We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place at all, as it turned out”
Review of Dolce Casa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolce Casa B&B
Ranked #14 of 231 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sylva, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not a bad place at all, as it turned out”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here one night in middle October, 2012. This B&B is located in a nice house in a semi-rural area south of Siracusa. Finding it was no problem since they had several signs on the nearby roads. The room I was given, upstairs, was perfectly fine, except that the TV and fridge didn’t work. Since the owners spoke virtually no English, I was unable to correct these problems, until an older lady arrived and took on the challenge. She tried the TVs in other rooms but had the same problem. Finally, she found one that worked and I moved to that room. That was the only problem I had there. The people are nice, but lacking in English. The room has a nice terrace with views out to the truck (vegetable) farm on one side and what appears to be an old (and unpleasant) industrial site on the other. Breakfast was typical continental, minimal but adequate. I probably would return here if I were in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    50
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
101
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The owners are very hospitable and knowledgeable about the area. Especially helpful was specific information about where to park when viewing the sights. The restaurant recommendation for dinner in Ortygia was perfect.
We stayed for one night. The room was very quiet. Breakfast was great. They even made some eggs and bacon for us, not something you see very often, traveling in Italy.
Access to the main road going into Siracusa is very convenient. The owner gave us a bag of oranges just picked from his trees, just as we were heading out. We happily snacked on them for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Easy to find, peaceful house, good parking, with pleasant rooms, quiet pretty garden, attentive owners and adequate breakfast. Good reasonable priced eating places nearby and spectacular beach on the Castello point.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normanMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

This is a very quiet villa outside Siracusa - 5 minutes by car.Very convenient for Ortygia and Archeological zone.
We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed it

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Wood, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed at Dolce Casa B&B for 2 nights and the accomodations were good. The rooms were cozy but decorated in pink flowers. The breakfasts had good food, but really not very good service and some food ran out. The location was very good if you had your own transport into the city. Siracusa was wonderful and a must-see for anyone coming to Sicily.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowe210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

This lovely B&B was hidden away on a quiet country road near Siracusa. We had difficulty finding it, but a phone call to the home finally got us steered in the right direction. Our room was gorgeous. We felt very pampered in this beautiful room overlooking the pretty garden. The breakfast served in the lovely central atrium was amazingly ample, expecially for Italy. There were pies, cakes, breads, meats, and cheeses, as well as yogurt, cereal, and fruit. Really a treat after many days of croissants and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldTravelinFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

very beautiful villa with 10 rooms in a pleasant garden with private parking in a quiet syracuse suburb 5 minutes by car from ortyga island or the center of syracuse. the owners are nice and not overbearing and reccommended a fabolous restaurant in ortyga and reserved places for us in the evening. the room was very spacious and nicely furnished and clean. there is a water cooler and referigerators for the guests to use. breakfast is served in the upper terrace with esspresso machine (very good coffee in italy...) and a variety of freshly baked homemade cakes. the only drawback was the long time it took for the room to cool down as it was a very large room and a rather warm day. all in all it was a very nice experience for our first night in sicily...the driving directions are good and there are signs everywhere,( take care turning left when coming from syracuse to a rather narrow street.)

  • Liked — the villa and garden nice owners nice rooms
  • Disliked — long time to cool room although each room has seperate airconditioning (big room hot day...)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.6 mi away
B&B Le Saline
B&B Le Saline
#5 of 231 in Syracuse
105 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B Nostos
B&B Nostos
#3 of 231 in Syracuse
314 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#1 of 17 in Fontane Bianche
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
I Santi Coronati B&B Ortigia Suite
5.5 mi away
Barbara B&B
Barbara B&B
#2 of 17 in Fontane Bianche
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Addauro Resort
Addauro Resort
#17 of 231 in Syracuse
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Casa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Casa B&B

Property: Dolce Casa B&B
Address: Interno 5 Via Lido Sacramento 4, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolce Casa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful modern villa not far from the heart of the town situated in a calm and residential area. It is composed by three rooms elegantly furnished. The breakfast could be served in the common tea room or on our sunny terrace Ruvo is a beautiful town which is well-known for its museum Jatta, historical palaces, some traces of middle age period and manifold churches among which the great Romanesque cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dolce Casa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Casa B&B Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing