We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location is superb: just a few steps away from the beautiful Piazza del Duomo, at the very heart of Ortigia. In the mornings we had our breakfast on the terrace, with a view on the Duomo further along the street. Nevertheless it was quite easy to reach the hotel with our rental car (and fortunately they had a garage with valet parking to leave the car during our stay). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    140
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
120
254
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is right beside Piazza Duomo, which must surely be one of the loveliest piazzas in Italy, both during the daytime and after dark when the lighting is beautiful. The hotel is smart and comfortable and we were charmed to have a glimpse of the sea beyond the rooftops of the town from our small balcony. We didn't have time to use the hotel laundry service, but found an excellent laundrette near the bridge between Siracusa and Ortigia, Lavanderia ad aqua Ortigia, via dei Mille, where the owner was friendly and helpful. The Roma is well placed for lots of restaurants etc. too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kmtYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Single travelling with a group. Hotel is extremely smart, modern and 'designer'. Lovely lounge area with traveller friendly library and all types of internet access. Small but pretty walled garden. Extremely efficient staff. Single traveller but given double bed - absolutely superb room, faultlessly clean with 3 (!) balconies - one with a small table and chairs - overlooking and right by the sea. All I heard all night was the sea crashing against the sea walls, fantastic. Star gazing at night & watching the night fishermen a must. Breakfast extremely good - lots of amazing cakes! No dinner served - but then you wont need it with the numerous inexpensive eateries within walking distance. Absolutely wonderful and I loved it there and definitely want to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing balcony. I didnt find the front balcony noisy at all (compared to Palermo!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkworm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well situated in the heart of the old city of Syracusa within walking distance of all the sites. If you arrive by car, park outside the main entrance and they valet park your car for you (handy with narrow streets and Italian drivers!). The staff are helpful and friendly and there is good wifi in the bedrooms which are clean and of a reasonable size. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael186376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is just perfect. You are able to walk into the plaza and enjoy the best that Siricusa has to offer. The shame is that the hotel could be so much more. With some attention to detail this could be a beautiful old world hotel. The hotel is clean, the rooms are nice; but it just feels like a hotel and you can see right beneath the surface is a majestic princess. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel Roma is very well situated just round the corner from the Duomo. We found the reception rather unfriendly compared with other hotels in Sicily and the receptionist offered no help with our luggage. Our room was very large and comfortable with a small balcony enclosed by a wall. A ladder is provided to see over the wall - a rather strange experience but worthwhile as the view is good. We found the breakfast poor in comparison with the other hotels we stayed in in Sicily.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EdiScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
2.8 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#8 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Hotel Roma 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Hotel Roma 1880

Property: Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Address: Via Roma 66 | Island of Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#17 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Hotel Roma 1880 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Antico Hotel Roma 1880 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Syracuse
Antico Hotel Roma 1880 Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing