We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed June 4, 2014

There is something rather faded about this hortel and I wondered how it kept its 5 star status. We had pre booked car parking, but anything to do with a car in Ortigia is a nightmare and the directions to park were the cause of great stress to this traveller. There were lots of small snags about the hotel; the view of the sea was a side view over a flat roof; the room was only made up for one, though booked for two; we recieved someone else's luggage after arriving. The choice is air conditioning or open window and the hotel is above a noisy meeting place for all the town's teenagers on a Saturday night. Internet access is charged for and complicated; several guests were having difficulty checking in for their homeward flights. But the staff were very helpful, even if putting the snags right seemed to take an age!
It is particularly convenient for the wonderful sights of Ortigia and Syracusa - in particular the Piazza del Duomo; what a place to visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one (if they have any!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your opinions regarding our Hotel. About room guest decides what type of room and communicates his preferences at the time of booking, about internet Wifi is included in room rate if you reserve a DeLuxe room or Junior Suite and it is free in the lobby, receptionist are always ready to help in case of need. We are sorry for your complaints, these days our hotel and Ortigia too have been very very busy so we apologize for the inconvenience but we are happy you loved our central position on Ortigia Island.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel is amazingly located on the island of Ortigia overlooking the sea. The rooms are kind of old but spacious and the original vintage furniture are really nice to the eyes. Cleanliness was a disappointment as we found hair and dust almost everywhere in the room. That kind of spoil the great atmosphere and potential that he hotel has. The team at reception did not leave us a great impression either. Overall a beautiful hotel, in a great location but without a soul.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion, for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay.
We are sorry for your complaints about your room but we can assure you housekeeping and reception are two of our strengths and all our guests, as can be read on other reviews, are satisfied about this.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The 5 star Hotel Des Etrangers is situated in Ortigia, the old Greek city area that was Siracusa. It has a superb location looking right out onto the bay and is clearly a central gathering point for social life. The area around it hums with the presence of visitors, and nightlife off the narrow alleyway width streets really buzzes. The hotel rooms are excellent, and the hotel provides a first-class breakfast, really wide-ranging. Probably the biggest disappointments about the hotel are simple ones -- you can't get free Internet access in your room, only in the lobby area (surely a strange situation for a top hotel), and secondly, the breakfast room (which provides super bay views) is accessed by having to walk through the ballroom/conference area of the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room looking out across the bay -- higher floors give the clearest views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion, for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay. We are happy you loved our city and you have appreciated it also thanks our central position.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, albeit a little worn around the edges. The breakfast was excellent and bountiful. We did get to spend one day at the pool before it was closed for renovations. The view of the Mediterranean from our room, the breakfast room and bar were amazing. The location allowed for many days of discovering Ortigia.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cyn2mro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion, for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay and we are also happy because you had enjoyed the view and the walks In Ortigia thanks also our location.
We hope to see you soon.

Best regards.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Apart from their very good location, I would like to tell the reception staff that they have forgotten the amability. The rooms are spacious in a old way. The breakfast room and the way to get there could use a good renovation. But the service is impeccable .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilar18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion, for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay and any opinion is for us an idea to improve.
We hope to see you soon in Siracuse at Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA.

Best regards

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is hard to peg, I have to say that there was nothing bad about it. Our room was excellent with views of the harbor and the Fountain of Arethusa. The breakfast was excellent with a great view to enjoy. We did not make use of either the pool of fitness room. The roof top restaurant was beautiful. The location could not be beat. If visiting Siracusa I see no reason to NOT stay on Ortigia and this hotel is great for that. 2 things there was no personality here, everyone was friendly enough but was as far as it went, that also extends to the wait staff both at the breakfast suite and the upstairs restaurant. One other thing to be aware of. The address listed on the web site was for Porta Adorno however the GPS in our car left us off 2 long blocks away with the impression that this hotel did not exist. The hotel is actually on Porto Arethusa which is an extension of Adorno but the GPS did not know that and it took some frantic searching to figure it out. Some one mentioned a shabby room; our room was fine, decorated in an art nouveau style that was not distasteful.

Room Tip: Remember: Porto Arethusa 10 &12 NOT Porto Adorno 10 &12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion, for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay. About parking we know the problem so we provide guests some pass parking that they’ll find at reception. In addition, from this year, a Car Vallet service is available from 8.00 a.m. to 8.00 p.m. everyday, also holiday.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse at Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA.

Best regards
Valentina Dimartino
Public relations officer

for

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

A lovely hotel steeped in history that is located on the island of Ortigia. A magnificent roof top deck is a perfect place for a. Drink and offers a magnificent view of the harbor of Siracusa. My only complaint was that the swimming pool was too cold.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank gallocasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your opinions regarding our Hotel. We are happy you loved our city and you enjoyed the view from our roof garden restaurant. We are sorry for the temperature of the swimming pool and we apologize for the inconvenience.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards

Valentina Dimartino
Public relations officer
for

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#15 of 75 in Syracuse
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.2 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
0.4 mi away
Domus Mariae Benessere
Domus Mariae Benessere
#25 of 75 in Syracuse
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Address: Passaggio Adorno 10/12, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#20 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $139 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent neoclassical facade of the Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa dominates the harbour of Siracusa in Sicily, from its position on the island of Ortigia. This five-star historical hotel has the elegance and style typical of the grand European hotels and features refined balconies overlooking the sea. Step in style into the grand entrance hall and admire the precious marble floors, the stucco works and gold decor of the walls and high ceilings. This luxury hotel offers world class services in a unique environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Etrangers Hotel Syracuse
Des Etrangers Hotel And Spa
Des Etrangers Et Miramare Hotel
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing