We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and convenient home away from home!”
Review of Hotel Posta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Posta
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy and convenient home away from home!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel Posta, and have to say that we loved it! This hotel is a great value. The beds are comfortable, the place was spotless, the rooms were small, but quiet. If you are oversized, the bathrooms might be too small for comfort. The included breakfast was delicious - breads, cakes, cheese, hardboiled eggs, cold cuts, etc. You can dine outside on a small, but pretty walled terrace. The location is around the corner from a lively market where you can find plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. From the hotel, it's an easy walk to the marina, the other sites of Ortigia. You can also walk around the corner to the post office and mail off all those postcards you bought. (Take a number as soon as you enter, then wait your turn. Only send cards to your closest friends in the States because it ran us close to 2 Euros/card.). It's also an easy walk to the bus "station" (no actual building - just a small grey kiosk where tickets are sold) and lots of buses are lined up. Cheap tickets - about 4.5 Euros per person R/T to Noto. This hotel is a winner. The lobby is more like a small living room with comfortable chairs, free wifi, (we couldn't get the wifi to work in our room), a computer which can be used for .50 Euros for 15 or maybe 30 minutes, and a television. Female staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. Male who was on duty at times didn't want to be interrupted. We also stayed at a much more expensive hotel on Ortigia during our stay, which had a larger room and bath and a pretty view, but smelled like a sewer. So, we were somewhat afraid of what to expect when we moved to Hotel Posta. But what a wonderfully pleasant surprise! This hotel is a home away from home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    187
    81
    13
    7
See reviews for
48
177
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed two nights in a quad room in the attic. The room was large, but there was only one small window making the room dark and unattractive. The room was two flights up with no elevator available. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning very efficient. The bathroom was of moderate size. The room was clean but an odor was discernable - very difficult to keep humidity down with no air flow and great need of air conditioning. The location was excellent and plenty of paid parking was available nearby. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagab0nd_Family_0f_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin . TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night while touring Syracuse and Ortigia. Ortigia is relatively small, so it was easy to walk around the entire island in a day. The woman at the front desk provided me with a map from which I was easily able to find all of my destinations. She also provided me with a tip for where the locals go to eat. The name of the place was Don Carmellos (sp). With the help of her directions, I was easily able to find this restaurant which was located on a side street off of one of the main walking streets in town. Rome was clean, had more than adequate air conditioning and a typical European sized bathroom with a stall shower. It is located near the main public parking garage on the island, but wit the help of the woman at the front desk, I was able to secure a spot on the street for free, directly across from the hotel. After a solid night sleep, I headed off to syracuse and explored the catacombs and the museum. Both were well worth seeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terraco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 11th to 18th June, 2012. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor with a small balcony - it was spotlessly clean and comfortable - the bed especially so. The bathroom was small but adequate and everything worked efficiently. We did experience street noise at night from a nearby bar but closing the window and putting the air conditioning on LOW helped to overcome this. Breakfast was a delight - plenty to choose from and nice and fresh. We were able to eat in a delightful small courtyard outside. The hotel is situated on the beautiful island of Ortigia - everything within walking distance. Lots of excellent restaurants, small narrow streets full of character, fabulous buildings, beautiful squares and sea all around. I would definately stay at this hotel again and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room on the 1st floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whoami138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
696 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here three nights and stayed in 2 different rooms, a regular room and an attic room. They were both very nice and well worth the 70 euros we paid, which included a nice breakfast. Well located on the island of Ortigia. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

‘Very convenient location, great price’ – We only used the hotel one night on our Sicilian touring holiday. We found the hotel pleasant and very convenient for enjoying the delights of Ortigia on foot. The room rate was the best of the six places we stayed in throughout our travels. The décor was a bit dated, but the bed was comfortable. No real view to speak of, from our ground floor room. The breakfast was very good indeed. It was very easy to park for free, along the road outside the hotel; a real plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Right near all the fascinating sights on Ortygia island at the top end of the island as you come across the many short bridges from the mainland, clean, comfortable, quiet & helpful. Good variety of breakfast with the usual cakes, croissants, rolls but also cold meats & cheese & hard-boiled eggs & yogurts to set you up for the day. Parking nearby in paid car park Talete just across the main road along the East of the island, it gets better value the longer you stay especially overnight as finding a white (free) or blue (paid) space can be difficult.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucks_Travelbug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#30 of 75 in Syracuse
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#15 of 75 in Syracuse
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domus Mariae
Domus Mariae
#16 of 75 in Syracuse
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#18 of 75 in Syracuse
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Hotel Alla Giudecca
0.2 mi away
Gran Bretagna Hotel
Gran Bretagna Hotel
#62 of 75 in Syracuse
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Property: Hotel Posta
Address: Via Trieste 33, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Posta is situated in the splendid backdrop of the island of Ortygia, the historical centre of the city of Siracusa. The hotel looks over the small port and many of the bedrooms also have a panoramic view over the sea. This is an ideal location from which to visit all the local attractions such as the ancient market, Cathedral and Fonte Aretusa fountain. In addition, the hotel is also near to the bus station, meaning that it is easy to get around the city and make day trips to nearby places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Posta Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing