We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the Rules-Buyer Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had an unfortunate stay at Hotel Cavalieri in late September. We were a group of ten adults traveling together. The Hotel is beautiful, nicely designed and the breakfast is very well done.

BUT, they have rules. And they enforce them. And they are unique and petty. When a guest mentions an objection, the reply is that the rules are on the web site and the guest should have reviewed the before arranging for the room.

While there were rules, there was no porter. Curious.

Some of the rules are announced at arrival, before registration. The three we heard were no smoking (not unusual) no beverages in the room (except water) no food in the room (although they will bring their food and beverages to your room, of course).

These rules and many others are in fact on their web site under "Terms". These particular terms are in section II number 5. There are many rules under section II as well as other sections as well.

One never knows which rules will be enforced. But "if you break it, you bought it" is certainly one of them. One of our friends accidentally broke an unstable lamp in the lobby. His was charged 1/2 of the cost of the 6 year old lamp, $100. Surely it had been fully depreciated in six years.

Note the rules on cancellation, note the rules on ironing in the room. We were not in violation of those particular rules but I would suggest you need to be very aware of them as well.

The paid staff was very polite and helpful. The blonde haired woman who worked the front desk was really quite nice. The owner, I assume that is who is was, is a martinet in my opinion.

So, bottom line after 50 some reviews on Tripadvisor, this is the first hotel I would suggest you skip. We certainly won't return.

It operates more as an upscale and attractive dormitory than a member of the Hospitality Industry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank robertckelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 588 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a room overlooking the central area of the hotel and it was very quiet. The room and bathroom where both a reasonable size and very clean. Hotel interior is typical modern boutique style, clean and sharp. The staff where very helpfully, giving good advise on where to eat and parking places. Parking could be usually found in the side streets, especially by the large car park. Breakfast was the best of the 3 hotels we stayed in on our trip to Sicily. It is an easy walk to Ortigia 10 min, a bit further to the Archeological Park 20 min plus. If you have a car a visit to the Pantalica is well worth it. Re -the comments on food in rooms, this is quite a common rule in the UK and does not cause a problem. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkalot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you for selecting to stay with us. We were glad we could meet your expectations and enjoyed Hotel Cavalieri. We hope we will get to see you back again and soon. We wish you all the Best for Christmas and 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good location, just a few blocks away from the island of Ortigia, where you will find all the touristic sights.
Simple, non-pretentious small hotel, comfortable, clean and quiet. Good size room. Nice bathroom with excellent amenities and very fluffy towels.
The staff was very helpful and pleasant and breakfast was ok.
Wi-fi was free, and parking is on the streets just in front of the hotel.
We surely would recommend this hotel to a friend or stay here again if we happen to come back to Siracusa someday.
.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FromSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at Hotel Cavalieri. It is comments like these that enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights.
Should you decide to re-visit us, please let me know so I can welcome you in person.
Kindest regards
Gianluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel has been well refurbished with nice rooms. The location is convienient to Ortigia, the station and a pleasant walk to the archeological park. However, this is a hotel not a private residence and like the two previous reviewers, I was taken aback by the "NO FOOD" instruction immediately after check in! I am aware that it is good manners not to take food into hotel rooms, but in many years of international travel, I have never been issued with a verbal message like this one. The bar prices are expensive so it is worth going out if you want something to eat or drink!
Some of the hotel staff, particularly the Austrian lady and the porter were wonderful - helpful and friendly, but others seemed quite obsessed with keeping the place in order.
A great place if you are OCD but the ambience didn't make me feel very comfortable!
Finally, the response that was given to a previous reviewer made me anxious about writing this review.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank London1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Yeah, that rule about no food or drinks is annoying...if you're going to have a rule like that, you should have that boldly stated on the hotel website so we don't suddenly get that sprung on us when we check in and have no other options. That's a really cheap move on their part I think.

I had no issues with the room itself and the room was very large and clean. Breakfast was good, and service was decent. I needed an airline ticket that I booked while at the hotel confirmed and the owner was helpful with calling from his cellphone to find out. It's really annoying that even staff members can't make a phone call from the front desk to help you though.

Also, it's about a 10 minute walk to Ortygia, so not the closest but not too far either. Also an easy walk 15 minute walk from the bus and train stations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Wdave37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for appreciating the breadth of our rooms, the cleanliness, and the quality of our breakfast.
I would like to highlight and clarify some issues: hotel General Terms are clearly shown on the website, and also sent along with booking confirmation, hence I do not understand your statement.
It is superfluous to mention that, if you choose a luxury hotel also your standards of social living, lifestyle and manners should have the same level, in compliance with other guests. You should not be surprised when facing elementary rule of civilty and behaviour.
Our receptionists are keen helping our guests with booking restaurants, calling a taxi, and so on. Some of your specific requests are part of our concierge service (extra charge). The problem arised by the fact, that you were not willing to pay for a concierge service.
I leave any other consideration to the attentive reader.
I wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Shown up to our room by receptionist. He was nice - but explained to us the rules/regulations of the house ...don't bring your own food or drinks..... This is a FIRST for me in my years of travels. Felt like I am back at school. But I guess they have their RULES so great he let us know!
The room was average..... the window open up to the slanting part of the roof, so absolutely you can see nothing. I would look for restaurant recommendations elsewhere - seem like all the staff have EXACTLY the same ones to suggest! B/fast was OK - nice touch fresh orange juice. Location is good.
Oh careful bout parking .. they told us no tickets on Sunday.... but we got a ticket:((( in the old part of town.

Room Tip: I think the room we had with not view is 602...so beware of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CaroScriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
We are very pleased to read that you are appreciating our attention and efforts in offering an excellent breakfast buffet: homemade cakes and pastries, seasonal local fruits, fresh Sicilian orange juice, local peculiar cheeses, and other Syracusaen delicacies.
To avoid any misunderstanding, we would like to point out and clarify some inaccuracies: in particular concerning your "personal" interpretation of hotel rules, I consider it superfluous to do any comment, as your judgement speaks for itself.
Your room has a balcony overlooking the roofs of the neighboring buildings and an inner courtyard. Since you have requested explicitly "the most quiet room of the hotel", our staff thought of having done something to grant your request.
To help guests organizing car parking, we advice everybody that in nearby streets, in the appropriate bays bordered by white stripes, parking is free and without any time limit. We do not say that you can park for free everywhere, or that you can access by car, during weekend, the pedestrian island of Ortigia, which is reserved for residents only.
Your stay at Hotel Cavalieri is a moment of relax and experience, guided by particular and sophisticated recommendations of your local hosts. A stay at Hotel Cavalieri is not limited to just an overnight stay, but to experience also unique local food, traditions and lifestyles. Therefore, after a long search carried out by the owners, only a small circle of restaurants to partner with, who represent the best in the city, are recommended to our travellers.
I believe that your feedback is mainly a misunderstanding arising from a not too in-depth knowledge of the English language. It would have been enough to ask for further clarification from the reception staff.
Sure to have removed any doubt in the reader,
Best regards. Gianluca Lo Manto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a good quality hotel located a 15 minute walk from the train and bus stations, and a 5 minute walk to Ortiga. The room is average size for Europe, very clean and up to date. There is a safe and refrigerator, good wifi, AC went on and off one night, but seemed OK. TV has no English channels. The king bed is two twins pushed together, with the seam covered, and the bath is nice with a handheld well-mounted shower. The room I had faced the interior, and I got no outside noise, but there is potential for interior noise (the building itself is converted from a residential property). The check-in person was friendly, and offered a map and suggestions without asking.
The breakfast was good for Europe: meat and cheese plate, fresh fruit, some cake and pastry, with coffee served.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.5 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
617 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri

Address: Via Malta 42, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#18 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $75 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, at the edge of the ancient city center, is a case in point; this old aristocratic residence belongs to a family of architects and designers, who've turned its 19th-century halls and rooms into a charmingly eclectic, thoroughly contemporary boutique hotel. The location, on Via Malta, is just to the mainland side of the bridge to Ortygia, which is the original ancient Greek settlement. This means easy access by day and a measure of peace by night. As does the hotel itself - these old walls shut out the noise, sealing guests in to a fantasy of noble life. It's not a period piece, though; along with the well-preserved original architecture you'll find all manner of contemporary touches, rooms featuring brand-new bath fixtures, beds and electronics and furnished with mid-century design classics. With few rooms it's perhaps a bit bigger than it feels - from within the rooms you'd be hard pressed not to imagine you're the old house's sole resident. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalieri Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing