We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, right in the middle of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, right in the middle of town.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed 5 nights earlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it to any friend or family member.

Good central location, we drove to it with no Satnav and found it easily. If you have a car don't pay to park just drive around until you find a white bay, it's free. The hotel is within walking distance to all the main sights in Siracusa and Ortigia. Staff were polite and helpful making good recommendations for restaurants and excursions. They organised a winery tour and tasting for us via email which worked very nicely.

My only criticism is of the air conditioning which is noisy and leaves you feeling very dry come the morning. We tried turning it off and sleeping with the window open but found it too hot in June.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AidenHBBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Aiden and Sarah,
thank you for staying in "my home". I'm happy to know, you enjoyed it so much.
I and all Hotel Cavalieri staff are looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
Kindest regards,
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    112
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
63
375
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We chose this hotel on the basis of the (mostly) good reviews and were not at all disappointed. The location is very convenenient for a short walk over to the sights, shops, and restaurants on Ortigia and is a short drive or taxi ride to the archaeological park with its Greek Theatre and Roman amphitheatre. The only concern we had was parking - we had to search in the streets around the hotel for a space when we came back each evening but luckily always managed to find one. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and very well appointed in a very modern style. Free wi-fi was a welcome provision. The reception area and lounge on the ground floor occupy what was the central courtyard of the building, are stylishly furnished and are covered by a glass atrium. The only minor drawback we encountered was that the window of our room opened out on to a neighbouring courtyard and the windows of the house opposite were uncomfortably close to ours. We kept it shut most of the time. The staff were very helpful and attentive, giving good advice on places to eat for example. They were very efficient and we did not experience the overbearing attitude that other reveiewers have reported. As others have said, the breakfasts were excellent, the best we have come across in Italy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the central courtyard of the hotel. The rooms facing outwards are nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jim,
thank you very much for having taken time to write your positive experience at Hotel Cavalieri. The location of Hotel Cavalieri is ideal since it is just at the border of the pedestrian area (200mt) and less then 2 km from the Archeoligical Park Neapolis. We are sorry that you had to loose time all the evening to search for a parking spot, instead of using one of our private parking spots (charge), we suggested to you at moment of checking in. You have booked a Classic room, which is a standard room; Superior, DeLuxe rooms and the Suite Cavalieri feature better views.
Hope to see you one day again.
All the Best.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was the most expensive night of our fourteen night trip to Sicily and it proved to be a very comfortable, even classy hotel, in an excellent position for exploring the interesting bits of Siracusa which, itself, is a must see if you are visiting this corner of the island.

The room was spacious and well furnished with a large bed and well appointed bathroom and the public areas of the hotel were bright and crisp, with a sort of modern feel.

Breakfast was definitely well above average for Italy with a good choice of continental type offerings, all of high quality. I might have expected some eggs or bacon in such an upmarket hotel which clearly was catering for an international clientele, but that's a small criticism.

The staff were very polite and efficient offering advice on what to see before we'd even thought of asking, checking we'd parked in the best place and helping us unload the car etc. And yet, that very efficiency just seemed a little over the top and tending towards the pompous. About to dive into the breakfast buffet, for example, we were stopped in our tracks by a young lady who insisted she had to explain it to us first!

One thing they might ponder on. I speak a bit of italian, I'm not fluent by any means but can certainly make myself understood and can generally understand what is said to me. On arrival I said, quite well, I thought, "buongiorno, abbiamo prenotato una camera per stasera". No doubt trying to be super-efficient, the two people on reception both replied in English, and so it was on a couple of occasions during our stay. Might just be me, but I thought that was a little patronising.

Overall then, a very nice hotel in a great location with attentive, efficient staff, but could do with being a little more relaxed about it all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Traveller,
thank you for your so detailed review. Hotel Cavalieri prepares for breakfast local Sicilian seasonal items as Sicilian orange juice (from November to May only), mulberries, cherries, medlar, orange blossom and thyme honey, homemade cakes and pastries, pistachio cheese and sausage. Hotel Cavalieri attempts to raise awareness to travelers of local Sicilian products. Maybe it is an issue for someone to give up, for some days, everyday habits, but we think it is more interesting to know Mediterranean traditions and food.
Hotel Cavalieri is a four star superior luxury hotel and for that it is mandatory to offer extraordinary high quality in accomodation and especially in service.
We wish you all the Best and hope to see you again in Siracusa.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A great place to stay with an excellent location towards the old city. Excellent employees always willing to help you out, recommend you some nice restaurants or hand you over the keys to the hotel bikes.
One small specific compliment: The breakfast! Excellent choice and the lady who organizes this has been truly amazing!
We will come back!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the inside square are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilankon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Mr Kon,
thank you for your so fast positive feedback about our breakfast. We actually try to offer a wide buffet breakfast with mainly local seasonal fruits, marmelades, honies,... All the Besto for your future.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Courtesy, efficiency and kindness of the personnel are in sharp contrast with the rudeness and arrogance of the owner. Returning from a walk in the early afternoon, I found the door of my room wide open and all my personal belongings on the bed. I was explained that they needed to take pictures of the room for their internet site and the photographer had only limited time to work. The owner could not even understand the issue of intrusion in my privacy and the fact that he should have asked permission before even touching my personal belongings (including a laptop). Instead he aggressively stated that 'this is his home and he was sure nothing would be stolen' (?!). Unbelievable experience, never happened to me in many years of travelling (I am platinum member of Hilton and Starwood chains, Ambassador member of Intercontinental and gold member of Jumeirah). Such a pity, because position of the hotel is fairly good and rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FabrizioMambrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great staff, fantastic breakfast, great location, just a short walk to Ortigia. Had a room facing the "inside courtyard," and there was lack of daylight which was a bit unfortunate. The room however, was beautiful, clean and large. Would stay here again, but in a room with windows facing the outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Olivia,
thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you stayed with us and are delighted you liked Hotel Cavalieri. I will pass your sentiments to our team as they will really like the feedback you have provided.
All the Best
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We found this hotel through Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. A modernised old building with a quality finish. Breakfasts are dangerous to the waistline as the temptations change each day.

Charming and helpful staff recommended where to eat and what to see in Ortigia - all within 10 minutes walk. There's plenty of local street parking for free at this time of year - though you may have to drive a block or two.

We were travelling as an couple with an adult daughter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9928545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice words and compliments. We hope the rest of your Sicilian Holiday was fine as well.
All the Best,
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.5 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 74 in Syracuse
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 74 in Syracuse
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#9 of 74 in Syracuse
675 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri
Address: Via Malta 42, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#15 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, at the edge of the ancient city center, is a case in point; this old aristocratic residence belongs to a family of architects and designers, who've turned its 19th-century halls and rooms into a charmingly eclectic, thoroughly contemporary boutique hotel. The location, on Via Malta, is just to the mainland side of the bridge to Ortygia, which is the original ancient Greek settlement. This means easy access by day and a measure of peace by night. As does the hotel itself - these old walls shut out the noise, sealing guests in to a fantasy of noble life. It's not a period piece, though; along with the well-preserved original architecture you'll find all manner of contemporary touches, rooms featuring brand-new bath fixtures, beds and electronics and furnished with mid-century design classics. With few rooms it's perhaps a bit bigger than it feels - from within the rooms you'd be hard pressed not to imagine you're the old house's sole resident. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalieri Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing