We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cavalieri
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
462 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

On arrival we had difficulty finding a parking space and, after several circuits of the one way system, gave in and stopped with our warning lights on to quickly pop into the hotel for advice. The manager on duty, Victor, could not have been more helpful and immediately offered us one of the two spaces outside the hotel reserved for guests even though we had not booked one in advance. The following day we found the local car park which was only a very short walk away and moved the car (paying at the car park is not as difficult as it first appears, simply select the number of hours you want then pay using Euro notes ensuring they are the right way up).

The hotel, which only has a small number of rooms and is family run, is in the perfect location for exploring the area because it is central to the archaeological zone (the Roman amphitheatre, Greek theatre etc.), the attractions in Syracuse (including the catacombs of San Giovanni, which were amazing, and the museum) and Ortygia. All of these are within very easy walking distance and Ortygia is perfect for dining out at night, especially around the cathedral.

Everyone at the hotel was very welcoming and went out of their way to make you feel part of the family while not being intrusive. While the building itself is old it has been very cleverly transformed into several modern bedrooms which have air conditioning, flat screen TV, free wi-fi and wonderful bathrooms (or at least in of our room, I assume the rest are similar). Clean linen & towels were provided on each of the 3 nights we stayed. Breakfast was probably the best we experienced during our visit to Sicily and included a choice of several home made pastries. In addition to the dining room, which was light and airy, there was a lounge for use by guests.

In all it was very difficult to find any fault at all.

If we return to Syracuse, and I hope we do, then this will definitely be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Owner at Hotel Cavalieri, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and glad you like how rennovation of Hotel Cavalieri has been done by me. You are always welcome!
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    109
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
62
366
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the minute we arrived we were impressed with not only the beauty of this hotel but of the helpfulness of the staff (Victor upon arrival). Parking was offered at short notice for 15 euros overnight which was a welcome spot after driving all day in Sicily. The hotel is an ideal location for a short walking trip around Ortigia or Siracusa. Also walking distance to the train station. Everything in this hotel was of a high quality, room, breakfast, decor and service. For a central location it also offered a quiet haven and a great sleep. Access was available easily if you returned late in the evening; someone was on the desk 24 hours. We would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMBKMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Cavalieri, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam, thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at Hotel Cavalieri. It is comments like these that enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights. Should you decide to re-visit us, please let me know so I can welcome you in person.
Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very well done hotel with style and elegance which is well located and well run. Very good breakfasts and the family and staff are very friendly and go to great lengths to make your stay welcome and rewarding.. Good tastfully presented rooms and nicely presented general areas as only the Italians can do. Street parking is not a problem and Ortegia is a short walk away. Bikes are available to borrow and are a great way to explore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidS596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Cavalieri, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear David, Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear that you liked Hotel Cavalieri. I will pass your positive comments to our team as they will really like the feedback you have provided. Hope to see you soon again. All the Best, Gianluca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good comfortable room with air conditioning and a roomy bathrooom. Excellent breakfast with a fine choice of local pastries and cakes. Friendly and helpful staff & proprietors.

Easy to find, close to parking, and well placed for walking both into Ortygia and to the Archaeological Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Cavalieri, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Richard,
thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time with us whist visiting Siracusa.
We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Well run hotel in good location convenient for walking into Ortigia. Minimalist style made the room feel bleak and austere, which seemed at odds with the price. Having said that, everything was clean, comfortable and worked well, so we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_tedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel Cavalieri was recommended by a friend,we supposed to stay one night and,finally we extended our Stay for 3 nights.the Hotel Cavalieri is just perfect...the rooms are decorated with simplicity and good taste, the service is excellent, the owners are very friendly and welcoming.... we just felt like home! the price / quality ratio is very good ...we will return and often!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gioacchino68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Cavalieri, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Gioacchino,
thank you for your so positive comments. Hope to see you soon again. Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I had just 2 days in Syracusa so I didn't have time to wander around. the hotel location was perfectly suited for my very filled itinerary. The desk clerk Victor gratuitously upgraded my room which was a pleasant surprise. I had been warned about small hotel rooms but found mine adequate and on the qiet side of the hotel with just the hotel courtyard below. There were many restaurants, of all spending levels, nearby. The staff was polite and helpful especially the concierges who were charming; his name was Victor and he was especially cute and knowledgeable with providing directions and making tour suggestions. Hotel didn't require prepayment, a definite plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank franc r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Cavalieri, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Franc, Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Cavalieri on your next trip in Sicily. Warm regards. Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.5 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
1,193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalieri

Property: Hotel Cavalieri
Address: Via Malta 42, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#15 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cavalieri, at the edge of the ancient city center, is a case in point; this old aristocratic residence belongs to a family of architects and designers, who've turned its 19th-century halls and rooms into a charmingly eclectic, thoroughly contemporary boutique hotel. The location, on Via Malta, is just to the mainland side of the bridge to Ortygia, which is the original ancient Greek settlement. This means easy access by day and a measure of peace by night. As does the hotel itself - these old walls shut out the noise, sealing guests in to a fantasy of noble life. It's not a period piece, though; along with the well-preserved original architecture you'll find all manner of contemporary touches, rooms featuring brand-new bath fixtures, beds and electronics and furnished with mid-century design classics. With few rooms it's perhaps a bit bigger than it feels - from within the rooms you'd be hard pressed not to imagine you're the old house's sole resident. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalieri Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Cavalieri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing