We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Choice!”
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Choice!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

A very nice and affordable small hotel with clean rooms and a friendly desk hostess. It's not a luxury hotel, but it is clean and well-decorated and can't be beat for the price.

Breakfast was included and it was a generous spread of cereals, sliced meats and cheeses, fresh bread, and cappuccino.

This is a great choice for a Siracusa traveler that wants an affordable and welcoming hotel within a short walking distance to the historical old-town Island of Ortygia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnclePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    91
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
48
89
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here with 3 other couples - rooms adequate, well furnished and clean.
Good location - 5 minute walk to Ortiega where lovely shops and restaurants.
Breakfast was good - fresh juice, tea and coffee, boiled eggs, rolls and pastries.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Note - stairs quite steep and odd shapes - so people with mobility issues might have a problem, although there is a lift if needed - this lift does not go to the top floor, so maybe worth a mention if you have a problem with stairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marclen, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your opinion about our Hotel, it will be useful for our next guests! Thank you very much and we're waiting you for your next Holiday in Siracusa! Arrivederci...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diever, Drenthe, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nearby the centre of Syracuse, easily to reach by foot. Good service and friendly personel.Free parking in front of the hotel. Room had no view, and the airco was noisy,not well functioning, but the room was clean , and well equiped,with wifi. Good continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Look for a oom with window-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marclen, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you to have send a review for our Hotel! Your opinion is very important for us and for our next guests! Thank you and we hope to welcoming again you in Siracusa! Arrivederci...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barr, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

very good place near the center from the city. We have also park our car just in front from the hotel very easely and it was free. the breakfast was also very good and internet was free. Nice place in a nice city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOSTETTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in July 2012 for 3 nights. It's a cost effective solution for tourists wanting to visit Ortigia by foot. It has a good location from which we can easly reach the animated center of Ortigia in 10-15 minutes, fairly close to restaurants, bars and monuments. It's a nice, clean and quiet establishment with reasonable prices similar to the ones practiced by b&b in the area, but it still gives out the "hotel" feeling. It also has reserved parking places in front of the establishment (no charge) which is a plus if you're planing to go by car. The furniture isn't very new and modern but overall the hotel is to be recommended.

Room Tip: There is no elevator service to the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruxandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We arrived in Syracuse last minute and many places in Ortygia were already booked up and we ended up at the Mediterraneo. Location aside, our experience was very positive. We had no trouble parking the car on the street in front of the hotel, the internet was free, the front desk staff were extremely helpful and our room was clean, cool and quiet.

Room Tip: People who were staying on the top floor complained about that their rooms were too hot. We did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyvacationphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marclen, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your comment to our Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in your next holiday in Siracusa! Our Best Regards and Arrivederci...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was easy to get to and there was free parking. It was just a short walk to Ortigia for the sights. The staff was very helpful, offering exceptional service by making several phone calls to help us track down our luggage which had not made the transferring flight. However, only one of the staff really spoke English :-) The internet did not work in our room, however there are very nice small landings with comfortable seating areas where the wifi works, so we almost felt that we had a separate internet room next to our bedroom. Breakfast was average for a Sicilian hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilaria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#37 of 74 in Syracuse
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
#53 of 74 in Syracuse
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Como
Hotel Como
#49 of 74 in Syracuse
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Muse
Hotel Le Muse
#50 of 74 in Syracuse
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
1.3 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#12 of 74 in Syracuse
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Tripoli 40, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediterraneo *** is a small and comfortable hotel located in a very central area of the city, just a few meters away the enchanting and historic center of Syracuse, Ortigia island, is simply reachable just walking 4/5 minutes. The central location allows even to simply reach the shopping area of the city as well as to enjoy the principal city services. The Central Railway Station is far just 400 meters and the Central Bus Terminal of Siracusa is far just 200 meters. The area is then served to all major services and amenities such as bars, restaurants, gardens, public car parks as well as guarded parking, paying a fee. At only 50 meters from the Hotel you can even find the main bus stop of line 1 of electric minibuses which connect you to the full heart of the historical center. Just a trip of 4/5 minutes. All our rooms offer accommodation for at least 2 guests, free WiFi connection, some rooms have a balcony with sea views, all rooms provide flat screen TV 32 ", private safe, air conditioning, courtesy services to the bathroom. It's possible, when available, to park for free in the spaces reserved for our guests, just in front the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Mediterraneo Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing