We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like a holiday camp.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VOI Arenella resort
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Stayed here as part of a tour around Sicily in June/July 2007.

Arenella Resort is a large complex. Over 460 rooms, so don't expect small and friendly. It is situated quite a way out of Syracuse - most travel sites say 11kms but it seems a bit more than this. There is a bus service from the hotel to town but we didn't use it as we had a hire car.

Check-in was okay but staff were a bit officious. The resort relies on non-All Inclusive guests using a pre-paid card system for buying drinks, snacks etc. You top up the card with a minimum of €5 to start and you can add to this as you go along. Bar staff debit the card as you buy. Any unused amount is paid back to you at the end of your stay. For some reason they will only accept cash to top up the card - couldn't use credit cards etc. Given the location of the Arenella resort, they could exploit guests by over-charging for drinks and snacks but they don't. Everything is reasonably priced.

Two half litres of bottled water were provided for free on arrival and were left in the fridge in the room. A nice touch in view of how impersonal everything felt otherwise. Beach Towels are available but you must leave a deposit for each one you take (€10 I think) but you can change them as frequently as you want. There are some shops and two internet points on the site.

Lots of activities provided by the entertainment staff. There is a play area for children and two fantastic swimming pools - one of which is billed as the activities pool (pool aerobics etc.) and the other, the quiet one. Beach is rocky but there are sunbed terraces. Lifeguards oversee the pools and the beach for most of the day. Downside is that even with all of these facilities, with 460 rooms on site there just aren't enough sunbeds by the pools and you must be an early riser to make sure you get one (or however many you need).

The rooms are very large and very comfortable (including air conditioning, television & fridge). We found the maid service to be excellent.

It caters for a large number of people and the service reflects this. One big issue is the restaurant, which is large and chaotic. The choice of food is great (including barbecued) but the service is appalling. We found one waitress to be just plain rude and ended up having several run-ins with her. It soured what was an otherwise okay experience.

Good value and good for families but the complex was just too large for comfort and very noisy. Not a relaxing stay. We wouldn't go back and would struggle to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank columbusrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
There are newer reviews for VOI Arenella resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2007

Just returned from a week in Arenella Resort and all I can say is I want to be back there. Hotel staff couldn't do enough for you. Food was absolutely gorgeous and entertainment was great. The only set back was that the hotel was far away from any shops, night life etc.. There is a shuttle bus that goes twice to Syracusa during the day and it's free. The bus drops you in the centre of Syracusa and collects you in few hours to take you back to the hotel.

Rooms were great and spacious and very clean. two pools are so large and absolutely lovely. Lots of Italians and not a lot of Russions and Germans. The place is well worth visiting because it is wonderful.

I would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paoloucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

We stayed 8 days, very nice area but hotel staff has a lot of room for improvement.
Too many kids (school vacations...) if you are looking for a quite stay well...stay far away from this hotel. It is a pity, the place is wonderful, there are two big swimming room...and a very nice beach is 5 minutes away.

During our stay the hotel staff took our LCD TV in our room since it was required by someone else (this is really awaful).

We stayed half a day without tv in the room, without any notification

AFter we pointed out that we paid the exclusive rooms as well, they gave us back the tv. Really not a nice experience.

Maybe we were just not lucky but we will never be back in hotel

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ceresant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lolla1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Caterina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOI H, La Direzione at VOI Arenella resort, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Samuele_Leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOI H, La Direzione at VOI Arenella resort, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOI H, La direzione at VOI Arenella resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
2.7 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
78.5 mi away
VOI Baia di Tindari Resort
4.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
68.9 mi away
Serenusa Village
Serenusa Village
#1 of 6 in Licata
2,208 reviews
4.0 mi away
Valle di Mare Country Resort
Valle di Mare Country Resort
#3 of 7 in Fontane Bianche
212 reviews
184.4 mi away
Hotel Village Suvaki
Hotel Village Suvaki
#1 of 17 in Pantelleria
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Arenella resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Arenella resort

Address: Strada Ognina 47, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#17 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $153 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Arenella resort 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VOI Arenella resort is nestled in a spacious park on the southern coast of Sicily, alongside long sandy beaches, close to Syracuse and the protected marine area of Plemmirio. VOI Arenella resort offers a wide range of sports and leisure facilities. Try the resort's new wellness center with a number of relaxing and therapeutic spa facilities including massages and beauty treatments. You can choose from numerous sports activities including archery in the summer months. There is also a fully equipped scuba-diving center on site with lessons available at an additional cost. Enjoy the entertainment program at VOI Arenella resort. Here you will find professional staff, including French and German speakers, and an extensive line-up of daytime and evening entertainment. There are 2 children's clubs, both offering a wide range of dedicated activities. The Mini Bimbo club is a fully equipped nursery for children until 2 years of age. Arenella Bimbo Village is appropriate for children from 2 until 17 years of age. You can dine at VOI Arenella resort's 2 restaurants offering delicious breakfast and dinner buffets of local and Mediterranean cuisine, which can be enjoyed on open-air terraces. The restaurants feature an open-cooking area where you can watch your meal being prepared as well as a large grill and barbecue area. VOI Arenella resort may be only bookable for weekly stays, with arrivals and departures on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your VOI Arenella resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aw Arenella Hotel Syracuse
Arenella Resort Syracuse
Arenella Hotel Syracuse
VOI Arenella Resort Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing