We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Regulations.....LOL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Hotel Regulations.....LOL”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Shown up to our room by receptionist. He was nice - but explained to us the rules/regulations of the house ...don't bring your own food or drinks..... This is a FIRST for me in my years of travels. Felt like I am back at school. But I guess they have their RULES so great he let us know!
The room was average..... the window open up to the slanting part of the roof, so absolutely you can see nothing. I would look for restaurant recommendations elsewhere - seem like all the staff have EXACTLY the same ones to suggest! B/fast was OK - nice touch fresh orange juice. Location is good.
Oh careful bout parking .. they told us no tickets on Sunday.... but we got a ticket:((( in the old part of town.

Room Tip: I think the room we had with not view is 602...so beware of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CaroScriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very pleased to read that you are appreciating our attention and efforts in offering an excellent breakfast buffet: homemade cakes and pastries, seasonal local fruits, fresh Sicilian orange juice, local peculiar cheeses, and other Syracusaen delicacies.
To avoid any misunderstanding, we would like to point out and clarify some inaccuracies: in particular concerning your "personal" interpretation of hotel rules, I consider it superfluous to do any comment, as your judgement speaks for itself.
Your room has a balcony overlooking the roofs of the neighboring buildings and an inner courtyard. Since you have requested explicitly "the most quiet room of the hotel", our staff thought of having done something to grant your request.
To help guests organizing car parking, we advice everybody that in nearby streets, in the appropriate bays bordered by white stripes, parking is free and without any time limit. We do not say that you can park for free everywhere, or that you can access by car, during weekend, the pedestrian island of Ortigia, which is reserved for residents only.
Your stay at Hotel Cavalieri is a moment of relax and experience, guided by particular and sophisticated recommendations of your local hosts. A stay at Hotel Cavalieri is not limited to just an overnight stay, but to experience also unique local food, traditions and lifestyles. Therefore, after a long search carried out by the owners, only a small circle of restaurants to partner with, who represent the best in the city, are recommended to our travellers.
I believe that your feedback is mainly a misunderstanding arising from a not too in-depth knowledge of the English language. It would have been enough to ask for further clarification from the reception staff.
Sure to have removed any doubt in the reader,
Best regards. Gianluca Lo Manto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    112
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
63
375
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a good quality hotel located a 15 minute walk from the train and bus stations, and a 5 minute walk to Ortiga. The room is average size for Europe, very clean and up to date. There is a safe and refrigerator, good wifi, AC went on and off one night, but seemed OK. TV has no English channels. The king bed is two twins pushed together, with the seam covered, and the bath is nice with a handheld well-mounted shower. The room I had faced the interior, and I got no outside noise, but there is potential for interior noise (the building itself is converted from a residential property). The check-in person was friendly, and offered a map and suggestions without asking.
The breakfast was good for Europe: meat and cheese plate, fresh fruit, some cake and pastry, with coffee served.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, OH
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The breakfast staff was phenomenal, as was the food. Wow! What a feast.

That said, I'm not sure the Architect/Owner should be the individual checking in guests and explaining "the rules". We were not permitted, per Mr. Owner, to take ANY food or beverages into the hotel. That meant we could not enjoy an after dinner drink or snack on the terrace. Really? We could, of course, pay 6 € for an after dinner drink that we could not collect ourselves (having it delivered was nice, but...).

From a limited window of European travel (Ireland multiple times, as well as Scotland, Spain, France, England, Italy and Spain), we were shocked by this "rule".

Room Tip: Well, for an additional €40 per room, a traveller could receive a scrunchy for their hair and q-tips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OHVacationGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for appreciating our continuous effort in finding local high quality products every day for the breakfast buffet.
Hotel Cavalieri is a smart luxury Boutique Hotel, featuring a rich and stocked bar combined with an excellent service. Bar service is available wherever you prefer, terrace included.
Your review looks more like a personal attack to the owner. It surprises that basic rules of politeness, respect and civic consciousness, are causing you such astonishment.
General Terms of Hotel Cavalieri are public at the website and noticed to every guest along with booking confirmation. Hotel Cavalieri has confirmed your booking by email on 1 March 2012, seven months before your arrival. You had therefore plenty of time booking a hotel more suited to your way of life, rather than wondering about already known rules of conduct.
I mostly regret the fact that, even though the owner was at your disposal for any clarification, you did not mention anything to him personally, but prefered to complain on web about Hotel Terms visible to everbody at the website and noticed to every guest along with booking confirmation.
Hoping to have clarified any misunderstanding,
Best regards
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, a combination of classic and modern. Staff is very friendly and offers excellent service. The room was very nice with a big bathroom and comfortable bed. I don't know if the rooms at the street side are noisy due to the traffic. Breakfast is very good. The hotel is close to Ortigia (five minute walk) which is the nice part of Siracusa. Excellent value for money.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Max0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Max,
It sure does sound like you had a great time and it is so wonderful to hear. We thank you for staying with us and were glad you were able to appreciate the wonderful surroundings we are situated in. We can't wait to welcome you back. All the Best. Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Cavalieri for 2 nights last week. This is a beautiful hotel with impressive design! The staff was friendly and gave us great opinions on local restaurants. We had limited time in Syracuse, and they helped us narrow down the "must see" items on our itinerary. The location is great; you walk aproximately 2 blocks to the bridge and Ortigya. The breakfast was delightful - and on our second morning the proprietor had fresh ricotta cheese that was just delicious!

Thank you for a wonderful time - I would book this hotel again if I find myself back in Syracuse!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AMD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and glad you like the decor and location of Hotel Cavalieri. We always like to hear what our guests think and hope we will see you again soon. We are waiting to welcome you back. All the Best. Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location of the hotel is great since its walking distance to Ortigya. The hotel itself is very nicely designed, clean and modern. The rooms are very nice and great size.The staff are very nice and helpful. It's owned by a very nice couple. We enjoyed our short stay very much and would def go back again! The breakfast is very good as well. It truely was the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stars1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Owner at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us your feedback about Hotel Cavalieri. We can't wait to welcome you back when you want some more relaxation. All the Best.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

On arrival we had difficulty finding a parking space and, after several circuits of the one way system, gave in and stopped with our warning lights on to quickly pop into the hotel for advice. The manager on duty, Victor, could not have been more helpful and immediately offered us one of the two spaces outside the hotel reserved for guests even though we had not booked one in advance. The following day we found the local car park which was only a very short walk away and moved the car (paying at the car park is not as difficult as it first appears, simply select the number of hours you want then pay using Euro notes ensuring they are the right way up).

The hotel, which only has a small number of rooms and is family run, is in the perfect location for exploring the area because it is central to the archaeological zone (the Roman amphitheatre, Greek theatre etc.), the attractions in Syracuse (including the catacombs of San Giovanni, which were amazing, and the museum) and Ortygia. All of these are within very easy walking distance and Ortygia is perfect for dining out at night, especially around the cathedral.

Everyone at the hotel was very welcoming and went out of their way to make you feel part of the family while not being intrusive. While the building itself is old it has been very cleverly transformed into several modern bedrooms which have air conditioning, flat screen TV, free wi-fi and wonderful bathrooms (or at least in of our room, I assume the rest are similar). Clean linen & towels were provided on each of the 3 nights we stayed. Breakfast was probably the best we experienced during our visit to Sicily and included a choice of several home made pastries. In addition to the dining room, which was light and airy, there was a lounge for use by guests.

In all it was very difficult to find any fault at all.

If we return to Syracuse, and I hope we do, then this will definitely be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Owner at Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and glad you like how rennovation of Hotel Cavalieri has been done by me. You are always welcome!
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.5 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 74 in Syracuse
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 74 in Syracuse
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#9 of 74 in Syracuse
675 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri
Address: Via Malta 42, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#15 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, at the edge of the ancient city center, is a case in point; this old aristocratic residence belongs to a family of architects and designers, who've turned its 19th-century halls and rooms into a charmingly eclectic, thoroughly contemporary boutique hotel. The location, on Via Malta, is just to the mainland side of the bridge to Ortygia, which is the original ancient Greek settlement. This means easy access by day and a measure of peace by night. As does the hotel itself - these old walls shut out the noise, sealing guests in to a fantasy of noble life. It's not a period piece, though; along with the well-preserved original architecture you'll find all manner of contemporary touches, rooms featuring brand-new bath fixtures, beds and electronics and furnished with mid-century design classics. With few rooms it's perhaps a bit bigger than it feels - from within the rooms you'd be hard pressed not to imagine you're the old house's sole resident. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalieri Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing