We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not in the central tourist area (Ortigia), but it only takes a 20 min walk to get there. It is though next to the archeologic sites and the famous Greek theatre. It is quite new, the rooms are comfortable and you can enjoy a relaxing moment on its roof terrace with a pool. Good breakfast and nice staff. A comfortable option if visiting Siracusa.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomaszsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a very new property in Syracuse, and unlike most hotels is not on Ortygia, but near the archaeological park. The only negative is that there are not a lot of restaurants around the area. It is next to a supermarket. The hotel staff offered some of the best service I have experienced. The rooms were quiet and well equipped. The breakfast also was good. Do be prepared to walk quite a ways for dinner options in the most touristy section of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank RiceyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very convenient for the Archaeological Park and for driving out to other places. It is a good half hour walk to Ortygia. This wouldn't be so bad but there are very few dining opportunities in the vicinity of the hotel and the restaurant at the hotel is closed on Saturdays and Sundays. We found that we walked into Ortygia almost every evening which was tiring after a day's sightseeing.

Room was very comfortable and the bathroom large and clean with an excellent shower. The air conditioning was, if anything, too efficient and a bit noisy.

Breakfast was OK but nothing special with no chef on hand.

The rooftop pool we found we couldn't use as there was never any free loungers which are rather crammed together.

Parking was excellent in the underground garage.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here with the family in August 2013. The hotel is modern and located close to ancient ruins of the Greek Amphitheatre. Unusually it has parking (both free and paid) and a swimming pool on the roof. There was free Wi-Fi (although the room leaflet mentioned charges) and a generous buffet breakfast for €10. There is air-conditioning in the bedrooms and the public areas.

Location wise, the hotel is approx. 2km from Ortigia but it is only a 30 minute walk to some very good restaurants, bars and tourist attractions. The reception was able to arrange a taxi (only €10 - €12) on the evening we decided to use one and offered to arrange a transfer to / from Catania airport. Having driven, I should perhaps have taken them up on that.

The hotel restaurant was closed (evidently it doesn't open in the summer so I can't comment on that). The poolside bar offered drinks & snacks until late evening. There was a poolside bar buffet in the evening which we had one evening; although not extensive, the food was tasty and only €12.

Rooms were modern and clean with a well appointed shower / wetroom / bathroom.

Staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay there again (although there are other hotels closer to Ortigia).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

great place, I went with my work on the three days, I had bought stay, service ok, in my room had a bathroom, there is also access to the Internet and television, great location, very close to downtown and the airport, I'm happy with the stay. someday I'll be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. This is a nice and new hotel with a rooftop pool. There are a few sunbeds by it, but it's hard to find a free one in the afternoon. The mornings are less crowded. Breakfast was really good with many choices. Wi-Fi and parking was free. There's a large supermarket almost next door. The greek theatre and the archeological park are very close by, but it's a bit of a walk (20-25 mins) in to Ortigia, where most restaurants are. This is why the hotel "only" gets 4 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#10 of 75 in Syracuse
916 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
1,056 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
705 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo

Address: Viale Teracati 20, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $84 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located adjacent to the historical archaeological zone and within close proximity to the Paolo Orsi Museum, the shopping district, as well as the historical island of Ortigia. It's an ideal structure for both business and tourist guests. The hotel offers 93 air-conditioned rooms, and includes an open-air, roof-top swimming pool with panoramic views, a solarium, a conference centre, two bars, and underground garage and external parking. The inviting, full buffet breakfast uses local Sicilian produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
Mercure Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing