We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Antico Hotel Roma 1880(Syracuse)
$230
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$277
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domus Mariae(Syracuse)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,402 results
Traveler rating
415
482
280
125
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
482
280
125
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantsea viewfifth floorindoor poolsicilian specialitiesan upgradehotel has a great locationturn down servicebreakfast roomluxury hotelroom was largeper dayold buildingortigia islandhire carnarrow streetsbreakfast is served
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 1,402 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's a five star hotel and you have to pay for everything. They don't offer free wi fi, and they provide a very poor machine near the lobby. Relationship cost quality of service very bad. Very well located though and excellent rooms but not worth the cost.

Room Tip: I had a good room with a partial view of the sea. Not bad.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pupi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had not heard great things about this property but we had a beautiful room with a view of the water. The front desk staff was very friendly but none of the bellmen spoke a word of English. I loved Syracusa and this hotel was in the perfect location. I highly recommend it. Breakfast on the roof top restaurant was spectacular.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollebcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our superior room at this hotel, the bedroom and art deco bathroom looked liked they had recently been painted.
Infact the king size bed was very comfortable and we had an amazing nights
sleep.
We were allowed to park the car outside the hotel for 30 mins to unload our luggage and then we
were lucky and found a road side parking space just a little further around Ortigia.
The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts we had whilst in Sicily in the rooftop
restaurant. Try and arrive at the restaurant for breakfast early so that you can get a table overlooking the sea
The location of the hotel is perfect and in my view on the better side of the island.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with walking ask for a room closer to reception, our room was some distance from the reception and restaurant but it was not a problem for us.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked into this hotel for one night on our way to Malta. Family of six booked into two separate rooms. When booking we were told there would be a free bus service to the hotel but after an hour of waiting discovered that the drivers were on strike. Ended up walking all the way from Syracuse station to the hotel which is not a mean feat after a night on a sleeper train, all our luggage and three young children in tow. On arrival we were told our rooms weren't yet ready so we were able to leave our luggage and go out for lunch. The surrounding restaurants provide a good level of choice and you can find some cheaper deals. However the only issue we had was that on Ortigia there is nothing open if you want a later lunch/early dinner. When we returned to the hotel only one of our rooms was ready so we decided to go downstairs to the pool which was such a disappointment. An indoor pool in such a hot place was not really what we wanted and having to buy swimming hats which were compulsory was not a good surprise. The pool was small and nothing for the children, seemed to be far too many rules. The rooms were big and airy, much nicer than usual European hotels. However the bathroom was mouldy and after we had a bath the water didn't drain out. The shower curtain was not good enough not to soak the rest of the bathroom. Also after we had used the bath there was a terrible smell coming from the bathroom. Breakfast was lovely up on the roof terrace, however not enough outside tables. We were confused as to the breakfast order form which appeared in our room in the evening as it stated only basic items were free but no one actually made a note of what we had to eat. Overall a lovely hotel but some areas do need attention. Not enough in the area to warrant more than a few nights stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at this hotel. As such, there was a bottle of prosecco chilling in the room for our arrival- a nice touch. It was well located for pedestrians. However we came by car and so had to trek across Ortigia to park the car in Talete carpark, which cost 18 EUR. You also need to have change, as the machine only takes coins.
The air conditioning was quite noisy, the bathroom had no window and the toilet had a chain to flush but it had no handle and cut my husband's hand. We reported it, but nothing was done.
Breakfast is a lovely experience, as it's served on the roof terrace, food is good, as is service. The spa was lovely, they were doing some deals so we got massages and went to the rather large whirlpool and used the 'emotional showers' which imitate standing in the drizzle with water and essential oils. Don't forget your swimming hat, which is compulsory.
We ate in a couple of lovely restaurants nearby. Lunglanotte on the sea front and Osteria Mariano which is up an entry- the food is wonderful and quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maeve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews