We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in May as part of a Tauck Tour. The WiFi was included in our package and this worked in the foyer and lounge on the ground floor, we knew that it would not work in our room which was on the 4th floor.
As the elevator was small and slow we decided to use the grand marble staircase for walking up and down to our room. I accumulated many steps on my Fitbit doing this but not all people could cope with constantly climbing 8 large marble staircases. The breakfast room required going down the flights and going through an adjoining tunnel to the next building and then climbing more flights of stairs, so it was important to allow plenty of time (there was another elevator here too).
Our room had an excellent view of the water, however, in the bathroom, the shower was in the bath and there was just a plastic shower curtain. This would stick to you if you put it in the shower/bath, and, if you put it outside the bath the floor and toilet became covered in water. There was no drain in the floor, so we had to use numerous towels to clean up the flooding.
Also, the bath had a high side making it difficult to climb in and out of the bath safely.
We had difficulty flushing the toilet. It required force with the thumb in exactly the right place to make it work.
The staff were very good coping with keeping the bathroom in order and we thank them very much for arranging to have our laundry done.
Noise at night was a real problem. Outside is the meeting place for all the teenagers in Ortigia, especially on Friday and Saturday nights when we were there.
Above our room was the Roof Garden function room. We think there was a wedding necessitating the constant movement of chairs which kept us awake.
I walked the flight of stairs to the Roof Garden (5th floor level) the next day for a cup of tea. It has amazing views over the water, however, it gets very hot under the retractable style roof.
Service by the staff was very good.

Room Tip: High floors are further up from the outside noise, but not fourth floor due to chair movement from t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandering59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion
we are happy you had enjoyed the view of our roof garden restaurant and the quality of our staff. We are sorry for your complaints, these days our hotel and Ortigia too have been very very busy so we apologize for the inconvenience of noise. About other remarks, your opinions are always an opportunity to improve our services and standards.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
There are newer reviews for Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last summer for one night during a trip in Sicily. When we arrived there was absolutely no help in showing us where we could park our car and my husband had to figure out where the public parking was on his own, our room was in need of update and not really clean. When we asked to change room we were told the hotel was full and the person at the person at the reception was less than pleasant. This is not a five star hotel and during our trip we stayed in little family hotels that were more pleasant. This is a hotel that has seen better days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for the time spent to write your opinion
We are sorry for your complaints about your stay of the last year, because your opinions are always an opportunity to improve our services and standards and we known the difficulty of parking in Ortigia island we can assure from this year we offer also a car valet service everyday, not only a suggestion about parking. Our cleaning service and our reception staff are always appreciated so we are sorry you didn’t like them.

We hope to see you again in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is located in a very desirable location for exploring. The indoor pool and spa was very enjoyable.the rooftop terrace was perfect for cocktail hour,dinner and just relaxing.
The hotel staff we found were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. I booked a room with water view and it was on target for making us feel quite special.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotstosee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion. We are happy you loved our city and you have appreciated it also thanks our central position, our rooms with sea view and our staff too. We work for your wellbeing so for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse and surely at our Roof Garden.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

In my opinion Des etrangers Hotel is the best hotel at Siracusa. Hotel is in the heart of the old city, very close all the restaurants, jewish quarter, duomo (old catedral), Aretusa foutain ext.. hotel rooms large and comfortable, front side rooms have beatifull view, breakfast was delicious and staff were friendly especially to advicing of the restaurant.

Room Tip: Annex buildings rooms are larger than the main builing rooms, but meeting room is the ground floor o...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank fusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion. We are happy you loved our city and you have appreciated it also thanks our central position, our rooms with sea view and our staff too. We work for your wellbeing so for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Only because there's not a lot of choice of good properties on the island. Has a great location. Minutes away from everything. Rooms are bright, quite spacious with all amenities . Bathroom , has shower and jacuzzi bath, albeit when having a shower water goes everywhere.
Can be noisy at night if you're at the front of the property. The terrazzo on the fifth floor is always worth a visit for a drink and a few nibbles. Breakfast is good albeit one needs a map to find the place!
Disappointed with the swimming pool. It's indoor, small and doesn't open until 1200.
Overall pleasant enough

Room Tip: If you want a room with a balcony overlooking the sea you will have to put up with noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandlebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion
we are happy you had enjoyed the view and the quality of our roof garden restaurant. We are sorry for your complaints, these days our hotel and Ortigia too have been very very busy so we apologize for the inconvenience of noise but we are happy you loved our location. Your opinions are always an opportunity to improve our services and standards.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is on a small island in the city of Siracusa. There is a beautiful roof top bar with great views of the harbor and surrounding quaint town areas. Most rooms have a nice view of the harbor and some have a small balcony. The breakfast was pretty good with a good selection. The location is perfect for strolling down quaint streets and close to a mutitude of restaurants. Some great gellata places close by. The downside was that the rooms were not very comfortable especially the chairs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion, for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay. We are happy you loved our city and you have appreciated it also thanks our central position.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

An interesting, grand old hotel with prime location its major asset. The Des Etrangers struck me as a formerly-noble edifice, re-cast as modern hotel. Such accounts for the long and circuitous route to breakfast, and to the rooftop restaurant. Comfortable mattress, albeit curiously low. Bathroom amenities are always wanting in Italy, but the shower stall in my room was absurdly small even by those standards. Memo to Italian hotel association: Skip the bidet, and human-size the shower! Staff was friendly and helpful. And once you find the rooftop restaurant, you will also find it delightful (book for 1930 to enjoy a breathtaking sunset). A nice place, but 3.5 stars is closer to the mark.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Gyrfalcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion
we are very happy to have satisfied your expectation, and we are also happy because you had enjoyed the view and the quality of our roof garden restaurant. Your opinion are always an opportunity to improve our services and standards.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#15 of 74 in Syracuse
652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#20 of 74 in Syracuse
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 74 in Syracuse
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.1 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#14 of 74 in Syracuse
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Address: Passaggio Adorno 10/12, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#20 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $106 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent neoclassical facade of the Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa dominates the harbour of Siracusa in Sicily, from its position on the island of Ortigia. This five-star historical hotel has the elegance and style typical of the grand European hotels and features refined balconies overlooking the sea. Step in style into the grand entrance hall and admire the precious marble floors, the stucco works and gold decor of the walls and high ceilings. This luxury hotel offers world class services in a unique environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Etrangers Hotel Syracuse
Des Etrangers Hotel And Spa
Des Etrangers Et Miramare Hotel
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing