We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good value for some great sights”
Review of B&B Sorella Luna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Sorella Luna
Ranked #74 of 236 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Sorella Luna is very close to the train station on a street that seems a bit dubious when you arrive (at night, at least, as we did) but not unsafe - and is in fact par for the course for non-Ortigian Siracusa. It is very well-located for both walking to Ortigia (south) or to the Greek & Roman ampitheatres (north) or to the archeological museum (northeast). We had a good experience with the staff, who were helfpul and tolerant of our attempts at Italian, and cheerfully locked away our bags when we checked out and went exploring one last time. (We stayed two nights, then went to Catania to take the ferry to Naples.) Breakfast was the best we had in Sicily - a wide assortment of fresh breads, confections/pastries, and meat and cheese. I must mention that they had delicious donuts - the old-fashioned kind, deep fried with powder sugar. I ate many. (In summer, I should note, you can eat out on the roof - a bit chilly for our stay, though there were some hardy Germans out there nonetheless.) The room itself was very clean, and plenty big for our doublebed and sofabed (for the two kids); the sofabed was not hugely comfortable but for a 9 and 6 year old it served just fine. Contacting the hotel directly by email, by the way, produced a cheaper rate than various internet sites.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CanariesPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for B&B Sorella Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 128 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2007

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting Siracusa. This is a converted convent and is located close to the train station. If arriving by bus, the driver can let you off by the train station for a short walk to the hotel. It is not a bad walk to the bus station, at the entrance of Ortygia, or to the Greek Theatre and the modern city shopping district. The front desk staff at the hotel was quite helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, with modern amenities. CNN International is on the TV there, for those who may find that of importance. The morning breakfast was excellent and held in a comfortable breakfast room. Oh those pastries... I would not hesitate to stay there again should I return to visit that lovely city.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank growler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fratellosole, Proprietario at B&B Sorella Luna, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing us.

We were happy to have you as guests hopefully for you was

an unforgettable experience.

Thank you and arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2006

Sorella Luna is a brilliant little hotel, very well placed for buses and trains, and the main attractions of Syracuse, the archeological park and Ortigia. A new conversion of a palazzo, it is beatifully clean, well thought out, simple, and welcoming. The staff are all very helpful and provided us with, among other things, recommendations to La Finanziera, which gave us the best meal of our holiday.
The breakfast is far more elaborate than one normally expects for this price and the terrace very pleasant. It is even, for Sicily, a quiet place.
Full marks all round

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoffnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fratellosole, Proprietario at B&B Sorella Luna, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing us.

We were happy to have you as guests hopefully for you was

an unforgettable experience.

Thank you and arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2006

Sorella Luna is a convenient 150m from the train station and about half a mile from Ortigia, where most of the night life and restaurants are to be found in Syracuse.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and I recommend anyone staying here to be guided by their choice of restaurants!

A friend and I stayed here for three days last week. The single rooms were small and a bit old-fashioned with single beds but they were comfortable and clean and at 42 euro/night were excellent value. Breakfast was basic but adequate and served with a smile. Our only complaint was that the rooms were a bit chilly - unlikely to be a problem except in January, and the hotel provided us an extra blanket and an electric fan heater each which helped.

A very friendly and pleasant budget hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Giovanni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Paolo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sbarcadero
Hotel Sbarcadero
#41 of 74 in Syracuse
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caportigia Boutique Hotel
Caportigia Boutique Hotel
#19 of 74 in Syracuse
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
LoLHostel Siracusa
LoLHostel Siracusa
#9 of 98 in Syracuse
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Caravaggio
B&B Caravaggio
#51 of 236 in Syracuse
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mare di S. Lucia
Mare di S. Lucia
#79 of 236 in Syracuse
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Nike
B&B Nike
#63 of 236 in Syracuse
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Sorella Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sorella Luna

Address: Via Francesco Crispi 23, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range: $61 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Sorella Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Sorella Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Sorella Luna Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing