We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Because of the Mold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Because of the Mold”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was going to write a long review..but here is the shortened version.
The hotel is an old palazzo in great area..our room looked over the gulf with stunning sunsets.
Room looked clean upon entering but the "fresco" that I noticed on wall was actually mold..everywhere.
It amazes me that the hotel staff..and maids do not notice this..especially that I now see that others have given similar reviews about mold.
They did move us..and the new room was free of mold.
The other complaint (also reviewed by others) is that at 9 pm there will be a loud music bass which travels through whole building..and will continue until after 1 am. Even when we moved from the mold room..they told us it would be a quieter room. It was..but the beat was still there. It amazes me that A) The maids don't report mold..and we are talking a lot of mold..B) the managers didn't even apologize about the mold and seemed to know about it and just see if we would ask to move. C) Why would travellers want to listen to a loud club beat??? Unreal So the hotel gets a 2..but has the potential of a 3.5 maybe 4

Room Tip: Ask for a mold free room away from the bar music and good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    436
    252
    112
    82
See reviews for
176
737
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Take a drink at the top floor bar and you can enjoy a view of the city and harbour which is breathtaking. The same glorious views from the terrace of the restaurant; though the food may not quite match it, the enthusiasm and charm of the staff does. History flows around you - classic holiday spot. A businessman would probably be less inspired, since time may move a little slowly on the service here. But perhaps we were end of season and the kitchen winding down?

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has a wonderful location and friendly staff. Not all rooms are as nice as you would think when you look at the site of the hotel though. I travelled alone, booked a double room for single use, but the room they gave mewas certainly not fit for 2 persons. I asked for a quiet room and staff said all rooms were quiet, but most nights It was impossible to sleep before 3 am, because -even with earplugs in!- of the extreme noise of the piazza next to the hotel (at the backside). It was like trying to sleep in the middle of a houseparty or discoteque,
In the weekends there is a very nice lunch buffet and breakfast is good..

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from the piazza with the bars at the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We were walking to the spring along the harbour when we saw the sign for the rooftop restaurant. We went up to the top floor and had Bellinis as the sun set lighting up those fantastic stones. Beautiful. The restaurant looked tired and a bit sad and empty but we were enjoying ourselves so much, we asked for a table on the other terrace at the North end of the top floor and had a dinner that was surprisingly tasty. Expecting the worst, we had a very good sea urchin risotto, a tasty seared tuna and a red prawn starter of note. A very pleasant surprise with an absolutely corking view. Tip. Don't get a table inside!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HenryTrafalgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012 and had a room in the separate hotel building, on the second floor. The hotel is really nicely located, right next to the fresh water source in the old city. One of the downsides of being in the city centre, is that there is a very hip bar located in the hotels' centre court. This bar turns into a dance bar at midnight, so therefore from till 2 AM, you will lie wide awake because of the loud bass line, which you can not only hear, but also feel.
If you plan to stay here, make sure you get a room in the central hotel (above the reception with sea view), we heard from a couple we met who had their room there that they can't really hear the music there.

Like a lot of 5 star city hotels, I am afraid this hotel gained its stars mostly by facilities and location. The quality of the rooms were not 5 stars worthy. Our room was clean, but nothing special. Okay for a 4 star rating. In a 5 star hotel I expect the rooms to have an extra touch.
The hotel provided all bathroom utilities (tooth brush, shower foam, body lotion etc) and bathrobes and slippers. The bed was nice and big, but quite hard and came with lumpy pillows.

The rooftop restaurant with harbour view was great at breakfast. You could see the whole harbour from up there. Breakfast was nice, with fresh coffee and tea (served at the table), fresh fruit, juices, water and prosecco. Nice sweet cakes and breads, cereal, yoghurt and cheeses.

Note that you can not park your car nearby the hotel. You have to park in the Talete (payed parking) on the other side of the island. With suitcases this is a 20 minute walk, without about 15 minutes. The receptionist told us at check in (when we stood there, wheezing with our suitcases) that the hotel had a service: they offer you a free taxi ride from the hotel after check in, to go pick up your suitcases at your care in the Talete parking. This service is only provided at check in, not at check out. Would be nice if they mention this somewhere in your reservation papers, before you dragged your luggage al through Ortygia, but nice service.
Parking in the Talete is not very expensive. We parked every day from 17.00 till 14.30 hours for about 5 euros.

conclusion: Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa is nicely located and a good hotel, but not worth 5 stars. My advise therefore is to only book this hotel with a discount price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingeleding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Des Etrangers Hotel for the second part of our honeymoon in Sicily. Having had a wonderful stay in Taormina, we were excited by the prospect of staying at this hotel. The hotel is in a fantastic location and looks very grand from the outside. The entrance hall is amazing, with intricate tiles and a grand staircase. Unfortunately, this is where the 5-star impression ends. We had booked a 'Superior' room through Expedia, which we assumed meant that it was of a very good standard. When we arrived, the woman at Reception said that we had been upgraded to a 'Deluxe' room. Other than the view, nothing about the room was deluxe. The bathroom was completely unsuitable for us, with a hand held shower only and very little space, however it was more the stale state of the room that let it down. It was extremely tired looking and housed a considerable amount of mould and mildew. We asked to be moved and were downgraded to our superior room with "lateral" sea views. This room seemed in a better state, but still had mould problems. The sheets and towels were clean and the bathroom was far nicer. The lateral view was a tiny gap across the solarium to the sea. We stayed in this room for our first night, and what a first night it was! Having returned back to the hotel from dinner at around midnight, we closed our door but failed to block out the booming base of the bar below which seemed to get louder. At 1.10 am I phoned reception who reassured me that it closed at 1! At 3 am the music finally stopped. Why they would have a club under a whole side of a hotel is confusing and the music was really extremely loud. The air conditioning in the room wasn't at all effective, despite us contacting the reception desk who controlled the temperature, and by the middle of the night, the air in the room was stifling. This all led to very little sleep. The next day we complained to the manager who "upgraded" us to a deluxe suite again. This was a small but very clean room, with a beautiful view of the sea and the sunsets, but with a small bathroom and a horrible stench of drains. By this time we were exhausted of complaining, so just got on with it. On top of this, when we had booked with Expedia our booking had included 20% discount off spa treatments (termed 'spa credit' on our booking form). The hotel denied that 'spa credit' meant a discount and said that it actually meant we could use the spa facilities at the pool (which all guests could automatically do anyway). We didn't use the pool much as it was indoors and you had to buy and wear a swimming hat to use it. Breakfast was on the roof terrace, which had a beautiful view. It was a buffet and was adequate. Although Ortigia (Syracuse) was nice enough for a few hours wondering the streets and there were some lovely restaurants, I would only suggest a night or two staying in the area as Taormina was far superior as a base camp.

Room Tip: Check what the rooms actually mean as the room names are confusing. 'Superior' doesn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njobvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Syracuse hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The positives - fantastic location in the centre of Oritigia Island. Historical hotel with fantastic views from rooftop restaurant overlooking Siracusa. Rooms could be deemed to be old fashioned but that is the charm of the hotel. The hotel staff were excellent all requests for room service, cleaning, extra room items required were attended to promptly & efficiently. Check in good & receptionist ( male) checked in our return flights online. Five star service. Health spa good steam room could have been hotter! Continental buffet breakfast good, service excellent.rooms in keeping with this type of hotel it's not a Holiday Inn

The Negatives - bathrooms could do with an upgrade but a minor point , the worst problem is the noise from the central area outside front of hotel. This is not hotels fault the police should patrol later at night to keep noise levels from younger visitors down. Alternatively go with the flow & stay out later!! You probably need a car to explore the immediate area more fully if you are not a driver of a nervous disposition.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterTrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.2 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.7 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#18 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Property: Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Address: Passaggio Adorno 10/12, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#18 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent neoclassical facade of the Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa dominates the harbour of Siracusa in Sicily, from its position on the island of Ortigia. This five-star historical hotel has the elegance and style typical of the grand European hotels and features refined balconies overlooking the sea. Step in style into the grand entrance hall and admire the precious marble floors, the stucco works and gold decor of the walls and high ceilings. This luxury hotel offers world class services in a unique environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Etrangers Hotel Syracuse
Des Etrangers Hotel And Spa
Des Etrangers Et Miramare Hotel
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing