We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Giuggiulena Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 217 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I loved this B&B. It was really clean, the rooms are spacious with a balcony overlooking the sea and breakfast is fresh and filling. Although Ortiga is a 20 minute walk away I was delighted to have a stroll home after dinner in the evenings. The owner is super friendly and makes you feel at home. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
151
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at this B&B in June and loved it. My room was very spacious and clean with an amazing view on the sea from my private balcony. Very generous breakfast on their balcony by the sea. When staying at Giuggiulena, you have a direct access to the sea. You can snorkel and you will see lots of fish. It is a great spot.

The hotel is a good 20 minute walk from the center. The walk is a little boring but worth it. It did not bother me as I knew it in advance. I would go back anythime and stay there as it is a peaceful and beautiful spot away from the busy center. Sabrina, the owner, is a joy! She is always in a good mood and she was very helpful. She picked me up at the bus stop when I arrived in Siracusa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mankell34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved this place, we only stayed one night unfortunately, because we had committed to leaving the following day, and they were already fully booked for the rest of the week. Both of our rooms overlooked the ocean, and we both had a nice little patio facing the sea. You could actually walk down some stairs and go snorkelling in the water! The room was clean, and the decor was modern and attractive. Nice bathroom, everything worked. We had no issues whatsoever, and all four of us said we would love to come back. We had breakfast the following morning, on the first floor on a patio overlooking the ocean and it was just lovely. Good selection of breakfast items, fruit, pastries and great coffee. We would definitely consider coming back here for another visit. Plus it's reasonable. It's run by a family, we met the brother and two sisters and everyone seemed very thoughtful and kind. It's not on Ortygia, but not far away, within walking distance and so it's quieter and more out of the main thoroughfares.

Room Tip: We were in the rooms closest to the water, adjacent to one another on the bottom floor. Both were ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the last leg of a three week vacation to Italy. What a gorgeous location! Enjoyed swimming off the rocks, the delicious breakfast, and the sound of waves at night. It was certainly a trek to the main town which made dining at night kind of frustrating. There is a nice little place down the block but if you want variety you just walk 20 min or so.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katianna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a small bed and breakfast run by two sisters. From what I could tell, they have 4 rooms, all with balconies and unobstructed spectacular views right over the sea. Both sisters were extremely hospitable, friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is served in the beautiful and spacious common room/balconies with spectacular views. There is a top terrace for sun bathing or just enjoying the sea air. The B&B is located about a 20 min walk to the old city and about the same to the archeological sights and impressive museum. The B&B staff had great restaurant suggestions, one of them right around the corner. We really enjoyed our 2 day stay here and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkrusej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Relaxing with the water lapping below our generous, bright and breezy room opening out to a sunny balcony.

Friendly host, Sabrina, happy to advise local restaurants, markets, sites and day trips etc. and a delightful breakfast provided by her sister, Claudia, in the airy lounge or on the balcony.

Fantastic location over looking the Ionian sea, roof top terrace and only 15 mins walk to Otygia.

A place to which I would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

What a beautiful location above the water. Very nicely furnished room and private balcony. Walked to historic sites as centrally located. Very good outdoor restaurant 50 meters away with spectacular views. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavendula61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.8 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
1.3 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
2.0 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giuggiulena Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giuggiulena Bed and Breakfast

Property: Giuggiulena Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Pitagora da Reggio 35, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Giuggiulena Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clung to the sedimentary rock from which it's named after: "Giuggiulena" the building is almost a place set apart, a secret place, a shelter of serenity and natural beauty overlooking the sea accompanied by the waves and the moon. The sight goes up to the big harbour's creek and Ortigia, from where is just 15 minute walk.The love we feel for this place and our guests naturally makes us pay attention and extra care to every single detail in order to offer them joyful days and unforgettable nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Giuggiulena Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giuggiulena Hotel Syracuse
Giuggiulena b&b
Giuggiulena Bed And Breakfast Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing