We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not as good value as hoped”
Review of Aretusa Vacanze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aretusa Vacanze
Ranked #2 of 221 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but not as good value as hoped”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We liked Aretusa, it's well-located, parking relatively easy, has a friendly, welcoming owner and the place had character-there were posters throughout of plays from the local Syracuse theatre. Our room (3) was thoughtfully equipped, if a little dark, it faced onto an alley and in all didn't feel like it was great value for money-partly because we had 3 beds and we were only 2 but also because we didn't end up cooking in the room as intended-probably as it was a bit dark and felt faintly depressing. The balcony at the top where breakfast was served provided a nice setting and we enjoyed our time on it reading for a few hours before sunset. We really enjoyed a fish lunch at Lungolanotte however looking out over the sea, the swordfish particularly delicious.

It's worth bearing in mind that this was our 2nd time in Syracuse and we'd previously stayed at L'Approdo delle Sirene, a very different, high design place where we had a room overlooking the bay so this may have coloured my opinion a little! Syracuse is the most charming place and one to which we will return time and time again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanib0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverani, Proprietario at Aretusa Vacanze, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your guest experience at Aretusa Vacanze.
We glad to read that you liked it. We feel sorry if some aspects of our B&B have been a significant factor in your stay not being as pleasant as we'd all hope.
We wish to highlight a thing: you were only two but you reserved (via web site) a Triple room, which has three beds and is more expensive than a Double.
You stayed in other places in Sicily and you admit that this may have coloured your opinion a little. We know these place, they are very high design structures and offer bright rooms with a very niece view but, talking about “value for money”, one should take into account the fact that these hotels are much more expensive (almost twice) than Aretusa Vacanze Siracusa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    124
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
140
299
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

One of the best B&B I have been to (and I have been to a lot..). You automatically feel at home within minutes of your stay. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful (special thanks to Ettore & Antonio!!), everything you need is getting answered or helped with. You get excellent restaurant tips; it is easy to start your day from there since it is in the middle of the old town. The rooms are huge, clean, comfy, have free WI-FI and the B&B lies in a very silent street, so you do not have to worry about not getting enough sleep. Once you slept in you can go up to the beautiful terrace, check out the weather, take a look at the sea and have a wonderful breakfast within the gorgeous winter garden. Don’t miss the “crostata della mama” I hope it will be available within your stay, it is marvelous. Up on the roof you can enjoy the coffee you want, get tips for the day or just chat with the other guests. The only thing that was not my taste was the “granita di mandorle” since I do not like almonds. One reason more to return to the B&B next year to check out other flavors :)).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 3 days in Aretusa Vacanze The staff is extremely friendly and will do everything to assist you.. Great location in the heart of Ortigia and next to an excellent restaurant. Difficult to find the place and find a parking place in the very narrow streets of Ortigia, But the staff is very helpful in solving both issues. Very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton , Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Beautiful hotel set in the heart of Ortigia with great views from the roof where breakfast was served. Staff were friendly and helpful.The surroundings are superb. Thoroughly recommend this place. There was a Ballet festival at the old castle while we were there which was spectacular .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just spent two nights in aretusa vacanze. The room was clean, big and recently renovated but full of charme. Bathroom was impeccable. The breakfast is served in the terrace with a great view. The service doesn't get better, the staff are very friendly and keen to give excellent advice (best trattorias, restaurants, gelato, sights, where to park, etc)
I would definitively stay here again on my next trip to syracusa.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maticavanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Aretusa Vacance for 2 weeks in July. I don't think I've encountered a nicer, more friendly staff than we did at this B&B, they did everything to make us feel welcome and always helped us if we needed information about Syracuse.

The rooms had everything we needed, including free air condition and free wi-fi (which, admittedly, was a bit unstable at times). The B&B itself is located near the Fonte Aretusa in Ortigia, in my opinion the most beautiful part of Syracuse.

If we ever go back to Syracuse, we'll definitely want to stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pujaut, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This family hotel has an excellent location in Ortigie. They have arranged parking so it was not a problem. We received great advices for restaurants, and beaches. The rooms were very big and we had a great stay. They should just improve the internet connections.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aretusa Vacanze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aretusa Vacanze

Property: Aretusa Vacanze
Address: Vicolo Zuccola' 1, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Aretusa Vacanze 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aretusa Vacanze is located in a completely renovated 17th-century building at the centre of Syracuse's Ortygia Island. It offers self-catering rooms. At Aretusa Vacanze B&B all rooms are spacious and offer a kitchenette, free Wi-Fi, and an LCD satellite TV. Aretusa Vacanze is close to the Arethusa Fountain and Piazza Duomo, one of the main squares. The sea is a 5-minute walk away. Breakfast and aperitifs are served on the roof terrace, with views of the Bay of Syracuse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Aretusa Vacanze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aretusa Vacanze Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing