We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antico Hotel Roma 1880”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Well appointed room with a balcony in a very well located area just behind the main square. Perhaps a little generic but a decent breakfast buffet & helpful staff. Worth paying a little extra to get hotel parking

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilBower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfioSettembre, Direttore at Antico Hotel Roma 1880, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Mr .Bower,

thanks for having written your review.

Every customer's opinion is important for us and can be a good point for improving.

In your comments everything seems to be ok except the hotel's style that you define "generic".

That's a personal opinion and as for all personal opinions is incontrovertible, you may find our style "generic", but we are not "generic" just think (for example) that all the bathroom's ceramic coating are hand made, and that's not generic , may not like it but it's not "generic"
same for curtains, to remain inside the room.
Not to mention the internal patio and the Athena room which preserves both ancient greek and medieval excavations..

Maybe your only one day stay was not enough to have a look at the little hotel treasures, hope next time you may have time to discover them.

Best regards

Alfio Settembre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 617 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Roma for 5 weeks last year. By the time I left the staff were my friends and I couldn't thank them enough for their kindness, knowledge and willingness to help make my holiday a truly wonderful experience.
As a solo traveller, I found this hotel was in a perfect spot for exploring Ortigia from early morning until late at night.
I hope to return soon. Tina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the ocean. It's a bit noisy, but enjoy watching the spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfioSettembre, Direttore at Antico Hotel Roma 1880, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Tina, we all at Antico Hotel Roma 1880 , remember about you and your kindness.

We have been your "home" for 5 weeks and you have been part of our "family" for all that time.

I'm happy you still get in touch with us and take your time to review the hotel even after such a long time.

Hope to see you back again very soon.

regards

Alfio and all the staff (expecially Elisa)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The. Rooms were spacious albeit not a big fan of peach, the staff are very helpful, you have a little balcony to step out onto and breakfast is good. The best thing is the location right next to the duomo and all the restaurants and shops.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in order to accomadate the setup for an art show that was being staged just down the street for Catherine Carilli. Besides the location which is wonderful in terms of being in the heart of things, the staff at the front desk went beyond the call of duty in helping communicate with our Italian shipper when things got held up at customs.

If you are looking for a good run, head out the hotel and go to the right, and down Via Roma to the sea wall which you can follow if you keep going right around the entire island. There is a brief section where you cut across the area near the bridges, to reach the other side past the morning market to reach the sea wall again, keep right and return up Via Roma. Go earlier in the morning before the traffic comes into town, and you can almost have the whole roadway to yourself.

Room Tip: We got moved to a Junior suite in order to extend our stay another night, and while the room was big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

There aren't many hotels adjacent to an ancient temple which is now a fabulous Duomo, but this is one of them. Nothing too much trouble for the staff, the building is quirky and fascinating, the bedrooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Everyone was molto gentile! Siracusa is absolutely stunning especially for any student of the Baroque. We went to a performance of Agamemnon at the Greek Theatre arranged by the efficient hotel staff by email before our arrival, they also arranged our airport transfer which was good value for money. We went for a day's expedition to Noto, by bus, you do need to know a bit about the bus service to do this. Noto is equally amazing but stay away from the L'Opera cafe where the service was appalling. Opposite the hotel is Victoria's bakery which we used every day, they do amazing takeaways, savoury and sweet, and the food is good. Favourite meal was at the vegetarian restaurant, Le Comari, not far from the hotel. Would return in an instant! The outdoor food market is NOT to be missed.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Via Roma and loved its bustle, you might try for a room overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I spent one night at this hotel before co-directing a two-week tour of Sicily, which included 3 nights in Syracuse. Next year my entire group will spend all of its nights at the Hotel Roma. Location is fantastic--in the middle of the island, right next to the Piazza Duomo, a short walk to anyplace on Ortigia. Amenities were excellent. Staff was super-friendly. Room was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a perfect location. The hotel is very comfortable and well-run with a helpful and pleasant staff. Best of all is that you are in the center of Ortygia with the cathedral and main piazza around the corner and everything within walking distance. And this is a wonderful area to walk around and savor all the delights of this ancient city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
4.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
679 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,308 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Hotel Roma 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Hotel Roma 1880

Address: Via Roma 66 | Island of Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#11 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#17 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $159 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Hotel Roma 1880 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antico Hotel Roma 1880 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Syracuse
Antico Hotel Roma 1880 Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing