We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location; Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Posta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Posta
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good location; Good value for money”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

‘Very convenient location, great price’ – We only used the hotel one night on our Sicilian touring holiday. We found the hotel pleasant and very convenient for enjoying the delights of Ortigia on foot. The room rate was the best of the six places we stayed in throughout our travels. The décor was a bit dated, but the bed was comfortable. No real view to speak of, from our ground floor room. The breakfast was very good indeed. It was very easy to park for free, along the road outside the hotel; a real plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    184
    80
    13
    6
See reviews for
46
176
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Right near all the fascinating sights on Ortygia island at the top end of the island as you come across the many short bridges from the mainland, clean, comfortable, quiet & helpful. Good variety of breakfast with the usual cakes, croissants, rolls but also cold meats & cheese & hard-boiled eggs & yogurts to set you up for the day. Parking nearby in paid car park Talete just across the main road along the East of the island, it gets better value the longer you stay especially overnight as finding a white (free) or blue (paid) space can be difficult.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucks_Travelbug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fossano, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I really suggest this hotel. You get all you need without excess.
Hotel is in Ortigia, this is one of the few area in which you find Free parking.
There are white stripes in via trieste and in via trento (Parallel to Via Trieste).
Hotel is one minute walk from apollo temple.
Hotel is clean, staff is very helpful. There is Wi-Fi and a PC available for Internet connection.
Insulation is good, you don't get noise from the outside while sleeping.
You can close 100% the windows and avoid all light coming from outside.
I can only suggest the place. I often felt well in hotels I've been, many times paying more services than necessary, but not in this case.
Breakfast was excellent: cakes, season fruit, ham, cheese, eggs, ...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerio79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Spent one night. The location for the price is hard to beat- near the docks and a short walk to many restaurants. Rooms more than adequate.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hotel Posta is in a central location, and was easy to find. The reception staff were particularly helpful, with assisting us in finding transport to Catania airport (searching bus timetables etc.) after we discovered we were travelling on a holiday which meant a reduced bus service. The staff also recommended resturants during our stay.
The rooms were clean, comfortable, and compact, and the breakfast was good. There is a comfortable sitting room, with a bar. The building itself is nicely restored.
The hotel is close to an excellent street market (mornings) with an amazing array of fish, fruit and vegetables.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Had 2 nights here during a 10 day driving tour of Sicily in Sept 2011. Hotel was easy to get to, as you cross from the "mainland" onto the island of Ortygia it's just a couple of blocks to the hotel. Room was large with air conditioning.
Parked in the nearby car park. Tip - make sure you park in the undercover car park, which was only a couple of euros per day (only 100m from hotel). Do NOT park in the adjacent open air car park, which costs about 1 euro an hour, so will obviously cost you a lot more. I realised I'd parked in the wrong one when told the lady in the hotel I'd just pumped 7 euros into the meter to park overnight and she explained I should have parked in the covered car park.
Syracuse was great, plenty to do there and I loved Ortygia, really pretty architecture. The central piazza is one of the nicest I've seen in any Italian city. Recommend the archaeological museum and the archaeological park.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and managed to find a parking space right outside in a side street. When we asked at reception whether it was OK to park there, the receptionist came outside to see where we had parked and checked it was OK which it was- now that’s an impressive piece of service!
Our room was small but comfortable and the bathroom was fully fitted. Overall our first impression was one of a shabby elegance but it grew on us as having character. The small breakfast room had a small outside terrace and the buffet breakfast was good quality with a very acceptable choice of bread, croissants, cereal, yoghurts, fresh fruit and pastries.
The staff was, without exception, friendly and helpful.
All in all this was an ideal location for a visit to Syracuse and Ortygia, 2 minutes walk from the food market and maybe 15 minutes to main square and Duomo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#30 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Hotel Alla Giudecca
0.6 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#15 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
0.3 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#46 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Property: Hotel Posta
Address: Via Trieste 33, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Posta is situated in the splendid backdrop of the island of Ortygia, the historical centre of the city of Siracusa. The hotel looks over the small port and many of the bedrooms also have a panoramic view over the sea. This is an ideal location from which to visit all the local attractions such as the ancient market, Cathedral and Fonte Aretusa fountain. In addition, the hotel is also near to the bus station, meaning that it is easy to get around the city and make day trips to nearby places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Posta Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing