We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
montreal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We arrived in Syracuse last minute and many places in Ortygia were already booked up and we ended up at the Mediterraneo. Location aside, our experience was very positive. We had no trouble parking the car on the street in front of the hotel, the internet was free, the front desk staff were extremely helpful and our room was clean, cool and quiet.

Room Tip: People who were staying on the top floor complained about that their rooms were too hot. We did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyvacationphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marclen, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your comment to our Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in your next holiday in Siracusa! Our Best Regards and Arrivederci...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    83
    35
    14
    8
See reviews for
42
84
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was easy to get to and there was free parking. It was just a short walk to Ortigia for the sights. The staff was very helpful, offering exceptional service by making several phone calls to help us track down our luggage which had not made the transferring flight. However, only one of the staff really spoke English :-) The internet did not work in our room, however there are very nice small landings with comfortable seating areas where the wifi works, so we almost felt that we had a separate internet room next to our bedroom. Breakfast was average for a Sicilian hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilaria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eu, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I selected this hotel on the basis of other reviews and was not disappointed. Everything was perfect: it is charming, clean, well-run, good bathroom, air conditioning and breakfast. I wish though that it was a little bit nearer to Ortygia. It's about 15-20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colombel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very clean room; friendly, helpful staff; great location near Ortigia and town of Siracusa. Within walking distance of fabulous Paolo Orsi museum and archaeological park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel is well located just between the new and the old town. The staff is very friendly and you can park your car for free right in front of the door. Rooms are quiet and confortable.

Room Tip: There is a lift so the level does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very friendly staff and Sicilian decor.
Well situated for us as we wanted to be within walking distance of Ortigia, the train and bus stations.
On the edge of the business area and only a stone's throw from Ortigia.The setting is not scenic so not really a hotel to idle away the hours in, but a good base.
Our room was nice but the beds need upgrading and were not very comfortable.
Great to have tea and coffee in the room and breakfast from 7.30 - 10.00 am is very civilised when on holiday.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. May be better to have room on 1st as stairs and lift a bit awkward to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaolin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
439 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel was the fourth of six hotels that we stayed in during our 2 week tour of the island.
The other hotels we stayed in were Mercure Centro in Palermo, Villa Sant Andrea, Best Western Kaos in Agrigento, Belvadere Taormina and Relais Santa Anastasia near Cefalu. Please check out my reviews to these hotels. We drove around the island for the two weeks so if you would like any tips on driving in Sicily please make contact with me.
Wi-Fi – Free Connectivity is very good the connection can be made in the rooms and it is unlimited with regard to the time allowed.
We arrived here for a two night stay after a long 4 hour drive and we were very tired and very disappointed with the hotel. From the outside it looks really tired and rundown. The check in was done by Veronica who was very helpful and pointed out different areas to visit and a couple of restaurants.
She then showed us to our room which was literally 5 steps away from reception and clearly for a disabled person, I do not have anything against this and it is good that they have these facilities, but the shower was very tatty and there was not much room in it as there was a seat in it. There was a lift door in the room which had a table in front of it and all night at regular intervals there was a large ‘clunk’. There seemed to be no reason for this and it kept us awake during the night, this coupled with the fact that we heard every phone call that came into reception and every guest coming and going. There was no plug for the sink.
The breakfast was good with fresh cake etc and they made fresh coffee as you ordered it.
The other rooms may well be different we did not get to see them, the hotel was full so we could not move rooms.
This hotel is quaint and it is very expensive, it was £140 per night where the previous hotel (Best Western Kaos was only £84 per night, it is basically a B&B rather than a hotel.
On a more positive note if you are in Siracusa make sure you visit the island of Ortiga, there are some beautiful buildings to see and quaint little streets, typical Italy, we visited the Castle at the bottom of the island 4 Euro each not bad value for money, we also took a boat trip and paid 15 euro each to go around the island and then go to some sea caves, on the way back we stopped for a swim so make sure you wear your swimming costume.
On our first night we ate at a restaurant called Zsa, this is located on ‘Via Roma’ on the island, we had seafood pizza and spaghetti seafood and it was fabulous so fresh and tasty, worth a visit.
On our second night we ate at the Osteria Seba, very good pasta do not have the roasted meats, they do not know how to do this in Italy, stick to the pasta.
The following morning before we set off for Taormina we went to the Greek Amphitheatre 10 Euro each. Make sure that you go to the ticket office on the right as you drive up to it as you will be sent back to get a ticket. Well worth the visit, the biggest in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#40 of 74 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#32 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Muse
Hotel Le Muse
#53 of 74 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Como
Hotel Como
#43 of 74 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#55 of 74 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Tripoli, 40, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediterraneo *** is a small and comfortable hotel located in a very central area of the city, just a few meters away the enchanting and historic center of Syracuse, Ortigia island, is simply reachable just walking 4/5 minutes. The central location allows even to simply reach the shopping area of the city as well as to enjoy the principal city services. The Central Railway Station is far just 400 meters and the Central Bus Terminal of Siracusa is far just 200 meters. The area is then served to all major services and amenities such as bars, restaurants, gardens, public car parks as well as guarded parking, paying a fee. At only 50 meters from the Hotel you can even find the main bus stop of line 1 of electric minibuses which connect you to the full heart of the historical center. Just a trip of 4/5 minutes. All our rooms offer accommodation for at least 2 guests, free WiFi connection, some rooms have a balcony with sea views, all rooms provide flat screen TV 32 ", private safe, air conditioning, courtesy services to the bathroom. It's possible, when available, to park for free in the spaces reserved for our guests, just in front the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Mediterraneo Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing