We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of our tour of Sicily. The hotel was impressive at first sight, our room was very comfortable and the décor very pleasant.
However, the attitude of the staff was far from professional; in particular their lack of willingness to understand English speaking guests was very frustrating. On our first night, we were given a card for the breakfast menu. We queried this with the gentleman on the desk, who assured us that regardless of the fact that we wished to breakfast upstairs in the roof garden, we were required to fill in this card. The choice was minimal and any extras would have ben charged at a very high rate.
Our breakfast arrived on a tray the next morning and we were charged Euros 6 for the privilege. Despite our protestations we were made to pay this charge. Suffice it to say that the wording on the card was very misleading and the hotel needs to address this.
On signing up for Wifi, we had difficulty because it was a complicated system and when we queried this with the hotel they were quite abrupt.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennybenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Right in the heart of Ortigia, this is a lovely hotel which will allow you to step out in the morning for a walk in town, or at night for a nice dinner, without having to take your car.
Parking is quite easy and they will give you a pass to allow you to park in town without having any issues.
The room was spacious (EU standards) and clean but the bathroom was very old and needed to be renovated (not for visual reasons but logistical ones: water running from under the bathtub).

The hotel boosts an amazing top roof terrace which offers a fantastic view on the city and also hosts breakfast and dinner.
Breakfast was interesting: mostly typical foods were served which was a nice touch.

Staff was friendly even though not very present so, not much to say about customer service in general...The building is an old renovated town property which gives it a lot of character.

Let's just say that, should I return to Ortigia, I would probably return to the Hotel des Etrangers mostly because of the location.

Room Tip: Try avoiding room 114 as it is right above the reception hall and on the street. Quite noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theetiquettorialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were there for two nights. We had no hot water and called the desk three times. Each time the person sounded surprised and assured us it would be taken care of. We also called because the tub leaked and for a time water was dark brown. When I mentioned the water issue one last time at checkout a man in line said,"Don't feel special. We had the same problem. Mattress was hard, lumpy and the bed sounded like it was going to collapse every time someone moved. Breakfast was dreadful! We were really excited to leave!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jmcneil771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a deluxe sea facing room. The room was quite large & reasonably comfortable. The view was great overlooking the harbour. Restaurant on top floor was nice, great view, but limited menu. Staff friendly, but the hotel could do with updating. The wifi access was bizarre, free in hotel lobby but in room €9 for an iPad & €24 for a laptop per 24 hour period.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank hargar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

All I could say is WOW. This hotel is in the absolute perfect location. A short walk to all the sites and restaurants. Our balcony faced West on the waterfront, sunsets and sea breezes. Great breakfast and professional staff. This hotel was perfect as a starting point to all the history and beautiful piazzas in Syracusa.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed in hotels throughout Italy and am very aware that standards are not as high as other euro countries.however,this hotel was nowhere close to a 4 star let alone a 5 star.they may seem like silly grievances such old lifts,stuffy staff,small showers,old over-worn bath robes,noisy air con,no car parking facilities (had to park 3miles away) no room service,noisy, run down looking but in my opinion these details make a hotel a 5 star.one major grievance I had was the breakfast....perfectly fine standard unless you wanted fried eggs or an omlette- you had to pay extra!!!the one plus is the location but I would not stay here just because of that

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcginll2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just got back from spending 10 nights at the Des Etrangers - the first thing to say is that the staff are very helpful. Because we were there for a while, we wanted to change our room to one with a sea view - we managed to do this after two nights. When the air conditioning did not work in our new room, the lovely head receptionist (I did not get her name but her English is excellent and she was very helpful all round) organised for a fan which was brought up right away. She even booked a restaurant for us on our last night, and sorted out travel information for us. The hotel is decorated very stylishly with mosaic floors, antiques everywhere, and the staircase is simply beautiful.

The breakfast is Continental style - I would not bother with the hot food, it was swimming in oil! But a good point is that you can get breakfast up to 10.30 if you are not early risers. The rooftop bar and restaurant is lovely (although I wish the pool had also been on the roof!) and I had a lovely massage in the spa. The gym is pretty basic, but if you know what you are doing you can get a decent workout.

The location is also good - you are right in the old town of Ortigia, so there are lots of romantic restaurants in narrow streets to choose from, and if you are not driving you can walk into Syracuse fairly quickly. You are also well placed for exploring the north east and south of the island - we were able to do day trips to Mount Etna, Taormina, Ragusa, and Catania.

One thing to beware of - as you step out of the hotel you are on a main thoroughfare, and in true Italian style the drivers do not slow down, you need to look out for them! Also, the hotel is set in front of a busy piazza that is THE place to be on a Saturday night, but honestly the noise did not keep us awake, everyone closes at midnight, and in fact the music was so good we opened the windows so that we could hear it better before going out for the night!

All in all we had a great stay, and for a five star hotel this was excellent value at an average of £94 a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room - if you can spend more, get one at the front. Rooms facing the back on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.2 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Mariae Benessere
Domus Mariae Benessere
#25 of 75 in Syracuse
400 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Address: Passaggio Adorno 10/12, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#20 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $138 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent neoclassical facade of the Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa dominates the harbour of Siracusa in Sicily, from its position on the island of Ortigia. This five-star historical hotel has the elegance and style typical of the grand European hotels and features refined balconies overlooking the sea. Step in style into the grand entrance hall and admire the precious marble floors, the stucco works and gold decor of the walls and high ceilings. This luxury hotel offers world class services in a unique environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Etrangers Hotel Syracuse
Des Etrangers Hotel And Spa
Des Etrangers Et Miramare Hotel
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing