We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop Restaurant Views Unveatable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We were walking to the spring along the harbour when we saw the sign for the rooftop restaurant. We went up to the top floor and had Bellinis as the sun set lighting up those fantastic stones. Beautiful. The restaurant looked tired and a bit sad and empty but we were enjoying ourselves so much, we asked for a table on the other terrace at the North end of the top floor and had a dinner that was surprisingly tasty. Expecting the worst, we had a very good sea urchin risotto, a tasty seared tuna and a red prawn starter of note. A very pleasant surprise with an absolutely corking view. Tip. Don't get a table inside!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank HenryTrafalgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012 and had a room in the separate hotel building, on the second floor. The hotel is really nicely located, right next to the fresh water source in the old city. One of the downsides of being in the city centre, is that there is a very hip bar located in the hotels' centre court. This bar turns into a dance bar at midnight, so therefore from till 2 AM, you will lie wide awake because of the loud bass line, which you can not only hear, but also feel.
If you plan to stay here, make sure you get a room in the central hotel (above the reception with sea view), we heard from a couple we met who had their room there that they can't really hear the music there.

Like a lot of 5 star city hotels, I am afraid this hotel gained its stars mostly by facilities and location. The quality of the rooms were not 5 stars worthy. Our room was clean, but nothing special. Okay for a 4 star rating. In a 5 star hotel I expect the rooms to have an extra touch.
The hotel provided all bathroom utilities (tooth brush, shower foam, body lotion etc) and bathrobes and slippers. The bed was nice and big, but quite hard and came with lumpy pillows.

The rooftop restaurant with harbour view was great at breakfast. You could see the whole harbour from up there. Breakfast was nice, with fresh coffee and tea (served at the table), fresh fruit, juices, water and prosecco. Nice sweet cakes and breads, cereal, yoghurt and cheeses.

Note that you can not park your car nearby the hotel. You have to park in the Talete (payed parking) on the other side of the island. With suitcases this is a 20 minute walk, without about 15 minutes. The receptionist told us at check in (when we stood there, wheezing with our suitcases) that the hotel had a service: they offer you a free taxi ride from the hotel after check in, to go pick up your suitcases at your care in the Talete parking. This service is only provided at check in, not at check out. Would be nice if they mention this somewhere in your reservation papers, before you dragged your luggage al through Ortygia, but nice service.
Parking in the Talete is not very expensive. We parked every day from 17.00 till 14.30 hours for about 5 euros.

conclusion: Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa is nicely located and a good hotel, but not worth 5 stars. My advise therefore is to only book this hotel with a discount price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingeleding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Des Etrangers Hotel for the second part of our honeymoon in Sicily. Having had a wonderful stay in Taormina, we were excited by the prospect of staying at this hotel. The hotel is in a fantastic location and looks very grand from the outside. The entrance hall is amazing, with intricate tiles and a grand staircase. Unfortunately, this is where the 5-star impression ends. We had booked a 'Superior' room through Expedia, which we assumed meant that it was of a very good standard. When we arrived, the woman at Reception said that we had been upgraded to a 'Deluxe' room. Other than the view, nothing about the room was deluxe. The bathroom was completely unsuitable for us, with a hand held shower only and very little space, however it was more the stale state of the room that let it down. It was extremely tired looking and housed a considerable amount of mould and mildew. We asked to be moved and were downgraded to our superior room with "lateral" sea views. This room seemed in a better state, but still had mould problems. The sheets and towels were clean and the bathroom was far nicer. The lateral view was a tiny gap across the solarium to the sea. We stayed in this room for our first night, and what a first night it was! Having returned back to the hotel from dinner at around midnight, we closed our door but failed to block out the booming base of the bar below which seemed to get louder. At 1.10 am I phoned reception who reassured me that it closed at 1! At 3 am the music finally stopped. Why they would have a club under a whole side of a hotel is confusing and the music was really extremely loud. The air conditioning in the room wasn't at all effective, despite us contacting the reception desk who controlled the temperature, and by the middle of the night, the air in the room was stifling. This all led to very little sleep. The next day we complained to the manager who "upgraded" us to a deluxe suite again. This was a small but very clean room, with a beautiful view of the sea and the sunsets, but with a small bathroom and a horrible stench of drains. By this time we were exhausted of complaining, so just got on with it. On top of this, when we had booked with Expedia our booking had included 20% discount off spa treatments (termed 'spa credit' on our booking form). The hotel denied that 'spa credit' meant a discount and said that it actually meant we could use the spa facilities at the pool (which all guests could automatically do anyway). We didn't use the pool much as it was indoors and you had to buy and wear a swimming hat to use it. Breakfast was on the roof terrace, which had a beautiful view. It was a buffet and was adequate. Although Ortigia (Syracuse) was nice enough for a few hours wondering the streets and there were some lovely restaurants, I would only suggest a night or two staying in the area as Taormina was far superior as a base camp.

Room Tip: Check what the rooms actually mean as the room names are confusing. 'Superior' doesn't m...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njobvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The positives - fantastic location in the centre of Oritigia Island. Historical hotel with fantastic views from rooftop restaurant overlooking Siracusa. Rooms could be deemed to be old fashioned but that is the charm of the hotel. The hotel staff were excellent all requests for room service, cleaning, extra room items required were attended to promptly & efficiently. Check in good & receptionist ( male) checked in our return flights online. Five star service. Health spa good steam room could have been hotter! Continental buffet breakfast good, service excellent.rooms in keeping with this type of hotel it's not a Holiday Inn

The Negatives - bathrooms could do with an upgrade but a minor point , the worst problem is the noise from the central area outside front of hotel. This is not hotels fault the police should patrol later at night to keep noise levels from younger visitors down. Alternatively go with the flow & stay out later!! You probably need a car to explore the immediate area more fully if you are not a driver of a nervous disposition.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank WalterTrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in July. The hotel looks quite magnificent from the outside, and is located upon the stunning shoreline of ortygia island.
The room was very basic, and quite disappointing. The view consisted of a neighbouring building's roof and a private residence's balcony. The room was however cool and clean.

The breakfast was fantastic, with a large selection to choose from, and fantastic views from the rooftop terrace.

The hotel is superbly located in ortygia island. There is a small beachfront nearby, with many nice restaurants and ice-cream outlets nearby.

Siracusa is a beautiful city, and would recommend visiting if in Sicily.

Room Tip: Avoid room 319
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrfcno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Myself and my fiance are just back from a 3 night stay in this hotel. I had been a little hesitant about it after reading some negative reviews here however I can safely say it was the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Our first impression didn't start great as we had to wait about 5 minutes to check in while the receptionist finished a phone call and there seemed to be no other staff at reception. However things improved from here on and the room we had was spacious, spotlessly clean, cool and very inviting. We also had a beautiful sea view from our window. The bathroom was again spotless with no signs of mould etc. as mentioned in some previous reviews. The only fault i could find would be that there was no price list in our room for the minibar so we were hesitant to use it.
The roof terrace where breakfast was served every morning had amazing panoramic views over the sea and the selection of food was very good each morning with plenty of variety.
We had drinks on the roof terrace one evening which was lovely but quite expensive.
The pool and spa facilities were first rate and we had the pool to ourselves on the two occasions we were there.
The location is perfect for exploring Ortigia and there are beautiful views of the sunset as soon as you step outside the door.
Overall i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Siracusa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. My girlfriend and I were both excited to come here since the location of the hotel was really good.

However, we were very disappointed starting from the check in. We were not welcomed in a proper way and we were not offered a bell boy for our luggage to be taken to our room. Something that really shocked us was the expression on the face of the receptionist when she saw our passports ( Albanian nationality). We both felt very discriminated at the hotel for our entire stay.

Moreover, our room did not have sea view as we kindly requested at the time of the reservation and this really upset me. This is the first room in my entire life in a hotel that did not have a carpet in the room. I would suggest to avoid room 402 for your stay. The cleaning service of the room was ridiculous. They just changed the bed sheets and that is all. The floor ( without a carpet) was dirty and my girlfriend had to clean it herself. Totally unacceptable for a 5 star hotel. I would suggest to pick another hotel in the area.

The breakfast is nothing special and is definitely not for a 5 star hotel. They do not have fresh orange juice and the bread does not have a good taste at all. All in all, a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arbk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 74 in Syracuse
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#21 of 74 in Syracuse
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 74 in Syracuse
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.1 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#14 of 74 in Syracuse
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Address: Passaggio Adorno 10/12, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#20 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $112 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent neoclassical facade of the Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa dominates the harbour of Siracusa in Sicily, from its position on the island of Ortigia. This five-star historical hotel has the elegance and style typical of the grand European hotels and features refined balconies overlooking the sea. Step in style into the grand entrance hall and admire the precious marble floors, the stucco works and gold decor of the walls and high ceilings. This luxury hotel offers world class services in a unique environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Etrangers Hotel Syracuse
Des Etrangers Hotel And Spa
Des Etrangers Et Miramare Hotel
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing