We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
256 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Apart from their very good location, I would like to tell the reception staff that they have forgotten the amability. The rooms are spacious in a old way. The breakfast room and the way to get there could use a good renovation. But the service is impeccable .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilar18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion, for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay and any opinion is for us an idea to improve.
We hope to see you soon in Siracuse at Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA.

Best regards

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    436
    251
    112
    82
See reviews for
176
735
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boyce, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is hard to peg, I have to say that there was nothing bad about it. Our room was excellent with views of the harbor and the Fountain of Arethusa. The breakfast was excellent with a great view to enjoy. We did not make use of either the pool of fitness room. The roof top restaurant was beautiful. The location could not be beat. If visiting Siracusa I see no reason to NOT stay on Ortigia and this hotel is great for that. 2 things there was no personality here, everyone was friendly enough but was as far as it went, that also extends to the wait staff both at the breakfast suite and the upstairs restaurant. One other thing to be aware of. The address listed on the web site was for Porta Adorno however the GPS in our car left us off 2 long blocks away with the impression that this hotel did not exist. The hotel is actually on Porto Arethusa which is an extension of Adorno but the GPS did not know that and it took some frantic searching to figure it out. Some one mentioned a shabby room; our room was fine, decorated in an art nouveau style that was not distasteful.

Room Tip: Remember: Porto Arethusa 10 &12 NOT Porto Adorno 10 &12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion, for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay. About parking we know the problem so we provide guests some pass parking that they’ll find at reception. In addition, from this year, a Car Vallet service is available from 8.00 a.m. to 8.00 p.m. everyday, also holiday.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse at Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA.

Best regards
Valentina Dimartino
Public relations officer

for

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

A lovely hotel steeped in history that is located on the island of Ortigia. A magnificent roof top deck is a perfect place for a. Drink and offers a magnificent view of the harbor of Siracusa. My only complaint was that the swimming pool was too cold.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gallocasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your opinions regarding our Hotel. We are happy you loved our city and you enjoyed the view from our roof garden restaurant. We are sorry for the temperature of the swimming pool and we apologize for the inconvenience.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards

Valentina Dimartino
Public relations officer
for

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We visited this lovely hotel for five nights as an early celebration for my mother's 80th birthday. The position would be hard to better: it is surrounded by charming trattoria and shops, adjacent to the Fountain of Arethusa, so full of classic appeal, and overlooking both the sparkly Ionian Sea and the rich reddish rooftops of Ortygia.
We were worried about parking for our hire car, but the Des Etrangers staff provided us with a permit and we always found parking within 150m of the hotel.
Customer service was superb: there were a few minor issues with our rooms - caused, we suspect, because we were there at the beginning of the season and were staying in rooms which had been empty for a while. But the reception staff sorted these out for us very swiftly. The only comments we'd make about the rooms are that a) free internet would be nice - the system is currently very complicated and could incur charges for the unsuspecting, and b) although still rare on the continent, the provision of in-room tea/coffee facilities would make British guests very happy!
The spa is small but perfectly formed, and the fact that the whole mini-pool turns into a jacuzzi had this easily excitable reviewer purring.
The breakfast buffet was above average, and, astonishingly, the hotel had an impressive range of gluten free breads AND soya milk.
And the roof bar - although expensive - is utterly stunning. An evening drink on the overlooking Ortygia is surely seminal to the Sicilian experience.
All in all, a fab hotel, and one which we'd be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: Watch out for hidden internet charges!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion
for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay.
WiFi connection is free in the lobby, and receptionist are always ready to help in case of need.
Wifi is included in room rate if you reserve a DeLuxe room or Junior Suite.

thank you again, your opinion are always an opportunity to improve our services and standards

king regards

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wonderful location in old part of city close to Duomo. However room was a bit shabby chic and we were extremely bothered by noise on the square in front of the hotel at night from teenagers and a dredge with a heavy diesel engine that started at 7:00 am ! and wouldn't quit until 8:00 at night. So much for people who think that Southern Italians don't work hard !! Disappointing breakfast (no fresh orange juice at height of orange season!).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippy482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your opinions regarding our Hotel.
We are sorry for your complaints and we apologize for the inconvenience.
The hotel is located in the heart of Ortigia and during the week end is always lively.
At the breakfast we offer in our menù without charge fresh orange juice to our hotel guest,
certainly our mistake was not asking to you if you wanted orange juice.

best regards

Francesco Caselli
Hotel manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great expericence at Hotel des Etrangers.
I liked:
- Our room on the 4th floor with 2 little balconies overlooking the bay.
- The indoor pool in the basement with nice exercise room
- Buffet breakfast on the top floor (on Jan 2 we were able to sit outside on the terrace with its stunning view of the isle of Siracusa)
- The ladies serving breakfast - most helpful and professional
- Free parking not far from the hotel, the front desk people will give you an authorization
- Warm welcome of Patricia Torri

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolfParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion
we are very happy to have satisfied your expectation

kind regards

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hotel was fancy and nice yes, however we asked to get one bag of washing done and it ended up costing us $300 AUD because they got it dry cleaned! Sickos! We disputed the charge for a good couple of hours as we hadn't authorised the dry cleaning, unfortunately we were only able to receive a 10% discount. In the end we were forced to pay the bill as the hotel threatened to call the police. Why this made me so angry is because the hotel staff were happy to accept the bag of washing, without explaining what the charges were. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your opinions regarding our Hotel. We are sorry for your complaints and we apologize for the inconvenience but in each room you find a price list for landry services, so the bill is not a surprise.

We hope to see you soon

Best regards

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Syracuse hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.2 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.7 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#18 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Property: Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Address: Passaggio Adorno 10/12, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#18 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent neoclassical facade of the Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa dominates the harbour of Siracusa in Sicily, from its position on the island of Ortigia. This five-star historical hotel has the elegance and style typical of the grand European hotels and features refined balconies overlooking the sea. Step in style into the grand entrance hall and admire the precious marble floors, the stucco works and gold decor of the walls and high ceilings. This luxury hotel offers world class services in a unique environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Etrangers Hotel Syracuse
Des Etrangers Hotel And Spa
Des Etrangers Et Miramare Hotel
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing