! The shower was particularly disgusting with mould growing inside and the doors could not be shut properly so soaking the whole bathroom.

The saving grace was that the owner (I think) was kind enough to meet us when we couldn't find the location. However aside from that she was quite grumpy and abrasive.

It's a shame that a place with such potential has been left to become a bit grimy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ezNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Syracuse hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We didn't book this place ahead of time and instead looked up a couple of places in our guidebook before arriving in Siracusa. We got dropped off at the bus station and then made the trek over to Ortigia, which isn't very close by. This was the first of the places we'd picked out from the book (based on price mostly as we were on a budget) and so we went to check if they had availability.

The place is a bit difficult to find. It is located at the end of a very narrow street, by the water. Our guidebook listed it as B&B Airone, but their sign said Aurora Hotel. Their buzzer lists a button for Aurora Hotel as well as a separate one for B&B Airone. The man working there was friendly and spoke English. He showed me a couple of the rooms. We decided on the cheaper of the two (the more expensive one had an oceanview that we figured we didn't need).

The room itself was spacious, especially compared to what we'd already seen in Italy. We had a room on the 2nd floor and it appears that this floor was once a wealthy person's house. The ceilings were very high and ornately decorated. It was a nice touch. The furnishings were basic but functional. Breakfast was included, but was served at a cafe down the street in the Piazza Archimedes.

As for the negatives - as other reviews mentioned, you cannot flush toilet paper down the toilet and it must be put in the wastebasket, but I've noticed this to be common around many of the older buildings in Sicily. There also was no hot water at all. There was no wifi or if there was, we weren't told about it. We had to use internet cafes in town instead. The lights in the hotel seem to be motion activated and will come on as you enter. The lights in the entrance are not however, and making it up the stairs in the dark was tricky. There is no elevator so keep that in mind if you have a lot of luggage. Also, at night there is no light by the reception door and we had to use a cellphone to light up the keyhole.

While there were quite a few negatives, this is a decent place for backpackers. I was very pleased that the person who initially checked us in quoted a price per night and then wrote it down and when it came to pay the next day, the woman (who I think must be the owner) read it as a different price and actually gave us back some money. She said "that's what the price says here, so that's what you'll pay". Come here looking for a bed. Just don't expect anything fancy. I probably wouldn't pay the high season price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topaz_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Firstly, this hotel evidently used to be lovely. Nice old building right on the sea front with great views over the Mediterranean and a great location right in the middle of the Ortigia.
After this however the hotel goes downhill badly. Walking up to the hotel at night (it being on the first floor of the building) was a struggle as the stairway was not lit, and the only way to open the door to the hotel was to illuminate the lock with my phone. Our room was in desperate need of redecoration and had almost none of the features promised, for example, no television, no internet connection and no minibar. The curtains didn't close properly over the window leading to an early morning once we finally got to sleep thanks to the noisey and wobbly bed. Then there was the bathroom...a grimy tap over the sink, mould all round the shower, very variable water temperature and pressure and a toilet which you are not allowed to flush toilet paper down, instead we were prvided with a tiny, broken childrens bin.
It really is such a shame because the staff on the whole weren't too bad and the hotel has such promise. We can't comment on breakfast beacuse we just wanted to get out as quickly as possible and so booked a room in another hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

In the heart of Otriga, with maximum 10 min walking to all the major sights. The rooms are amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiBjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We arrived at the Aurora at 10.45pm having travelled by train. The taxi dropped us at a very unpromising and almost anonymous front door where we were unable to raise any response. We telephoned the hotel but the number was unobtainable and we hammered on the door (getting desperate now).

After 15 minutes we called into the neigbhouring Livingstone Hotel where the staff couldn't have been more helpful but were also unable to contact the Aurora by telephone. Eventually they found us a B & B room elsewhere for the night at a cost of 90 Euros which we accepted assuming the Aurora had gone out of business.

In the morning it transpired that the Aurora is still in business and couldn't explain why we had been unable to get in the previous evening. (We received an apology from the member of staff on duty and later in the week secured a refund of the 90 Euros from the proprietor).

Regrettably we spent the rest of the holiday in the Aurora as we had paid in advance for our stay. We had a room with a sea view which was spacious and had once been elegant. It is now just plain run down and shabby. The biggest problem was that the ceiling was falling on to the bed so we asked for an alternative room as we didn't fancy a ceiling collapse during the night. A neighbouring room was provided.

The new room appeared adequate, however, the toilet leaked onto the floor because the pedestal was not adequately fixed and was mobile. There was no plug for the basin and the light fitting over the basin showed bare wiring. The mini-bar fridge also leaked onto the floor periodically.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel once because it was so inadequate and mean in both substance and presentation. We didn't bother complaining because the management clearly have no concept of three star service. We simply breakfasted in a local cafe.

The internet access was restricted to the reception area only.

We identified two positives, the first was the one helpful member of staff who looked after us when we sought help and also gave advice on local amenities and transport etc. His presence made the stay bearable and he possibly is the reason so many guests stay despite the appalling facilities and lack of hospitality which smacks of exploitation.

The second positive is the outstanding location with stunning sea view including sunrise over the sea and easy access to all the facilities of the Ortiega. (There are plenty of other hotels nearby which offer both.)

Definitely not worthy of three stars, Prices should be reviewed and it would make a passable backpackers hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiffy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

It's an alright hotel if looking for faded elegance and the service is quite helpful, but I feel it falls short on aspects such as:

- breakfast...cheapest possible ham and cheese, cereal and hard-boiled eggs pretty much sums it up; they do also provide good croissants/pastries, but it doesn't feel like a proper meal

- luggage storage - there is no dedicated area, you basically leave your things under a table near Reception, which is often left unmanned because there is only one person on duty for most of the day...not exactly a confidence-inspiring measure

- toiletries...like in the case of the breakfast offering, it feels like they went for the absolute cheapest soap & shampoo they could find, public toilet level of quality...

The location and views are excellent and the rooms and common areas are really charming, but overall you can't help but wonder if the prices are kept rather artificially high given what it must cost to run the place...if it were 20 EUR cheaper it would be much easier to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Ortigia Residence
Ortigia Residence
#54 of 74 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mini Hotel B&B Spiraglio
Mini Hotel B&B Spiraglio
#37 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#13 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gran Bretagna Hotel
Gran Bretagna Hotel
#47 of 74 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gargallo
Hotel Gargallo
#25 of 74 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#32 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel - B&B Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel - B&B Airone

Property: Aurora Hotel - B&B Airone
Address: Via della Maestranza 111 | Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel - B&B Airone 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Aurora Hotel - B&B Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Syracuse
Aurora Hotel - B&B Airone Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing