We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the piazza outside the Duomo” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duomo di Siracusa

Duomo di Siracusa
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.64*
and up
Siracusa Small Group Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 113 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We loved the piazza outside the Duomo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The church inside is not spectacular by Italian standards but the outside with Greek pillars and the piazza are unusual and beautiful. We really enjoyed sitting on the steps of the church and watching the children play in the piazza. This is a tourist site but also a community center.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,576
    887
    116
    19
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overland Pozzallo Siracusa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hello. This review is dedicated to tourists going for a day to Sicily by the Catamaran from Malta. From Pozzallo I headed to Siracusa. After a one hour drive, I have spent two hours at Siracusa, where I bought some oil, cheese and wine, all local. Than we hadded to the Duomo, one of the most beautiful building here in Suracusa...than of for a good coffee by the sea and off to Portopalo di Capopassero....for lunch...and afterwards a swim by the nearby beach. Off to Marzamemi through Pachino...taking us round twenty minutes. After spending arounf one hour there, we headed back to the Catamaran at Pozzallo. Enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
255 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Check out the Doric columns From the original Greek Temple to Athena inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

The Baroque façade is interesting. However the way the Doric columns of the original Greek Temple to Athena were integrated into the structure of the church is simply fantastic. Wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank Typam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welches, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Liked the fact that the pillars from the Greek temple were incorporated into the Cathedral... but it was described as being so "beautiful" and we didn't really see that after Monreale....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katterbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“multi cultural”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The cathedral is on a beautiful square, and shows a interesting multicultural combination of greek temple, mosque, and christian baroque.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NetherlandsSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo di Siracusa also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Duomo di Siracusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing