We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Natural beauty, relaxation and ideal location”
Review of Villa dei Papiri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa dei Papiri
Reggio Calabria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Natural beauty, relaxation and ideal location”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This wasn't the first time we'd stayed at Villa Dei Papiri and we'd definitely go back again. We've stayed in several other places in Siracusa, but this is our favourite. The location is excellent, set in an area of natural beauty where you can just open the door of your room and take a stroll in the extensive gardens or the natural reserve at the end of the driveway. It's also just 4km from the centre of Siracusa. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and our young daughter loved playing in the gardens. It's ideal if you want to relax but don't want to be too far from the main tourist sites. There isn't a restaurant there, but we had lunch in nearby Villa Cristina and the food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    101
    37
    17
    16
See reviews for
82
131
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Very nice place, peacefull. Wonderfull rooms, great breakfast with cakes and fresh almondmilk, fruits and ricotta!! Beautifull garden and friendly staff. Chill out close to Syracuse. Totally recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonakski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Villa dei Papiri is a beautiful, peaceful property. We had great difficulty finding it as the signage in the rural areas is difficult. As a result we found an electronics store and purchased a Garmin equipped with European maps.

We ate dinner in a small hotel just down the road, owned by the same people. It was adorable, the food and service were great.

The pictures on the web site are beautiful but do not capture the musty smell particularly in the large room where breakfast was served. Fortunately the weather was good so we ate outside in the garden.

We were in one of the smaller out buildings and our room was fine. We sat out in the garden among the citrus trees. It was very relaxing. Two nights was more than enough however.

We decided if we were to return we would stay in the old section of Siracusa.

Room Tip: It sounds from reading other reviews that the smaller buildings before you get to the Villa are bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kronberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a great hotel for peace and quiet away from zooming motorcycles and constant automobile traffic. It is out in the country and a bit difficult to find though well worth the trouble. The rooms are most pleasant and tastefully decorated as is the breakfast room / main building.

The staff are most courteous and helpful.

The only drawback is that it is a bit remote and does not have a dining room except for breakfast. The only other dining spot nearby is another similar hotel which is open only certain days of the week. Otherwise, one has to drive into Siracusa for lunch or dinner which is not far, about 6 km., but not a particularly easy drive.

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to be in a beautiful, peaceful environment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magexport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We're so glad we followed the advice of reviewers and stayed here the three nights we spent in Siracusa before heading up to Taormina where we found a similar property away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. It was great to relax in the beautiful garden setting after full days of sightseeing and hosts ALI and ANNALISA added to our enjoyment with their hospitality (and some excellent restaurant recommendations) .... such that we will be certain to send our friends to Villa dei Papiri next year.

Jerry and Mary
Menlo Park, California

Room Tip: the cottage type (modern) rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroCaliGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hospitality was welcoming.. The area was quiet and peaceful, felt like you were a million miles away, yet so close to Siracusa city.. and the autostrada was conveniently placed about 5kms away to reach all the places you needed to drive to.. Beautiful beaches just a short drive away..The room was cosy and comfy.. Breakfast gave you a pleasant start to the day.. Highly recommend this agriturismo whether for a getaway or passing through to see the sights of sicily..

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gabriel i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Proprietario at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
thank you for staying with us and enjoying the place, your satisfaction is ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This agriturismo looked very attractive on their website but was huge disappointment when experienced in real life. The villa itself is nice, especially the main hall were breakfast is served is a place to linger. By the way, breqkfast is good. Vast selection of sicilan breakfast, including their homegrown orange jam and orange juice. And not to forget plenty of cakes.
But there is something wrong. Tomatoes with mould, dirty apartments, bad plumbing (noise every time we used water in apartment). A lack of basic equipment in the kitchen. All in all we felt uncomfortable about this. May I point out that we have been to a dozen recidences and agriturismos in Italy and never experienced such a disappointment.
In all fairness it might be that the rooms (we stayed in a suite in the old house) in the new small houses are of a better standard. But avoid the so called suites in the palazzo. We informed the staff about our issues and despite their politeness and friendliness, they were not able to do anything to sort out our issues. In fact they were surprised that we found a kitchen with greasy walls to be below standard because in their view it was very clean.
I guess we come from a different culture. In the end we left the villa before our prebooked stay was over, so we could spend the rest of the holiday at a better location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papirus, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa dei Papiri, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear Sir
sorry for your disappointment, it is not true that we did nothing to help and solve your problems, we checked your room and when we came to see you could not tell what was actually dirty, I think it was a general feeling rather than a specific reference to something, otherwise you would have pointed out something to be cleaned!
The equipment of the kitchen includes dishes, cookware, cutlery of all sizes, cups, colander, cutting board, cups and saucers ... and it seems quite complete. I don't know what you would have found in, besides you asked for a coffee maker and we gave two, one large and one small, but they were both not good for you.
It's not a problem of different cultures and cleaning is the same in any country, what changes is the attitude of people and their needs.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
3.8 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Frescura agriturismo
La Frescura agriturismo
#14 of 99 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa dei Papiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Papiri

Property: Villa dei Papiri
Address: Traversa Testa Pisima 2/C | Riserva Naturale Fiume Ciane e Saline, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa dei Papiri 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The holiday farm “Villa dei Papiri” is an old Sicilian house dating back to the 19th century. It dominates a 13 hectares area rich in organic farming of lemons and oranges and surrounded by papyrus plants, palms, olive, almond and carob trees, cypress, bonsais as well as other wonderful Mediterranean plants. It is located 5 kms away from Syracuse, inside the Natural Reserve of the River Ciane & Saline, a few meters from the mythological spring source Fonte Ciane whose myth of Persephone is praised in the Metamorphoses of Ovid. It is surrounded by beautiful Egyptian Papyri, exactly the same papyrus used for the preparation of those extraordinary paper rolls on which most of human history has passed, and it continues to grow wild in this place unique in the world. The area also denotes an archaeological as well as naturalistic interest , as there are several Paleolithic remains such as tombs, caves and wells. These valuable findings show the presence of the ancient Sicilian habitation; the Sicilians were the Indo-European ethnic group that inhabited eastern Sicily, while the other ethnic groups of Elymian and Sikelian people inhabited respectively the west and the center of the island as reported by the historian Thucydides . In this vast nature reserve Villa dei Papiri is an historical building of great landscape value. Elegantly refined and equipped with every comfort it offers to its visitors the opportunity to relax and enjoy the beauties of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa dei Papiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dei Papiri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing