We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves a purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Santuario
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Syracuse
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Serves a purpose”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I chose this place for 3 reasons:
Has a carpark and easy to drive to ( as compared to Ortigia.. )
Very close to Greek and Roman theatres, Catacombs of St. John
Good value
All 3 criteria were satisfied. Large room, sterile feel to the place. Breakfast fair and I broke the Golden rule of not dining at a hotel and was duly punished, we had a very average meal for dinner. Internet OK once you get the password.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    57
    83
    40
    48
See reviews for
42
83
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here because Explore use it for their package groups. Next to an interesting modern church but too far away from the old town. Close though to the amphitheatre; but were bused there by Explore so why not pick an near old town hotel and then bus it back to the ruins?
Clean, basic room. Tiny bathroom with a tiny shower but then that is too often the norm in too much of Italy
Breakfast ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Chosen by our tour company
Pros:
large, clean, well lit bedrooms (so unusual in a hotel)
Cons:
more like a hostel than a hotel with wide empty corridors & minimal furniture
poor food especially the dinner we had the first night

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Syracuse hotels

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel used to be a hospital and you can tell. We didn't receive a warm welcome on arrival. The guy was actually quite rude. There is free WiFi but you have to go ask for a password and each password only lasts for 180 minutes and then you have to go beg for another one. There was no fridge in the room and no remote for the tv in our room. The air con remote was broken also. We had booked a double room but it came with two single beds. My wife asked at reception if we could swap rooms and the guy replied 'no...' not 'no sorry...' . He said they could push the two beds together for us but not until the next day! How rude.
The rooms and hallway echo quite badly.
The towels were actually small table cloths.
It is a decent walk to Ortigia at around 20 mins.
Breakfast was the usual cornflakes, rice bubbles, buns, cold ham and cheese.

I could put up with an average hotel if the service is good but here it was just bad so we really didn't enjoy our stay. Get some customer service skills!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kefar Sava, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is simple, but very good if you don't want anything fancy. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, the air conditioning worked without a problem and the breakfast had all your basics.
The hotel is very close to the archeological museum and the archeological park, and is about 20 minutes walk from Ortigia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

very clean hotel , a good value for our pay.
it was a good starting point for many trips in the region,
we had a funny impression with towels that were similar to sheets,
the breakfast was poor, The wi-fi is only in the entrance ofthe hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perez-J-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I am sure this hotel is fine on a retreat to the nearby church but don't book it for a holiday. Very small single beds were more like camp beds. Very basic nowhere near a 3 star even by European standards. Not a great start to the holiday. Thankfully it was just one night otherwise I would have checked out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
#53 of 73 in Syracuse
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#47 of 73 in Syracuse
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Muse
Hotel Le Muse
#48 of 73 in Syracuse
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Bretagna Hotel
Gran Bretagna Hotel
#67 of 73 in Syracuse
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eta Beta Bed & Breadfast
Eta Beta Bed & Breadfast
#57 of 73 in Syracuse
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#36 of 73 in Syracuse
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Santuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Santuario

Property: Hotel del Santuario
Address: Via del Santuario 1, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Santuario 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel del Santuario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Santuario Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing